We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #630 of 1,067 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Bar”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I have been visiting the bar for a few years with my mate probably 4/5 times a year. It's recently changed again (for the better) always good service and atmosphere, I like the fact it has not got loud music and you can chat. Not eaten there, the food looks a bit overpriced for what it is, welcome to London.

Overall this is a good bar and worth a visit,it's still one of my favs in London.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    2,227
    1,885
    657
    393
See reviews for
951
2,084
368
898
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,094)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Well, I'll start with the good. This hotel has a fantastic location. My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days sight seeing. The hotel is ideally located for this. It is a minutes walk from Tottenham Court Road tube station. Many of London tourist sights are within walking distance as is the British Museum. However the hotel it's self isn't the best, it's rated as 4* but it's more like a 3*. We booked a double room which was very small. The bed was tiny and more like a three quarters. The shower was either burning hot or freezing cold and the bedroom had a certain odour to it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel from Friday 14th Feb-Monday 17th and had a great time. The hotel is just around the corner from Tottenham Court Tube Station and Oxford Street. There is a supermarket within a few metres which we could buy a bottle of water and a sandwich for our room on one of the nights.
The hotel bar is very nice and the staff throughout the hotel were very helpful. We will definitely be back.
The food from the restaurant was also good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We went to stay at the St Giles again last week and were initially given a room that seemed a lot smaller than we had stayed in before so rang reception to complain. They were fine about it and hey presto - without charge - we were changed to a considerably larger room at the same rate. We found that the lifts (elevators) were even more of a problem than before because one of them was out of order (there are just not enough lifts for the size of the hotel anyway in my opinion). This causes long and frustrating waits and using lifts that are invariably crowded especially in the mornings. Blue external lighting also kept us awake at nights until they were switched off after midnight. Otherwise - a great location and good service. Very clean. Good bathroom.

Room Tip: If you ask for lower floors you can walk down the stairs avoiding the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarniaCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Our room was very small and the bathroom was even smaller and dark. Also having two taps on the sink was very peculiar. And there was only one set of towels even that we were two in the room. Bedding was very old and with bad feeling.
Everything in our room was aged and torn. Even the window was very small and kept us for enjoying the great view ( we were on 11th floor ).
The only great thing about this hotel is its location

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rstoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is the 3rd time I have stayed in this hotel. First time: room smaller than a prison cell and broken hairdryer. Second time: heating not working, room freezing. Current stay (room 467): bad odour in room, very hot, no ventilation, mould in corner above window and on wall & skirting below window, and to top it all off I've come out in an allergic rash from whatever they use to wash the bed linen. But at least Boots is just across the road so I can go and get some Piriton.

Staff pleasant and helpful, but huge queues for breakfast which resembles a school canteen.

Location excellent.

But this hotel has had 3 chances now and I'm afraid I won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awfulitchyarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night weather was beautiful hotel welcoming easy to find very central for everything even food very good price drinks ok
Bar was lovely but at 9am it was like the blitz and we had to move a little polite request but the ambiance was changed when a big black curtain was drawn so decided not to stay much linger. After this as was lovely looking out
Pool and gym looked awesome but dot not have time to use , rooms small bit enough for a night tea coffee facility and a good shower main moan would be the noise from outside windows really not powerful enough to support the busy streets shame as lovely hotel but would hold us back from rebooking

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank familytraveller481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#511 of 1,067 in London
3,417 reviews
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#402 of 1,067 in London
955 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#54 of 1,067 in London
3,176 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#346 of 1,067 in London
1,626 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel

Property: St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing