We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #383 of 1,086 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
leicestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a good hotel in a great location. On arriving early we were given a free upgrade to an executive room, which included a breakfast upgrade plus more. Staff were brilliant. upgraded room was spacious, modern and clean. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leics29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,645
    3,682
    1,613
    575
    329
See reviews for
1,119
3,079
1,171
1,892
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,472)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed this week as the Strand Palace for business purpose. It was much bigger than I thought and while there is external development of theproperty this went unnoticed during my stay. Very busy hotel and lots of 'helpers' floating about eager to help guests to bars, restaurants, etc etc. Freindly an dreally helpful. Very smooth check in and I stayed in an executive room for sole occupancy and it was really nice, erally cleana nd fresh and robe and slippers were so welcome as it was snowing outside and I felt warm and safe very quickly the hot bath and cup of tea in room helped too..
Lovey breakfast , just note that not all breakfasts are full English most will be continental so check, you will be in differenct breakfast room according to the standard of room booked. I was impressed with service and breakfast. Great location for everythng an dparticulary for Theatre land and Covent AGarden both on your dorrstep and if you are nose just across from hotel entrance is the famous Savoy so while you may not be up to staying there it was nice to see it.

Well done Strand Palace, large but welcoming, busy but attentive, really trying to push its star rating and deserves the business it gets well earned.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are smarter tha with little touches that make a difference. There are ice machines o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

There are better hotels in London (at a price), but the unique selling point of the Strand palace is its location. Ideal for theatre, dining, shopping and all major tourist sites.

Currently, refurbishment is taking place and scaffolding surrounds the building, don't let this put you off. The welcome at reception was friendly. I asked for and was allocated a 'quiet room' without fuss. There are two pleasant bars just off reception, ideal for a nightcap after returning from the theatre.

The room was reasonably spacious, with a well appointed bathroom - well stocked with toiletries and luxurious towels.

One irritation - the lifts run to an old fashioned train time table all of their own. We were on the fourth floor, the lifts by passing the floor time after time were a cause of unnecessary frustration. I have been staying at the Strand Palace since the late 70's and this is a problem they have never overcome!

If you can get a deal, this is hotel well worth considering, particularly for its location.

One tip, take a No.11 bus to Sloane Square (bus stop virtually across the road) Enjoy a stroll around the shops and then pick up No. 137 to Oxford Circus. Sit on the upper decks and see the sites and save yourself a high priced London Tour - Trafalgar Square, Whitehall, Downing Street, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey/Cathedral, Scotland Yard, Knightsbridge and Hyde Park are amongst the sites en route and you can drop off right outside Selfridge's for a gentle (!) stroll up Oxford Street for a shopping spree. Pick up a No 6 outside John Lewis to take you back to the Strand by way of Regent Street, Piccadilly Circus and the Haymarket. An effective way to see London at a fraction of the cost of the various bus tours on offer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors at the front of the hotel are susceptible to traffic noise. Request a ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Intersylvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel was booked for my by my secretary at work for one night stay in London mid week. The best thing about the hotel is the location especially for tourists and those doing theatre breaks. The whole experience from arrival...the building is coveredin scaffolding, there was a wait to check-in, the receptionist was abrupt and argued with the customer in front of me....to the room....I had a single room which cost just under £140 and resembled student accommodation.The room was basic to say the least and i could touch all four corners when I stretched my arms out. The whole place is in need of refurbishment, the staff need some training in customer service and whilst they do this, they should reflect their deficiencies in their prices.

Room Tip: Check what type of room you are getting for the price quoted
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went to London for a weekend of two shows - picked the Strand palace as was near to the Theatre for the Bodyguard.
A Warm Welcome at reception - Room was on the 5th floor but at the front of the Hotel on the strand.A bit noisy - The Windows were open when we arrived - so room was cold - Radiator didn't work so phoned down to Reception - A maintenance man was soon on the case with a portable radiator.
The room was well furnished and a King size bed was firm but comfy - The Bathroom had no bath but was small and well equipped with everything - Nice white fluffy towels and plenty of toiletries.
The only downside was there was no full sized mirror - a minor problem.The Breakfast was very busy the next Morning as we had to queue for 10 Minutes everyone had decided to have Breakfast at the same time!
Breakfast had a good choice of everything on the Buffet - One downside was the restaurant is quite small and tables are close together - felt a bit too close for comfort.
Would stay again if wanted to go to a show - but like to try different Hotels in London to compare.

Room Tip: Rooms at front are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the strand palace as we went to see the lion king which is next door to the hotel! We also had the £25 wine and dine stay. Which meant we could eat and drink what we liked for our entire stay at the hotel. I cant recommend this hotel and package enough. We ate at the Daawat indian and it was delicious. We also had a carvery lunch, I had the turkey and my partner had the beef which they found to be quite fatty.
The room was perfect, spacious and cosy, enough space and despite us paying for a room with no view (due to the rennovation) the room and view was perfect.The blackout blinds worked so well that we overslept and missed breakfast! So unfortunately I cant comment on breakfast.

Room Tip: Eat at the indian restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph885522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just spent a night at this hotel and would definitely recommend it for value for money and central location. The rooms are fairly small but clean and comfortable. They have some great offers on and we took advantage of their wine and dine for £25 per person. This gives you unlimited access to food and drink (wine, beer, soft drinks) in all their bars and restaurants from 2pm check in to 11am check out. We also received a free travel card each! Staff very friendly and helpful. Look forward to staying here again on my next trip to London.

Room Tip: Requested a quiet room and it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AylesburyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,380 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#269 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London, England
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing