We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, if small, rooms in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #460 of 1,078 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 31, 2012

OK, so London hotel rooms are typically small, and Strand Palace is no exception. I had a single room that probably measured 7ft by 11ft. It was, however, clean, smart and perfectly acceptable.
The walls are a little thin, but tolerable. My TV did not work, but the internet is SO good (and free) that I watched TV on my laptop without any problems at all.

The breakfast is OK, not sure it is worth 12 pounds, but if you get it included in your room for a reasonable amount of money, it is probably *just* about worth taking. The fresh fruit is excellent, but the sausages are very cheap (and I am sure deep fried) and the bacon a bit on the chewy side .. maybe on balance, you might be better spending money on food elsewhere.

What makes this hotel is the location and price. It is very reasonable, given the location. About a 2 minute walk to Covent Garden, 2 minutes to the river, lots of places to eat and drink nearby and easy access to a number of train and tube stations (Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment) and about a 10 minute walk to Waterloo.

It is an excellent base to explore London, and although I knocked the rooms a bit, I probably would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorktraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,934 - 6,940 of 10,045 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here this past weekend. Oct 26-29.

Check in was very easy as my room as ready on time. Room was fine for one person. Double bed, desk, lamps, closet. No iron or ironing board which you have to call to get one sent up. Bed was a little hard but slept fine. Shower was very small with no tub but water pressure was very good. No complaints around the room itself. They do have wooden shades that will close inside the windo which blocks out all light and a lot of the sound and let me tell you that comes in handy right now as there is major construction going on around the hotel and it was VERY noisy just outside my window.

as for location...you can't beat it. You can walk to almost everything and Tube stops are all around the hotel in every direction. Right behind the hotel is Covent Garden area which has tons of bars and restaurants, but given this location it is tourist and downtown central so be prepared for most bars to be packed day and night.

staff was very nice and helpful as I had a package delivered a few days before check in and they had a note in the system when I checked in to get it. You can book tours, reservations and everything you need at hotel. Mask bar open very late as bars around hotel will close a little early and service was fine at the carvery restaurant and bars. 24/7 room service is a plus

overall a good stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants the perfect location at a decent price

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dcl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

First time at this hotel. The staff are very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. the rooms are newly refurbished and very clean. Not overly generous on size but are adequate. Beds comfortable. a very nice breakfast

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Good hotel but glad I was upgraded to double room as it wasn't very large. Single room would have been tiny I suspect.
Good service. Very clean everywhere and great breakfast. Very quiet considering location. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shell9874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

You can't get more central than this. Almost every sight worth seeing is within a walking distance. We had a girls weekend in London, and this was the perfect place for that: restaurants, pubs, nightsclubs, shopping -everything was close. Breakfast was good but basic -nothing fancy but you'll get your stomach full.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maiju_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Amazing location right near covent garden and trafalger square. Considering other London hotels I have stayed at I think this one is really good value. The breakfast buffet was good and the rooms very comfortable

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Analisaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I last stayed at the Strand Palace 10 years and it was looking tired back then. Since then it's had a major renovation and I have to say I was seriously impressed with how the rooms are looking now. I've stayed in swankier hotels, but given the location I'd say that the price the Strand is charging makes it excellent value.

Everyone i dealt with from the guy who took my phone booking, the staff who checked me in and the guy on the door was friendly and efficient. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed was super comfortable. I can't comment on the food as I ate out both for dinner and breakfast.

Room Tip: If you're not fussed about having a view then the rooms affected by scaffolding are available at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerbilOReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#340 of 1,078 in London
4,374 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#31 of 1,078 in London
3,702 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,078 in London
4,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in London
#260 Romantic Hotel in London
#303 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $129 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London, England
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing