We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic service and honour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #375 of 1,078 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic service and honour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

i was in johnstons restaurant(dawat) on saturday.i was expecting some english food.but i didnt know that, johnstons was changes few month before.to be honest i m not so good with indian food.but one of the staff explain me very well about that food.as a italian i m having always non spice food.but first time i had some indian food.the taste was brilliant, excellent.the customer service was amazing.i will come back again very soon with my family.thank you very much raisul for giving me such a lovely time.i want to see u again next month.thank you my boy.. u make our weekend very delightful. bless you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,480
    3,500
    1,535
    540
    316
See reviews for
1,064
2,845
1,141
1,801
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,396)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here with business for 1 night, unusually whilst only requiring a bedroom for one person this literally meant a single bedded room which I rarely come across in my travels.
I cannot actually think of any real issues with this hotel, it's in a very good location for 'theatre land' and therefore a tourist trap.
It's not the sort of hotel I'd take my wife to for a romantic night away in London, it's a huge hotel with a busy foyer and not the sort of place you'd go for the personal touch. Breakfast, while perfectly acceptable, was again served in an extremely busy and bustling restaurant.
The room seemed recently refurbished and had all the requirements in a room jammed into a very small area being a single bedded room. Walls were thin and person next door kept me awake for a while chatting away on his mobile phone!
In summary, it felt like a Travelodge although 4 times bigger. The sort of place you check in, go and visit the sites, have your breakfast, pay your bill and leave and they would never even notice you'd been there in the first place!
Have stayed in worse but of course a lot better. If you particularly want that area, I recommend the Charing Cross Hotel just down the road if you can get one of the Specials rates.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed a wonderful afternoon tea here for my hen party. The value for money was excellent - we had our own function room with the full service for an extremely reasonable price. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RieBaggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

went up to london to see cabaret which by the way was fantastic...booked hotel without realising how very convenient to the theatre it was.(savoy theatre)
five minutes walk from charing cross station. 10 minutes if that to covent garden, leicester square, trafalgar square etc.
for the price we paid it was superb. we had the club room...quite small but beautifully arranged with everything you could need. plenty of tea and coffee and water and toiletries.
will be back there next time in london.

Room Tip: expect get a lot more space with executive room but club is perfectly adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pearcesouthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stay in London several times a year and normally stay at Hilton Trafalgar or Waldorf but due to there high prices decided on The Strand Palace and I could not have been more pleased and will be staying here in future.The price is good,we had a friendly welcome from giuseppe and were given our room early which was newly decorated and exceptionally clean and comfortable.i liked the luxury toiletries and complimentary bottled water and magazines in reception.The breakfast choice and quality again exception.The location is perfect for shopping,sightseeing,restaurants and shows.we went to the Aldwych a short walk away to see Top Hat which was amazing.Highly recommend this hotel and will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Double room perfectly adequate but if you want a big room go for the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chatsworthpalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

luxurious, clean and spacious hotel. great staff,comfortable,clean rooms and nice breakfast. staff always ready to help and assist. beautiful fish tanks in reception areas. carvery, indian and coffee shop on site. would definatly go again. less than £5 in a black cab to leicester square.

Room Tip: queen room is spacious and has a double window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickigraham1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at the Strand Palace Hotel on the weekend of 7th - 9th December.
Excellent hotel, clean and breakfasts were delicious. Rooms were excellent, clean and well provided with toileteries, linen and tea and coffee.
Staff all very helpful. Great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#217 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,783 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#15 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,024 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#186 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#267 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London, England
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing