We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #187 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Just had a great 3 night stay in "The Thistle Royal Trafalgar Hotel" it's handy for any parts of the West End and surrounding area. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The hotel staff are friendly and there for you but not intrusive, will definitely be staying there again at the right price.

Room Tip: look for deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,010 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just had a couple of days in London. Picked this hotel as it was close to where I needed to be and pretty central to everything else. Haven't stayed in a Thistle Hotel for a while as have become confirmed Marriott fans. It has made a change to do something different. Although, the room was probably the smallest I have ever stayed in, it had everything you could need for a short stay. There was only a shower, no bath, but what a shower!!! It was wonderful - a full power shower and worthy of several uses in one day!! The breakfast was also the best breakfast we have had, possibly ever. The choices were fantastic and everything was topped up constantly. There was no rush, you could stay as long as you liked.The staff were attentive and readily available should you need them. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you just need a base whilst in London - but maybe not if you intend to spend much time in your room. One last thing: 5 minutes after arriving in our room, I received a call from reception to ask if everything was okay. Maybe if I had said the room was too small I might have been moved but I will never know as I said it was fine!! (This was a really nice touch and it has left a bench mark impression).

Room Tip: If you are here for a romantic get away - ask for a bigger room. If you are here on business you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoofergp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the hotel. Was a leisure trip and was special as we were having time out after a long time. This hotel is like a hidden jewel in the hustle and bussel of the central london. Cannot be asked for any more as right from the check in to the check out, everything was so perfect. Comfortable room and bed, no noise from the streets at despite of the location so central. Staff very warm and friendly and breakfast was really worth the money you pay. Fast service no waiting time at all. Quality food on the buffet.

This was a special occassion for us as we were away for our 10th anniversary and the extra touch from the hotel in terms of free upgrade and bottle of wine really touching. This is by far one of my most favourite hotels in london and we will certainly come back to stay.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maite W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were travelling up to London to see Phantom of the Opera and decided to make a weekend of it. After reading the reviews we decided upon this hotel and we were not disappointed. As soon as we arrived we felt welcome and were surprised with a free upgrade. The room was stylish, large and comfortable. Only 5 minutes walk from the theatre, the position could not have been better. We were in the heart everything and had a lovely walk round the following morning (after a delicious breakfast), taking in all of the local tourist areas. We had such a smashing time we plan to make a habit of it and we will definitely stay at this hotel every time! Do not hesitate - book in at The Thistle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed overnight whilst visiting London for a theatre trip and a little retail therapy. Excellent central location. All staff we met were helpful and extremely cheerful. Room on 6th floor, well appointed, spotlessly clean and very quiet. When we checked out we were able to leave luggage for collection after our theatre visit. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Carol12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel just behind the national gallery. Has large comfortable beds in good sized pleasant rooms which are nice and quiet as they overlook a side street so are away from the hustle and bussle of the main streets. Breakfast was really great cooked well and not overcooked as can often be the case in large hotels

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank b1ddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel on four occasions on our trips to London. It is ideally situated for seeing London being situated just behind the National Gallery. It is also only a stones throw to Leicester Square and Half tixs, and within easy walking distance of most of the theatres in London's West End. The accommodation is first rate and the staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast each day is good and they often have two for one deals for dinner. If you book ahead the cost is most competitive.
We like it so much that we have booked again for later this year.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#94 of 1,077 in London
988 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#183 of 1,077 in London
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,077 in London
4,152 reviews
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#144 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $152 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a hidden gem that’s just around the corner from the hustle and bustle of Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus, Soho and Covent Garden. You can make yourself at home in one of our 108 en-suite rooms, dine al fresco on the terrace, or relax with a drink in our stylish, comfortable lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing