We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful new year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #442 of 1,073 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 4, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank edward g
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,604)
There are newer reviews for Strand Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,373 - 6,379 of 9,612 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

Booked in here on a last minute business trip and despite its great location found it to be currently one of the cheapest 'quality' hotels available. The exterior is undergoing an overhaul which means the building is covered in scaffolding but the interior easily makes up for this. Staff efficient and room comfortable, clean and modern. Breakfast service and choice very good. will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaspandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel has all the facilities of a decent 3 star. Rooms are small with small bathrooms but quite pleasant. I can understand though, how other reviews complain of excessive heat in the summer. They are a little airless. The other parts of the hotel are good. Especially recommend the carvery restaurant for dinner, pre or post show. It does get busy but the quality of the food was very good and the prices for central London, excellent, paying about £18. for house wine. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The price of £140.00 per night I thought was a bit heavy but given the above, just acceptable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mosfiloti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stay here very regularly with wirk and friends and never disappointed. Rooms are good size, clean and comfortable. Staff on the door excellent, never look for a tip, bar is nice, I dont eat here, but curry looks good, good value and a fantastic location for most places and a stones throw from covent garden. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any really, they are all good value. Personally id go for a room without a view. Walk outside, you h...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilmcCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The combination of price and location makes this hotel so spectacular. It is pretty simple to take the Piccadilly line from Heathrow to the Covent Gardens stop and walk about five minutes to the hotel. It is very close to Trafalgar Square, the National Gallery, numerous theatres, restaurants, pubs, the Somerset House, and some convenient subway stops. You can easily get on the Piccadilly, Central, Circle, and District lines from this hotel. Other than the location, the hotel itself is pretty nice. The staff was friendly enough, and our room (King Club) was nice. The bed and pillows were firm (not uncomfortable for us, we slept great), the bathroom was clean and there was good water pressure and a towel warmer. Additionally, the windows have wooden panels that can be pulled over them and completely block out the sun. On a final note, the room service food that we had was actually pretty good. Although the menu is expensive (10-17GBPs) the food was fresh tasting, hot, and portions were good--I can say that it was better than a couple of the restaurants in which we ate.

To sum it up, this is a great value and I would recommend you consider staying here. It is not a luxury hotel, but you certainly won't want for anything. If you want a great location, comfortable room, and decent price, and you don't need anything too fancy, then I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We got a room facing the inside on first floor and had no noise problems. I don't know if the ro...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Checking in over Christmas I thought the hotel would not be heavily booked..how wrong I was! Instead of business travellers there were holidaymakers. An excellent location in central London, around the corner from Covent Garden, and a short walk to Soho, Leicester and Trafalgar Squares. The staff were attentive and friendly, from reception, the bar staff, dining room staff through to the telephone operator. Although I didn't dine at their restaurant, the menu was quite extensive. I did, however, book the breakfast option, and was very happy with the selection on their buffet. The rooms were modern and well equipped with all the 'mod cons'.The bathrooms were also well stocked with amenities. Definitely a hotel I'd look toward to revisiting!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerQF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here over the New Year for the second time, and our 4th visit overall. Hotel had been refurbished since our last visit, and we were very pleased with the result. We have always been happy with the friendliness of the staff. A good breakfast, clean, modern rooms, and a great central location right next to Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and all the central London attractions. If in London book in here, I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sargenottingham_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,073 in London
3,874 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#331 of 1,073 in London
4,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#298 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $180 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London, England
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing