We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location is everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #598 of 1,066 Hotels in London
denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Location is everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here 3 days in a single room - although the room/bathroom was very small, it was o.k. and clean. After all you are in London to do shopping, sightseeing etc. The hotel was very busy - sometimes a long waiting time for the elevator .... the breakfast was not that delicious but basic. I would stay there again because of the location.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 364 - fine little corner room with a view to a street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heplap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    1,809
    1,524
    536
    297
See reviews for
749
1,656
291
728
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (950)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, Somerset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is brilliant if you just want to get your head down on a visit to London or Heathrow. It is right opposite Feltham station and on the end of the main high street.Parking is only £7.00 a night. So you can park up, check in and be in Waterloo station half hour later. Don't bother with breakfast because there's a Wetherspoons 2 mins away on the high street and a Macdonald's opposite. The rooms are basic but warm and clean. We arrived at 10am and checked in only to secure our rooms, but the 2 rooms were ready. We dumped our bags and jumped on a train 5 minutes later. We were in the West End by 11am. Amazing. Feltham can be a bit noisy and we could hear the trains. But great for a basic, cheap stay near London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmjayHuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Booked this hotel with a hotel and theatre package, ideally placed for most of the theatres.

Rooms as stated are very small but clean and pleasant

Bar in hotel very good when we returned from our evening

Breakfast included in price and cannot complain good choice and hot

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I've booked this hotel for 7 days with my sister after a good friend of mine recommend it as nice centeral hotel right next to Oxford st'
Well I got nice twin bed room small but good on the sixth floor nice size bathroom in the morning the meal was allright good selection of things to eat .
The hotel is in great location and the stuff are nice and friendly
I could ask more for that price I honestly recommend it .

Helpful?
Thank Vered R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Londoner in SW
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

When you need to stay central in London, St Giles offers a great positon close to Oxford Circus and on the corner of Tottenham Court Road. Check in was torture. First the room was ready, then when I raised a query it suddenly wasn't. Staff take a while to 'warm up' in the friendly stakes, am sure it because they are the front line for flak, but come on, we're not all ogres.
Finally got the room, on the 9th floor. Tiny room but all you need with a narrow dressing area and a caravan bathroom. Two windows, one overlooking TCR the other out the back. The room smelled strongly of stale damp towels, pseudomonas. Eugh, couldn't get it out of my head. No fan in the bathroom probably didn't help. Noisy night, can hear upstairs clearly and even though high up, the street noise was disturbing, though not the hotel's fault. Lifts have their own agenda, wouldn't like to stay here if tehre was a fire. Didn't book breakfast but from the other reviews that was probably a good thing. Plenty of street cafes around to serve the breakfast of your choice. The bed was very comfy and warm. Otherwise an adequate place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWriter013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I spend at least 2/3 nights in this hotel a year for business and lets just say it seems to get worse.

It is an ideal location if your looking to be centrally based (2 minutes from tottenham court road station) and some of the rooms are quite comfortable but in terms of service that is where it lacks improvement on.

For instance in the morning you can wait up to 30 mins or more for a cooked breakfast and there are always queues in the hotel lobby when you check in.

The price for this hotel is £140 per night and keeps rising but the service keeps dropping.

I guess finding a half decent hotel in central London is a continuing challenge and the cost is a reflection of being a centrally located a hotel. However service is something that I 100% feel they could improve on,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emuobor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed here on business for one night when our usual hotel choices were unavailable. You really cannot fault the location right at the corner of Oxford Street and Tottenham Court Road. You are right there with the shops, nightlife, everything. To be staying next door to the Dominion Theatre is fantastic. Check out the buzzing restaurant scene behind nearby Goodge Street station.

Beyond that fabulous location I am afraid there is little to recommend it. You expect rooms to be small in central London but these managed to be depressing and scraggy as well. No bathtub just a shower and by sod's law I just happened to feel like a nice long soak in the bath that evening. Slightly wonky TV and Soviet-style central heating system that was impossible to switch off. The room was very hot and the only answer was to open the window. The cold December night air certainly fixed the overheating problem but also meant an all-night ear-bashing from the traffic noise. Of course since sod's law was in operation I also had more than my fair share of car alarms as well.

Disturbed sleep so woke up late and had to rush like hell to the office therefore cannot comment on what breakfast would have been like. Super-fast checkout though I liked that, and polite staff. Glad to be home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ultrak3wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#337 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#63 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,600 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#669 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#304 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#334 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 812 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#354 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 7,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel

Property: St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Address: Bedford Avenue, London WC1B 3GH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Location Location! The St Giles London (A St Giles Classic Hotel) is arguably one of the most central hotels in the capital. Guests can walk to many major attractions and places to visit. Located in the heart of the West End, only 50 yards to Tottenham Court Road Station. Rooms are compact but well appointed, with a range of standard, deluxe and executive rooms for all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Hotel London
London St Giles Hotel
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing