We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“wonderful new year” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #370 of 1,078 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

8,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,473
    3,490
    1,529
    537
    310
See reviews for
1,059
2,837
1,135
1,791
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,388)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Howden
Level Contributor
443 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Booked in here on a last minute business trip and despite its great location found it to be currently one of the cheapest 'quality' hotels available. The exterior is undergoing an overhaul which means the building is covered in scaffolding but the interior easily makes up for this. Staff efficient and room comfortable, clean and modern. Breakfast service and choice very good. will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaspandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel has all the facilities of a decent 3 star. Rooms are small with small bathrooms but quite pleasant. I can understand though, how other reviews complain of excessive heat in the summer. They are a little airless. The other parts of the hotel are good. Especially recommend the carvery restaurant for dinner, pre or post show. It does get busy but the quality of the food was very good and the prices for central London, excellent, paying about £18. for house wine. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The price of £140.00 per night I thought was a bit heavy but given the above, just acceptable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosfiloti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stay here very regularly with wirk and friends and never disappointed. Rooms are good size, clean and comfortable. Staff on the door excellent, never look for a tip, bar is nice, I dont eat here, but curry looks good, good value and a fantastic location for most places and a stones throw from covent garden. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any really, they are all good value. Personally id go for a room without a view. Walk outside, you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neilmcCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The combination of price and location makes this hotel so spectacular. It is pretty simple to take the Piccadilly line from Heathrow to the Covent Gardens stop and walk about five minutes to the hotel. It is very close to Trafalgar Square, the National Gallery, numerous theatres, restaurants, pubs, the Somerset House, and some convenient subway stops. You can easily get on the Piccadilly, Central, Circle, and District lines from this hotel. Other than the location, the hotel itself is pretty nice. The staff was friendly enough, and our room (King Club) was nice. The bed and pillows were firm (not uncomfortable for us, we slept great), the bathroom was clean and there was good water pressure and a towel warmer. Additionally, the windows have wooden panels that can be pulled over them and completely block out the sun. On a final note, the room service food that we had was actually pretty good. Although the menu is expensive (10-17GBPs) the food was fresh tasting, hot, and portions were good--I can say that it was better than a couple of the restaurants in which we ate.

To sum it up, this is a great value and I would recommend you consider staying here. It is not a luxury hotel, but you certainly won't want for anything. If you want a great location, comfortable room, and decent price, and you don't need anything too fancy, then I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We got a room facing the inside on first floor and had no noise problems. I don't know if the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Checking in over Christmas I thought the hotel would not be heavily booked..how wrong I was! Instead of business travellers there were holidaymakers. An excellent location in central London, around the corner from Covent Garden, and a short walk to Soho, Leicester and Trafalgar Squares. The staff were attentive and friendly, from reception, the bar staff, dining room staff through to the telephone operator. Although I didn't dine at their restaurant, the menu was quite extensive. I did, however, book the breakfast option, and was very happy with the selection on their buffet. The rooms were modern and well equipped with all the 'mod cons'.The bathrooms were also well stocked with amenities. Definitely a hotel I'd look toward to revisiting!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerQF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here over the New Year for the second time, and our 4th visit overall. Hotel had been refurbished since our last visit, and we were very pleased with the result. We have always been happy with the friendliness of the staff. A good breakfast, clean, modern rooms, and a great central location right next to Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and all the central London attractions. If in London book in here, I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sargenottingham_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#211 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,776 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#14 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,993 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#187 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#73 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#263 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London, England
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing