We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“St Giles Hotel London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #602 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Lausanne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“St Giles Hotel London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very good location, central London, near Soho and Oxford Street - this is the best point. Nice room, clean and very comfortable, good beds, good shower. Not enough elevators (and quite slow). Stressful breakfast in a big space, overwhelmed staff, running around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    1,855
    1,562
    545
    309
See reviews for
783
1,702
303
741
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kettering
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is our third visit to the St Giles hotel just off Tottenham Court Rd .The team are polite are efficient the hotel is clean. The rooms whilst not being massive are comfy clean warm with tea coffee facilities extra pillows , and we were given a small suite on this visit which meant we had a sitting room ,fridge , two tvs , hairdryer , and a seperate bedroom. Im sure there are many more upmarket hotels in London but if you want a great location you can walk to Leicester Square in 10 minutes and be on the central line tube in 2 minutes then this is the best value well run base for great 1 or 2 night weekend breaks .We will use this hotel again definitely.

Room Tip: we had room 201 which was a small suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonkettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

As a family get together this hotel was booked for me so it was a matter of put up and shut up.

The rooms are small but acceptable what wasn't was that it was really really cold. The radiator or at least the bit of folded tin under the dressing table was barely tepid even with the 6" of snow outside. Eventually we were offered a portable heater but heater but it was too late.
The bed had broken springs all over it; so was actually painful to sleep on.

The bar prices are what I expect for the centre of London we didn't eat there as just outside the door is a much better choice on offer.

I would not use this hotel again would rather spend half the amount on rooms at a travelodge outside the centre and travel in on the tube.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stay here regularly. the location is great, the staff are friendly (for London!). The rooms are always clean, although very small.

We always stay in the executive rooms, they have more space and a seperate breakfast room that doesnt become feeding time at the zoo!

Biggest problem is the lifts, there isnt nearly enough and you can end up waiting 5 + minutes at busy times.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairosol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location in central London , a few minutes walk from Tottenham Court Road tube station. The check in staff were polite and efficient and my keys were in my hands within two minutes. My room on 3rd floor was reached after an horrendously long wait for lifts that only accommodate 6 people at a time and there always appears to be a queue of about 20 waiting but stairs are available.. My room was the smallest I have ever stayed in with a single bed tucked into one corner. The room has all things you need, TV, Safe, Coffee making facility and a tiny en suite bathroom with shower cubicle. It felt very claustrophobic and I thought I would never sleep. The bar and facilities are good value and comfortable as are the restaurants, although step outside and experience great dining in central London. On my return from a restaurant down the road I had the best nights sleep in the most comfortable single bed ever and never woke until next morning, no noise and felt almost foetal in the room as it was so small and compact but overall for one night was good value and would use again if for a very short stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PJRCOVENTRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I just returned from this hotel. Not much to add from other reviews. Rooms are very small, bad pillows and just a Venetian blind at window that let in light early morning. Very odd heating system, convector heaters that are under the dressing table. Ours was not working and as it was freezing weather we had to ask for electric heater that was promptly supplied. Breakfast was ok, we were on inclusive deal with Superbreaks. Highly recommend these for UK visitors.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLass61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate, north yorshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just returned from this hotel. I was worried about staying here with my family after reading the reviews
I have to say we had a great time.
The location is great. You can almost walk anywhere. Yes its a budget hotel but all we wanted was a bed and breakfast and great location and thats what you get

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarebirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#660 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#58 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,673 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#306 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#338 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 831 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#347 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#535 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 2,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel

Property: St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Classic Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing