We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the cozy doubles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #409 of 1,067 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Avoid the cozy doubles”
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We had been booked into this hotel so hadn't made the choice about the room, if we had we would have avoided anything with the word cozy in it, particularly in London where rooms tend not to be spacious anyway. The first room we had was horrible with a small bed pushed against a wall in a tiny room with very little light and a tiny bathroom. The experienced was saved by the lovely service manager who found us a slightly more generous cozy double with better light. Since the hotel was full it was the best option available. I liked the machines near the lift which meant you could get snacks and drinks without using a minibar. There is a Boots over the road which is great for forgotten toiletries. Breakfasts were standard but good, I didn't ask for gluten free stuff since there was so much available although I did notice the bacon was sitting on bread, a standard practice to soak up the fat but one I wish would stop. The hotel was being used by a dance company so some fun people watching. I breakfasted on my own and was completely comfortable. The star in this hotel's crown is the location which is outstanding.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,720
    3,786
    1,686
    605
    352
See reviews for
1,154
3,199
1,199
1,967
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,537)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location in central London. Rooms were a little small but comfortable. A good bar and very helpful concierge. Hotel was very busy due to it being the London marathon weekend, but coped well. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JeremyC086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Strand Palace Hotel is a good hotel in the centre of London near to theatres and attractions of the city. (It's also opposite The Savoy).

The service was friendly in the busy hotel and the staff on the front desk were efficient and helpful. I had a single room which was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The wifi was good and I managed to do quite a bit of work before going to the business event I was in town for.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The single room was facing the central courtyard, so it was quiet enough for me to have a window ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I recently stayed at the Strand Palace Hotel and to which I have been a few times before on my previous visits to London. Whilst this time was again an overalls success I feel that the restaurant has this time let the hotel down. The food was of poor quality, rather cold when it arrived and served by waiters who looked like the'yd all really rather be somewhere else, in fact, working anywhere else other than at this hotel. This is a shame because the overall quality of the hotel is good, the location unbeatable, the remainder of the staff excellent and the bedrooms more than adequate (and that's for a rather large Australian!) But they need to resolve the restaurant issues before I'll be eating there again, for sure!

Room Tip: Get one at the back of the hotel. They may be a bit smaller but are so much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB6146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Over the last 10-years, I've stayed at the Strand Palace three or four times. The location is perfect. I stayed in a single room in the back of the hotel. I didn't mind the back of the hotel because it was super quiet. I will say this my bathroom fixtures needed to be upgraded. All the fixtures worked find but they were outdated. Other than that the hotel was perfect. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Once again, I booked the Strand Palace Hotel for a two week stay. This was my second holiday in London in a year's time and my second visit to this hotel. Online booking was a simple matter. The Strand Palace was, once again, offering a free travel card (good for both buses and Tube) for the duration of my stay. In addition, for a limited time, they also offered their Wine & Dine package at no additional cost if I booked an Executive Room with breakfast. That meant additional meals, afternoon tea, and beverages, including beer and wine, were included. Check in was seamless. At first, I was offered an upgrade at cost. However, I declined. I also mentioned the Wine & Dine package, which didn't seem to appear on the reservation. Fortunately, I had printed a copy of the reservation, including the information regarding that package. Upon presentation at reception, all was put in order. I was given a voucher which I then presented to the concierge who provided me with two travel cards; one for each week of my stay.

The Executive Single room was spacious and well appointed. Although I haven't slept in a single bed in many years, it was a good size and most comfortable. The room faced an inner courtyard, as per my request, which assured quiet days and nights. Although it was February, I kept the windows slightly open and closed the wooden shutters (no cloth curtains) at night. That allowed for just the right temperature and air circulation. I only turned the radiator on twice during my stay! There was a built in wardrobe complete with a safe. A terrycloth dressing gown, slippers, and an umbrella were provided. There were plenty of shelves and hangers in the wardrobe. A flat screen television was attached to one wall and was easily viewed from the easy chair, the desk, or the bed. The bathroom contained the toilet, pedestal sink, and shower in a compact but user-friendly space. Towels were ample in size. Facecloths were also provided. This is not always the case in London hotels. Toiletries were replenished on a daily basis. In addition, an electric kettle, cups, tea bags, biscuits, and Cadbury cocoa mix were provided.

The food at this hotel varies with the venue and choice of menu. Because I was staying in one of the Executive Rooms, I was invited to have breakfast in the Covent Garden Suite each day. Located past the lounge, it provide a very different environment from the two other hotel dining rooms. It was smaller and more intimate with wait staff who seated me immediately upon arrival and took orders for main courses. A buffet featuring fruit, cold meats and cheeses, yogurt, breads and pastries, and salmon was available daily. Every breakfast made for a hearty beginning to each day. It was a different experience from the previous year when I had to join a queue most mornings in order to enter the restaurant and be seated.

I enjoyed a full afternoon tea in the lounge. In addition to hot tea, plates of sandwiches, scones, and pastries were included. On the three occasions I enjoyed this delicious experience, I did not partake in dinner!

On several other afternoons, I ordered sandwiches in the lounge. They were tasty as they were hearty.

The Carvery Restaurant is the place where the food tends to vary based on the diner's choice. When I chose to select my meal from the Carvery, I found the food to be bland, overcooked or simply kept too long under the heat lamps. Fortunately, I discovered the ala carte menue which featured poultry, fish, pasta, and beef dishes; all of which were delicious. The starters and puddings were beautifully presented and had much more flavor than those items offered on the carvery buffet.

On two occasions, I had a glass of wine in the Mask Bar. Those evenings, I was the only customer in the bar! This is a very nicely appointed venue. Small plates are also offered in the Mask Bar.

I highly recommend the Stand Palace Hotel and will book a room there in future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing in inner courtyard where there will be no noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speak2Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Me and 8 members of my family went to Strand Palace restaurant for Sunday lunch to celebrate my cousins birthday. We were given a table away from other diners, which is good cos we generated abit of noise! Although it was fairly empty. The staff were friendly and attentive. The 3 course buffet for £20 was excellent value. The cold starters were very good. The roast was a choice of 3 meats and plenty of vegetables to choose from and it was nice but not as good as my husbands roasts! Would go back. Also very central location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,666 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#284 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London, England
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing