We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strand Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$371
$309
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$270
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$321
$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$163
$155
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$215
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$220
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$176
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
$158
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$1,064
$843
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (11,165)
Filter reviews
11,165 results
Traveler rating
3,227
4,520
2,108
825
485
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,227
4,520
2,108
825
485
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscovent gardenwooden shuttersgin palacegreat locationtrafalgar squaresingle roomlounge barcharing cross stationwest endexecutive roomtheatre landcentral locationlarge hotelrooms are smalllondon eyefull englishlondon hotel
Filter
Updating list...
8,001 - 8,006 of 11,165 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel could hardly be in a better location, just a few minutes walk away from the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden and the west end theatres. The rooms are very comfortable if a bit on the small side. We had a meal at the carvery whilst there which was nothing special. What really spoiled our stay was being charged £2 per item of luggage for storage on our day of departure. We've stayed in hotels all over the world and have never had to pay such a charge previously. The hotel is being renovated and part of the cost is obviously being levied on customers through these sorts of charges. Will try elsewhere the next time in London.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great location near Charing Cross and Covent Garden. The hotel is quite large and the inside is really nice. We ate here for a xmas do and stayed over night i think we got a deal and if the price is right i would def stay again. Yes there are better plusher hotels but i would advise checking it out ... if the price is right ...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in September, as it was central to the locations we were visiting. In fact there is so much to do here, Covent Garden is behind the Hotel, with the Opera House, museums, and restaurants. Numerous buses run past the door, and the Underground and Mainline Station are a 5 minute walk. Trafalger Square and the Art Galleries are only 5-7 minutes walk.
Our Hotel room booked only two days before lacked a view from the window, but it was very quiet and a good sized room. The Hotel was full, but the corridors were very quiet. Our room appeared to have been recently refurbished, and was bright and modern with a lovely bathroom.
We had an excellent buffet breakfast in a busy dining room. We thought for Central London, that the room rate was not expensive. We will definitely stay here again, ideally nearer to Christmas.

Room Tip: inner rooms are very quiet. We preferred the higher floors, although at busy times you may wait a few minutes for the lift. We rated the swimming pool in error
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milford_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

we booked for afternoon tea online, not an expensive ofcourse as places like the ritz, but nevertheless i expect a certain standard even so. The finger sandwiches were stale and the cakes were too and not at all appetising. The only saving grace were the scones, which were quite nice, but the jam and cream didnt even have serving spoons with them. the tea was bog standard and no choice was offered and this was tea bags and not leaf tea. i couldnt not recommend a visit here and we left feeling let down.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank juliette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel seems to be marked down for the size of its rooms, but this is London where space is at a premium, like so many other cities. Try the IBIS in Darling Harbour, Sydney, and this is like a palace!! Yes the rooms are small, but very good decoration and everything you need is there. Staff very good, breakfast excellent. But above all, the location is superb, and that is what you are paying for. 2 minutes from theatres, Covent Garden, and all the major attractions. We would certainly use it again

Room Tip: We booked a room 'without a view' whilst renovations are being carried out to exterior, and they reduce the price, but the view is nothing to write home about even if you could see out of the windows.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandLyndaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews