We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good 'ole Strand Palace.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #386 of 1,087 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good 'ole Strand Palace.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We've been coming to the strand ph for a number of years now. I don't think we will stay anywhere else. The location is perfect, literally a 5 minute walk from the hotel and your in Covent Garden.

Leicester square, Piccadilly Circus, soho etc all very close by too.
The hotel itself is Good, our room was very small but nicely decorated and clean, the bathroom again was small but clean, blackout wooden shutters worked wonders at keeping out the light and noise.
Breakfast was plentiful and good quality. Staff are helpful if you need to ask questions etc.

All in all a good hotel, the price was good, like I say, I very much doubt we will stay anywhere else and will continue to use sph on our London stays in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,647
    3,682
    1,614
    576
    329
See reviews for
1,119
3,081
1,172
1,893
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,472)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Room was vey small ( as are many in London) and had strong smell of cleaning products. What made this worse is the windows do not open. We both woke up at night with very dry throats and hard to get back to sleep. Pillows and bed hard, not especially comfortable at all. The most disappointing thing of all was that this hotel had a "communications package" when you go to watch a little tv, with little room to do anything else. Now you must pay..19.00pounds to watch tv, music and internet on top of a large price. We did not have a computer and only wanted to watch tv for a bit. We only stayed here because it was provided on a business trip, we always use trip Advisor, but not this time. Shower was ok and pressure good, but shower stall started filling with water due to slow drainage. The breakfast was ok, nothing special as buffet go, Coffee kind of bitter and served at first of meal in a plastic thermal pitcher. Would never stay here on our decision or recommend. Lots of construction out front, making very hard to find.

Room Tip: Maybe get the superior room, but cost much more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaffireOmni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMacRae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
During our Exterior Restoration Project, we have replaced all our windows with double glazed units allowing adults to be able to open windows themselves, taking into consideration the Health and Safety aspects for children. Nevertheless, our team members are more than happy to open the windows upon guest requests. Our television channels and Wi Fi are absolutely free, however latest movies are chargeable upon guest demand. Breakfasts served in our restaurants are well known in the area, with us receiving levels of positive comments as can be seen in other reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The staff were exceptional - friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble. we got an excellent room which was clean and quiet. The renovations had no impact on us whatsoever. The railcard offer made the location perfect for visiting the main sights and theatres

Room Tip: The 8th floor was quiet and above the traffic noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank possie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The strand palace is a very large hotel on the strand which is currently undergoing some refurbishment. This work did not disturb us at all. The reception is large and well staffed - the guy that checked us in was friendly and professional. There are three lifts which didnt seem a lot for such a large hotel but we never really had too long to wait for one. The room and public areas are spotlessly clean and there are vending machines around the place. The restaurants seem to be lacking choice a little - having an indian restaurant on site is a good idea but the menu was very limited - It may have been possible to ask for something off the menu but we did not ask and ventured to covent garden each night where the choice was much better. There have been many people comment on lack of air con in the rooms and I can see why, we stayed in March and it was below zero outside but we still needed to open the window in the bedroom. I can only imagine how hot is in in the summer. Overall it was a good stay and the hotel was very clean, the staff were good and the location was excellent. We would stay again but only during winter months until aircon is installed in all rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boots_is_alive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stay overnight in London several times each year, and always try to book in to the Strand Palace. Continuing investment in this hotel has kept wear and tear at bay, and the rooms I have had are always well serviced, fresh and comfortable. Last time, I was unexpectedly upgraded, which was a bonus.
When I arrive, it is always at the end of a longish journey, and as soon as the doorman welcomes me, I start to relax. The front-of house staff are impeccably presented and trained, and I have always found them efficient, with a ready smile, no matter how busy they are. The same appleis to the restaurant staff at breakfast time, and I have never seen a greater choice of freshly prepared food in a breakfast buffet.
The location of the hotel is another attraction to me. In summer, it is easy to walk across one of many bridges and absorb the atmosphere of the South Bank. It's equally easy to get to the National Gallery in Trafalgar Square, lots of Theatres, and of course Covent Garden.
The Strand Palace has everything I want, and need, to make a visit to London as peaceful and stress free as it could ever be.

Room Tip: With the shutters closed, the sound insulatin is good, but inside room (no view) is probably quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikebiggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I was initially concerned when I first arrived, and by no means is this hotel luxurious, but it is good value and is in an outstanding location. It's basically a well located comfortable place to sleep. You don't come for the hotel; rather, considering it's in the heart of Convent Garden and easy walking distance to most places of interest (from the British Museum to Picadilly Circus) with convenient access to buses and the underground, the hotel works as a good base of operations. People are basically friendly. The breakfast is not special but functional.
Summary: good value in excellent location

Hint: hotel provides free bus and underground passes within the tourist range of interest

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Street_smart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here a few years ago and it was a dump. Decided to revisit and was very pleasantly surprised. The price is still reasonable, the room was generous in size, very clean and well decorated and the bathroom was also in very good condition. Just one question, why don't hotels in the UK just install a shower, especially in rooms which are too small for full size bath. Breakfast was also excellent and good quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFiVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,380 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#272 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London, England
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing