We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent central location representing good value for the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #625 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Leyland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent central location representing good value for the money.”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Situated just off Oxford Street/Tottenham Court Road, with the tube station just around the corner.Check in is quick unless you are unfortunate enough to arrive at the same time as one of the large groups of guests that the hotel seems to cater for.
Opted for an executive room which cost a little more than a standard room, but it was worth it. You get a bigger room, with arm chairs & a table, plus large windows across one wall giving you lots of light & panoramic views across the roof tops of London. The room was clean & quiet, the bed was very comfortable & the bathroom was modern, well designed & clean.
There are 3 different places to eat & drink within the hotel, all of which provided good, varied menus with quick service with a smile.
We would definitely use this hotel again when visiting London, as we have paid far more in the past to stay in supposedly superior hotels that were no better than this one.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an executive room, it is well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    2,301
    1,953
    675
    409
See reviews for
994
2,163
382
915
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have always had doubts about this hotel but thought I would try it.First & last time.
Single room very small bathroom very small.The breakfast room was 1 step up from a transport cafe Television reception very bad some channels could not see kept breaking up.
There was a kettle and 2 tea bags and 2 little cartons of milk.
The only good thing about it was its central position.
Would not stay again.

Room Tip: Dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geraldinefrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, and for a one night stay its fine. It is very dated and in badly in need of renovation/updating............
The location is everything - it's only a minutes walk from Leicester Square.The staff on the reception desk were friendly and efficient.
Our room was on the first floor but facing a side street so we were not disturbed by street noise, however the room itself was very small with barely enough room to walk around the bed!!!. The bath room although small was clean and well laid out.
I would stay here again, but only for one night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard_powell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Good base to explore London, very centeral and handy to all transport links for all the main spots of the city. Simple but you only need a bed, not much point going to London and staying in your room. Excellent service. Will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The outside of the hotel is very deceiving. On the inside the interior is VERY dated and dirty in some parts - the mirrors were filthy! The lifts are like something you'd get in an old car park or at the tube station. We walked into the room and our window was banging open accompanied by a weird smell. The bed was rock solid and again, things were very old fashioned (think 1990's cruise ship). The pool was also disappointing and grubby, thought we'd be able to just chill in the water - instead it's either lengths or nothing. The water was also cold and not heated as stated. The only positive about this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Good location for Oxford Street and Tottenham Court Road tube - and easy walking distance of Severn Dials , Covent Garden and Theatreland. It often seems to have excellent deals available , but this is London and you get what you pay for...

My room really was small and rather dreary - although the single , small window was artfully angled to give a view of Big Ben and the London Eye. Clean enough but the room was over fragranced which I suspect was to disguise the smell of damp. The bathroom had been refurbished and was fine if , again , very small - as were the towels.

The bed was comfortable but despite being on the seventh floor I slept poorly with noise both from traffic / the street and what sounded like someone tap dancing on an uncarpeted floor in the room above at 5:30am

The room got pretty warm even in December and in the absence of air conditioning I suspect the fan in the wardrobe would be much needed in summer.

Having said that , if the location is right for you and price is more important than facilities in the hotel , this is worth a try

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flynn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel in a very central area.Rooms very clean and staff very friendly.Will stay here again for sure.Thankyou to everyone who made our stay enjoyable and the help given with my friend in a wheelchair.I look forward to returning next year.Thankyou all.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmillar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#423 of 1,069 in London
980 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#359 of 1,069 in London
1,664 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#510 of 1,069 in London
3,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel

Property: St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing