We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Hotel In London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #399 of 1,064 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Central Hotel In London”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We spent two nights here mid week to go to the Theatre Great hotel with friendly service. Drinks expensive at the Bar but stopped serving hot drinks at 11pm. The buffet breakfast was excellent. will use again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room at the rear of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WintertonBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you and looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,695
    3,756
    1,666
    592
    337
See reviews for
1,141
3,161
1,192
1,937
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,517)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed one night at the Strand Palace Hotel last July 2013 and I can honestly say my experience was very good, much better than what I thought it would be after reading the negative reviews about this hotel. Price was OK having on account how expensive London is.

I booked a single room and asked the receptionist for a quiet one, and I got one on the 9th floor facing an interior courtyard but very brighty. The room had been recently renovated so all looked new and it was indeed very quiet.
It was very clean, you could open the windows and they had nice wooden shades so the room could get total dark.
The matress and linens were also very comfortable.
The shower was very good and there were amenities.

The only "but" would be that the room was very small and had no air conditioning, it had an air fan, but I guess that wouldn't be enough if the weather is hot... so you should have this into account if you are thinking on staying here during the summer. The night I stayed though, the temperarure was 16 degrees, so no problem, even if the room was small.

The guy at the front door was great, very nice and helpful.
The hotel's location is fantastic so I would book it again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martisviajeraww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you would stay with us again and glad that you did decide to give us a try last July, notwithstanding some negative opinions.

Apart from extreme temperatures the fans supplied are pretty effective against hot weather although I am pleased to tell you that you can now book rooms with air conditioning if this is an issue.

Thanks again.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel is very well located, within walking distance to many of the main attractions of the city, as well as to different underground stations. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. The hotel is all very clean and beautiful. The breakfast buffet is quiet nice. We got a nice deal entitled "Travelcard package", which gives each guest 1 card, valid through the entire length of their stay, enabling free access to underground and bus transportation in zones 1 and 2 of the city, which covers all the main sites of London. This offer turned out to be awesome, specially considering that public transport in the city is not very cheap, so it is totally worth it. The staff was really helpful, specially the concierge gentleman who advised us during our entire stay. In conclusion, it is a very nice hotel option, whose best point is the unbeatable location. Would surely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a delightful review, thank you very much. I was particularly pleased to read how much benefit you got out of our Travelcard package. And thank you for your kind comments about my staff.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
414 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This is a typical British hotel and has been here for a while. Would need. few upgrades and modernizations. It's location is what makes it attractive. So If you are looking for a reasonable priced hotel in the theater district this is probably one of your better choices. The hotel is bro ably 10 minutes walk from the closest tube station (Coventry Garden on the blue Piccadilly line). There is a lot of restaurants between hotel and Covent Garden and the theaters are just around the corner. I would not book more than two nights here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I do hope we will have the chance of seeing you again when you are next over.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My parents spent their honeymoon here in 1950. It seems that the hotel has improved, as we didn't have a chamber pot underneath the bed!

Talking of the bed, it was a little on the firm side but, as I told my wife, that's supposed to be good for us.

Overall, a very pleasant stay with pleasant, efficient staff and a very enjoyable breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Richard,

Yes – chamber pots have long gone I am pleased to say! How nice though to come back to where your parents stayed all that time ago. Thank you for sharing that with us.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Visited between christmas & new year & we were upgraded to an executive suite on arrival!!!! So got off to a great start. Room was great, location couldn't be better for Covent Garden & a lot of attractions. Cocktail bar was good but EXPENSIVE!!. Nevertheless very enjoyable & will go back
when opportunity arrives.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Graham,

I do hope that the opportunity arises soon so that we can see you again. Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Let's start with the good. Fabulous location, great lobby and lounge area. Friendly reception and door staff. Clean, spacious executive room. Decent breakfast.

Areas for improvement. As we arrived at the hotel at around 11am, we knew our room wouldn't be ready for check in, which was fine. It would have been a nice touch however if, on signing ourselves in at reception, they had offered to take our bags from us to put them in the room, rather than us having to deposit and collect them when we returned that evening.

Our bedroom, in an executive room, faced The Strand. On arrival, the window was wide open and the radiator was turned off, so it was freezing cold and took a while to warm up. Not a great first impression.

It would be good if the windows, at least the ones facing a busy thoroughfare, were better soundproofed. Being woken up by sirens you can accept but when you are on the sixth floor and get woken by drunken revellers in the street bellow then sound is obviously an issue.

I was disappointed that there wasn't a bath in the room, only a shower which as my husband and I are both around 6ft tall, we found was too low to be able to get under without having to contort at strange angles.

The bed, as others have commented on, is 2, very firm, singles pushed together which made an uncomfortable lump in the middle - I would much rather have a king sized bed, or even a standard double.

The hair drier cord was so short, I couldn't sit in front of the mirror to dry my hair, or even sit up straight. It could do with being replaced as it was old and tired.

There should be more plug sockets - we had to keep unplugging things to use the kettle, charge our phones, listen to music etc. At the very least there should be a socket on both sides of the bed these days.

The TV was really slow to work, as it forced you to go through a menu system just to turn the TV on and was very slow to respond. Additionally, the Freeiew TV guide was not available and the reception was patchy at best.

As part of having an executive room the hotel directory lists that free internet is available. However, that was all the information we found on this subject. There were no instructions on how to make use of it. Minor point as we were here for leisure but worth noting.

The executive breakfast was tasty although both of our orders were wrong and the tea and coffee were both cold on arrival. The toast wasn't, having barely been shown any heat. The fruit juices weren't topped up often enough and ran out almost immediately. The service was slow and haphazard.

Overall, our stay was fine, but the above points could have made it really excellent.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank claireandj0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Claire,

I am glad that overall you liked our hotel but naturally dismayed that we disappointed you on a number of aspects of your stay. All your comments are well made and I will be looking into what we can do on them to make your next stay a more comfortable one.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,593 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#254 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#278 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London, England
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing