We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not an inch wasted in the design of this place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #608 of 1,077 Hotels in London
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not an inch wasted in the design of this place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

First all the pluses. Ideal for tourists/sightseeing. China Town, Soho, British Museum virtually on doorstep. Clean and bed comfortable.

But.... It reminded me of a factory with the efficient checking ln; the design that ensures that not an inch is wasted; you can just about move around in the room but keep your eyes open; it's a place for processing guests; a place to rest your head but not relax.

I had to leave early in the morning and the water in the shower remained cold which was not a good start to the day. I think overall that it cost more than it was worth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    2,001
    1,686
    588
    341
See reviews for
857
1,834
327
807
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,018)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for one night on a business trip. My first room was on the twelfth floor, the corridor was shabby, the room freezing cold and the room stark with a shabby carpet , no curtains and a very small bathroom with no heating. After being promised a heater and waiting one hour for it I gave up, packed up and went to reception to request another room. They initially told me the hotel was full, but then found another room? This was on the 8 th floor. It was better, but noisy I could hear EVERYTHING taking place in the bathroom next door and the windows are not very soundproof so the noise from outside was a problem. The room was exceptionally clean but that's the only good point about the hotel apart from the location. The standard of the first room wasn't even up to 2 star .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kholidays1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I arrived at different times and consequently got separate electronic keys but only one was allowed to be active, which was a bit off putting and would of been a problem if we had been going to different places and different times, which wasn't a great start for us.
The hotel itself is in a good location just around the corner from Tottenham Court Road tube station and the British Museum. Unfortunately the room I stayed on the 4th floor was compact although although we are of average height and build would of struggled in the small bathroom and shower if we were of a bigger build. The bathroom had only one bath towel and hand towel for a double room and 2 of us. I called Housekeeping and got an answerphone message to say their opening hours and to call the following number out of hours, it was 4pm and was well with the times stated. I then called reception who asked me to check the wardrobes as sometimes housekeeping put them with the spare pillows. I informed the receptionist I had checked the small wardrobe and draws and nothing and explain we were going out to dinner and wanted showers, they informed me 10 minutes, I had to call just over an hour later to remind them. The towels in my opinion are small bath towels and not a great quality, compared to many of their competitors and even lesser expensive rivals who use bath sheets. The bed was adequate. The biggest concern for us the lack of curtains as the windows are venetian blinds, that reflect the light outside through the gaps. When it starts to get light the room gets light, if you are a light sleeper(excuse the pun) not a great experience at all.
Breakfast is more like a cafeteria rather than a restaurant, basic, just OK. I had originally booked again for next month, but cancelled it on my return home. We would not stay here again and felt very disappointed as the write up gave a good impression.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed at The St. Giles Hotel on a one night Theatre break. The reception team are very polite. Rooms are small but clean with Tea and Coffee facilities, the beds are comfortable, and the Bathroom is small but functional. It was a very cold evening but the room was warm, in fact too warm at the beginning, but heating was easy to adjust. We didn't experience any noise as the room looked out over a side street. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy42Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very good location, central London, near Soho and Oxford Street - this is the best point. Nice room, clean and very comfortable, good beds, good shower. Not enough elevators (and quite slow). Stressful breakfast in a big space, overwhelmed staff, running around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettering
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is our third visit to the St Giles hotel just off Tottenham Court Rd .The team are polite are efficient the hotel is clean. The rooms whilst not being massive are comfy clean warm with tea coffee facilities extra pillows , and we were given a small suite on this visit which meant we had a sitting room ,fridge , two tvs , hairdryer , and a seperate bedroom. Im sure there are many more upmarket hotels in London but if you want a great location you can walk to Leicester Square in 10 minutes and be on the central line tube in 2 minutes then this is the best value well run base for great 1 or 2 night weekend breaks .We will use this hotel again definitely.

Room Tip: we had room 201 which was a small suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonkettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

As a family get together this hotel was booked for me so it was a matter of put up and shut up.

The rooms are small but acceptable what wasn't was that it was really really cold. The radiator or at least the bit of folded tin under the dressing table was barely tepid even with the 6" of snow outside. Eventually we were offered a portable heater but heater but it was too late.
The bed had broken springs all over it; so was actually painful to sleep on.

The bar prices are what I expect for the centre of London we didn't eat there as just outside the door is a much better choice on offer.

I would not use this hotel again would rather spend half the amount on rooms at a travelodge outside the centre and travel in on the tube.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#674 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#54 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#317 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#365 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#527 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,112 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#377 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel

Property: St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing