We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing afternoon tea experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #460 of 1,077 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 29, 2012

we booked for afternoon tea online, not an expensive ofcourse as places like the ritz, but nevertheless i expect a certain standard even so. The finger sandwiches were stale and the cakes were too and not at all appetising. The only saving grace were the scones, which were quite nice, but the jam and cream didnt even have serving spoons with them. the tea was bog standard and no choice was offered and this was tea bags and not leaf tea. i couldnt not recommend a visit here and we left feeling let down.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sikipoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,205 - 7,211 of 10,290 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel seems to be marked down for the size of its rooms, but this is London where space is at a premium, like so many other cities. Try the IBIS in Darling Harbour, Sydney, and this is like a palace!! Yes the rooms are small, but very good decoration and everything you need is there. Staff very good, breakfast excellent. But above all, the location is superb, and that is what you are paying for. 2 minutes from theatres, Covent Garden, and all the major attractions. We would certainly use it again

Room Tip: We booked a room 'without a view' whilst renovations are being carried out to exterior, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandLyndaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel is situated on The Strand, just yards away from Covent Garden, and is consequently in an excellent location for a trip to London’s West End.

Recently renovated, the hotel is clean and well presented, and the rooms, whilst small, are equally clean and well appointed. However, the bathrooms, which are also recently renovated, clean and smart are rather too small to be considered comfortable.

Nevertheless, as somewhere to rest one’s head on a visit to London, the hotel is entirely acceptable, but I would not recommend anyone to visit the hotel in its own right.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JM1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for a weekend of theatre,and couldn't have been more pleased. Briliant location - on the main bus routes, and so central for lots of the sights. Hotel was efficient, and spotless. Rooms have been recently refurbished, and are very nice. Not huge, but fine. We had a room right on the Strand, but it was surprisingly quiet! As another reviewer said, the rooms, with no heating on, were very hot! But there was a fan in the wardrobe, which we got out and used. If the rates were right, I would have not hesitation in going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ctietjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The rooms are very small. The Hotel is for London ok. Close to Covent Garden and other areas. The hotel is well located for a stroll through London. Good value for money. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 08_ZH_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

For a 4* You would normally be expecting a luxury hotel with spa features. This might not have that, but it has been well renovated, has decently sized rooms for London (not big in absolute terms), and a fantastic location. They also put a lot of attention in to the rooms - small things like the lotions etc. and the number of teabags / milk cartons on offer!

When I am staying in London next I will be checking prices and availability here, which I think is pretty high praise! Just below Covent Garden gives you fantastic food choices (though the hotel restaurant is also decent), and not too far from the Mall, Trafalgar Square, Hyde Park etc. if you want to go for a walk or run.

In summary if you are going to be in this area, you are unlikely to do better without spending substantially more!

Room Tip: You are in London, so you want to be at least on Floor 3, to avoid the noise of sirens (as much as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Spent 3 nights at this hotel two weeks ago, the hotel was spotless our room was ready when we arrived at 10am instead of the check in time at 2pm. We requested more pillows that where sent straight to our room. We didnt have breakfast but was advised if you pre book its £12 or £15 if not, we used a wetherspoons and mcdonalds 5 mins walk about for a fiver. The hotel is in a fantastic location, across the road from the Savoy where gordon Ramsly has a restaurant, cut throught the garden at the side of the savoy and your on the Thames. 5 min walk andyour in the middle of convent gardens with the many shops and bars around you, few more minutes and you are at trafalgar square, 10 to 15 min walk and you reach leicester square 15 to 20mins to downing street and Big Ben. Will defo be visting the hotel again couldnt of asked for a better base to explore London without having to use the tubes.
from kings cross the taxi was £11, on the way home we walked to the british museum only a mile away then only another mile to the train station

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#339 of 1,077 in London
4,479 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,077 in London
4,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Covent Garden
Travelodge London Covent Garden
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in London
#259 Romantic Hotel in London
#301 Luxury Hotel in London
#344 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $144 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British cuisine, including cooked breakfast, as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London, England
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing