We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A winning formula!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #406 of 1,067 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A winning formula!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Strand Palace is well situated close to 3 underground stations, you can opt to use Covent Garden (5 min walk), Charring Cross (7 min walk), or a little further Embankment (10 min walk), this means you are not only well connected with theatre land on your door step, but its easy to get further afield with a number of lines to chose from.

Having stayed previously, I am pleased to report that standards have been maintained. The Strand Palace offers value compared to other London hotels that seem to have lost their way, with sky high rates.

A really nice touch is the free in-room Wi-Fi (other hotels should take note).

Check-in: Quick and efficient.

Room: Yes, not the biggest, but it was very clean and was quite adequate with been out much of the time.

Bathroom: Clean and functional - reasonable standard with 'usable' toiletries provided.

Breakfast: Buffet - Continental and English.

Staff: Very pleasant and helpful.

Overall: Recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelGuestVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks indeed for this latest review following on from your previous two. Each one has been a delight to read.

I am particularly grateful to you for summarising our transport connections for the benefit of future guests, for your point by point feedback and for your recommendation of us.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,720
    3,784
    1,686
    605
    350
See reviews for
1,153
3,197
1,199
1,967
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,536)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Only 5 minutes away from the Trafalgar square. Covent garden is behind the hotel. The 2 minuses of the hotel small and uncomfortable beds and the TV menu. Every time you have to go through all the menu steps to choose the necessary program.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana_Pudova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Tatiana,

I am very pleased that on the whole you like Stand Palace. I am though sorry that your bed was not to your liking. As to the tv menu, I think there is an easier way – a call to reception would get someone who could show you.

Many thanks for leaving your review and hopefully we will see you again next time you are in London.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times and have never been disappointed. All the staff are extremely helpful and courteous.

The rooms could a little on the small side but the location of this hotel is perfect for any where you would wish to visit in London.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

A delightful review – many thanks. Your continued custom is much appreciated. Don’t forget to register for our loyalty scheme if you haven't already – details on the website.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a base to go to see The Bodyguard and we were impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel, we have stayed in others that were quite disappointing.
The Restaurant had a good selection of food and the service was very good, i would definately recommend this hotel and we will be returning again soon

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Steve,

Many thanks for your recommendation of us and we look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in a club double room which was spacious, very clean and well decorated. The breakfast was nice and unlike several reviews, we didnt queue to sit down. The concierge was also extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your review was a pleasure to read – many thanks. Our concierge will be delighted to read your comment.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Positives - Great location. Good room. Very close to the theaters, South Bank, Trafalgar Square, etc.
Our room faced The Strand and the street noise was high. With the shutters closed the noise was not too bad.
Negatives - Twice staff knocked on the door early in the morning and on one occasion started to open the door. My wife and I were still in bed.

Room Tip: The Strand is noisy from early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks indeed for your review. I am delighted that you felt we were a good choice.

I am however very sorry that housekeeping knocked before you were out of your room. We do have an early check-in service for guests for whom this is useful (those who come to the hotel a lot earlier than the normal check-in time, for example if they are arriving from an overnight flight) which means that we try to prepare some rooms early. But housekeeping would never ignore a 'do not disturb' flag.

Again, my apologies. I can understand how annoying it must have been and I hope it has not put you off staying with us again.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

An hotel which had been used in the past and was always good but has been significantly upgraded in recent times. Good restaurant options and friendly helpful staff. Location is very good especially for theatres and Coventry Garden. Many sightseeing areas are an easy walk.

Suggested improvement would be to room and bathroom lighting as it is very limited. Had to relocate to reception to comfortably read newspaper.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4highgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review. This is much appreciated. I do take your point though about the lighting and will look into it.

Kind Regards,

David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#285 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London, England
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing