We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful and very overpriced .” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twenty Nevern Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Twenty Nevern Square
Ranked #558 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awful and very overpriced .”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We upgraded to a luxury 4 poster bed suite ( 13 square foot , take off 5 foot for the steps down ) and got a shoe box , there was a 1 inch gap under the door so we could see feet walking past .
Bathroom was so tiny you had to squeeze yourself in and no sign of any luxury bathrobes either, cheap grey/white waffle ones.
This is more like a 2 or 3 star at the most , very expensive for what you pay , breakfast was ok though not brilliant .

Room Tip: Don't stay here .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TruthHurtsxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    275
    125
    35
    50
See reviews for
64
374
59
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My friend and I booked a luxury twin room for one night in London. Hotel is in a great location right on the Piccadilly line. The wifi is great. The room however was rather small, just managed to fit our luggage in. The bed were very comfy, tv very small. No air con and it was really hot in the room, the window was jarred open a little and that's all it would open up to and a small fan which we had on all night. The shower was good however the bathroom light is a sensor light and kept turning off when in the shower so you'd have to open the shower door wave your hand to get the light back on....annoying! Hotel staff were lovely and so was the breakfast which was included in the price, also a free option to have it sent up to your room as well. Also available is the luggage storage too if you need to store your bags on check out day. Overall it was fine for one night and the price was good, booked through booking.com and got it for 75 pounds for both of us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yeahholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I found the reviews for this hotel quite confusing and having now stayed there I undertsand why. It would appear that there is quite a diversity of rooms in terms of size, appearance and location. We booked a "Deluxe Double" (Room 15) and were very dissappointed as it was unacceptably small and once having found a space to put your bags you were then forever stepping over them. When we expressed our dissappointment the staff arranged for a bigger room (Room 6 and also "Deluxe Double") which was ok.
We booked through Booking.com and on rechecking it did nominate the room size as 9 sqm but when you book a "Deluxe Double" you don't expect to have read the fine print to realise it should actually be a "Small Single". I believe the hotel should use clearer descriptions of the rooms so as to not mislead potential guests and avoid certain dissappointment.
Otherwise, the hotel although a little tired, is well placed 5 min from Earls Court tube,the bathrooms were clean and functional and the continental breakfast although not extensive was adequate. The hotel is not air conditioned and in Room 15, valuable floor space was occupied by a cooler for which the only value was to use the air intake tube to prop the window open. Air conditioning is always a bit of a trap when you need it but not aware of whether the hotel has it.
Hotel staff were generally friendly and tried to assist but at times communication was a little difficult.
If you get the right room it is probably reasonable value for money but beware of the room size and description.

Room Tip: Double check the floor area and avoid Rooms 15 and 17 in particular. Be aware that some rooms are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was our second stay at Twenty Nevern in the last 3 years. We stayed in both the Pasha Suite and the Ottoman suite (on a subsequent return to London for 1 night). The staff is friendly, however sometimes the front desk appears unstaffed, but it usually means someone is helping a guest and is temporarily unavailable. The rooms are kept tidy and neat, and it seems the hotel is kept up and maintained to a high standard. The rooms can be pricey, but it is a very convenient and quiet location in the Earl's Court neighbourhood, with the the nearest Tube stop (Earl's Court) only a 5-10 minute walk away.
The breakfast is adequate, (nothing too special) but the morning staff in the breakafst room are friendly and pleasant and will accomodate your needs. We often took our breakfast back to our hotel room to eat on the small terrace that was off of our room overlooking the gated key garden across the street, and the staff prepared a nice tray for us to take back to our rooms with all the things we needed....
The Pasha suite is nice, however a more comfortable seating area would have been nice...and the Ottoman Suite is large, spacious, and luxurious (tub in the center of the room!) however the shower in the bathroom needs some work (very low water pressure and a drain that drains much too slowly).
The location and the convenience of this hotel are the best qualities, as well as the general high standard the hotel maintains...they could use some more attention to detail however, and fix the little things that are often annoying to travellers (clogged drains, ripped towels, etc...)
Overall, I would stay here again on my next trip to London, as it can be a challenge to find a decent, non-chain hotel in London that is conveniently located in a nice neighbourhood and which doesn't charge exorbitant prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed in London on my own quite a bit recently for work reasons and, although it's not my money, I simply refuse to pay £200+ a night, often for room only. Hotels at this position in the market can be a bit hit and miss but this is a good one. I had a very small double (continental breakfast included) which was really a single with a double bed unless you are a relatively slim couple and not staying for long. To be fair, this was pointed out in the confirmation info so no attempt to mislead and there are clearly larger rooms available. User friendly website, comfortable bed, decent bathroom, nice towels and linen, reasonably quiet area, breakfast was fine and I could have had a cooked, English breakfast for a very reasonable additional charge. I was on the top floor under the roof which I imagine could get pretty warm. There was a mobile a/c but it would probably be difficult to sleep with it on. Good choice particularly for the tourists out there looking for a good location and reasonable value. Much better for example than some of those places in the Paddington area, a number of which make be feel vaguely embarrassed to be English. I think this hotel is part of a small group and I've heard good reports generally.

Room Tip: The small doubles are small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbutkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed in the Ottoman room - upgraded. Absolutely fantastic room with massive comfy bed and fantastic claw foot roll top slipper bath and open fire. Such luxury is hard to find. We have stayed in many expensive hotels and this is certainly one of the best we have stayed in. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty and the staff were helpful and cheerful. Very convenient location, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ottoman is a splendid room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester united kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at 20 Nevern Square on Saturday 22nd September, I did ring up day before to request an early check in but was told I would have to pay extra for this so I said no don't worry but she said she would do her best, needless to say when we arrived our room wasn't ready, we were booked into the mezzanine room, the receptionist told us the guests had paid extra for late check out, so we left our luggage, we paid £30 for car park space that was a joke we had to drive with a chap from the hotel to a very small gated driveway which he had to unlock and it very tightly housed four cars two at back two at front, then had to walk back to hotel took about eight minutes,we went off and came back to check in about 6pm, we were told we were upgraded to the ottoman suite, we certainlly never had any complaints about room, enormous, and beautiful furnishings, very luxurious, but let down by very poor shower no pressure whatsoever kept going hot and cold and spluttering, very comfortable bed that was enormous, now come to breakfast that was a very poor show continental but only three types of meat which were awful no ham what English cheese they had they ran out of and also ran out of rolls they never topped anything up at all, the location of the hotel was excellent, would we stay there again definitely not.

Room Tip: Ottaman suite if they change shower system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#408 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#660 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#532 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Rockwell
The Rockwell
#285 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#535 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twenty Nevern Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twenty Nevern Square

Property: Twenty Nevern Square
Address: 20 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#338 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Twenty Nevern Square 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty Nevern Square is the second hotel in the Mayflower Collection, a family-run trio of hotels nestled in some of London's most desirable areas. Each hotel in the Collection has been uniquely designed in an East-meets-West style, complete with sumptuous furnishings, opulent colour schemes, and original carved antique furniture. Twenty Nevern Square overlooks the beautiful Nevern Square Garden and features 20 stunningly individual rooms, each equipped with all the modern essentials. The hotel has a fully-licensed bar and a secluded courtyard garden with tables and chairs. Alongside our gorgeous rooms, we have a number of special suites with high ceilings, expansive windows, beautiful views, marbled bathrooms, Egyptian cotton sheets, and state-of-the-art technology, including a large flat-screen HD LED TV. The hotel is just 2-minutes' walk from Earls Court Exhibition Centre, 2-minutes' walk from Earls Court tube station, and a mere 25-minute journey from Heathrow Airport! As we are situated in the fashionable Kensington & Chelsea borough, we are within walking distance of the King's Road in Chelsea, High Street Kensington, and Hyde Park and close to the Science Museum, the Victoria & Albert, and the Natural History Museum. Knightsbridge, with the illustrious Harrods department store, and Harvey Nichols London store, is also only a short distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Twenty Nevern Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
20 Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing