We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #623 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is located only 1 min walk from Tottenham Court Road tube so is really easy to get to. The location is excellent for theatreland / Chinatown / shopping etc.

I stayed one night for business and would be more than happy to go back. The Rooftop floor rooms have a really nice view out over the city and, although mine wasn't huge, it was certainly fine for a night.

There are a number of restaurants within the hotel and the executive breakfast is cooked to order - but could mean waiting.

Staff were all nice.

Very good value for central London.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawklord_pxr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,795 - 3,801 of 6,282 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for three nights, hotel was situated in great location for exploring soho. and the main shopping district. Rooms were small but had everything you would need. Bathrooms were also small with a small shower, they didn't supply shower gell. One thing I really didn't like was that the maids in the morning entered the rooms even with the Do Not Disturn sign up. Didn't like this at all. Check out was at 11, 12 would have been at a better time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thesphinx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a nice hotel close to attractions like British museum and Oxford street. It is also a short walk to Covent Garden where nice shops and narrow streets enhances the atmosphere. Soho wit it's restaurants and bars is also just a walk away from the hotel. We stayed there for four days. We did not use the Tube once. The staff is friendly and the room is small, but clean.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Trond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great hotel, friendly service, small cozy single room, metres from tube station. Spotless bathroom with decent pressure shower. Breakfast included.

(after a nightmare experience at the Britannia, escaped here to st Giles for a relaxing 2nd night in London)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LabratTREK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

When I started writing reports for Trip Advisor, I made a rule that I would only write one report for every hotel in which I stayed. The alternative was to write, effectively, the same thing again, and that would be boring and that would never do! So what has made me break my rule?

Well, since it is my default hotel when I stay in London, I stayed there again recently. Whilst I was there, I thought to myself "At a time when people are cutting corners and cutting costs, this hotel really is worth a second report, as it is has been consistently up to the same standard".

This time, although I had booked a standard room (cleverly designed just to fit two adults!), for some reason I was allocated a deluxe room. I must say, I appreciated the extra space!

No, it is not the Ritz nor the Lancaster, and neither does it pretend to be. It is a well-located, efficiently run, clean hotel, providing accommodation which is fairly basic (noting that all rooms are en suite!), but comfortable. And a plenteous breakfast.

I could go on and tell of its convenient location, close to Tottenham Court Road tube station, near to the Theatre District, at one end of Oxford Street, within easy walking distance of a wide selection of restaurants, just across the road from a late-night-opening supermarket and so on, but everyone else describes this, and it does not change with time. Nor that it is located literally on top of London's biggest gymnasium and a full-sized swimming pool to which guests have access for £5.

Having broken my rule, I will say no more, except that I hope that they will continue to maintain the same standards and reputation that they have established.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are less susceptible to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAGBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at the St Giles hotel after reading reviews about room size we booked a deluxe double room. We were given a quiet room on the 7th floor with a small bedroom but a seperate lounge/dressing area and bathroom with a shower. Everything was clean in our room and all the public areas, staff pleasant and helpful, good breakfast plenty of variety. Excellant location and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for slightly bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed overnight with breakfast included at this hotel. Rooms are small, but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice to suit all tastes. Location is excellent. Close to tube station and just around the corner from Oxford Street. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I think it's pot luck which room you are allocated, unless you have a specific request. But then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank milljan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#412 of 1,077 in London
1,031 reviews
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#370 of 1,077 in London
1,703 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#667 of 1,077 in London
344 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#180 of 1,077 in London
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel

Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range: $106 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing