We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #187 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a really excellent second stay at this excellent hotel. The staff are very keen to ensure an enjoyable stay, the hotel is well maintained and scrupulously clean, our room was perfect in every way, including great pillows and a very comfortable bed.

Breakfast was extensive and freshly cooked, even though it is a buffet style help yourself. The food is being constantly renewed, and hovering waitresses make sure you have everything you need.

The location right around the corner from the National Gallery and two blocks from theatreland means I am right in the heart of exactly where I want to be.

Guests' concerns are given the highest priority in my experience and attended to in a professional manner. Staff remember your name and make you feel like you are their only concern, their only guests.

We will certainly return in a month or two to our London home from home. Thanks to Team Trafalgar!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a Junior Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelier1Bakewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very decent size rooms, very central location and fabulous staff. they could be used a best practice example for customer service. the hotel was renovated last year, rooms look great now. Will always stay there if I could afford it. :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very good hotel- small rooms but that is always the case in London- very comfortable, staff very nice and helpful, modern, excellent location, very close to Trafalgar Square and Piccadilly Circus. Bed very comfortable, good shower facilities, clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alix R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Space is luxury in central London, so the rooms are small, but everything else was great. Just off from Leicester square and few walking minutes from theatres and Soho this hotels realy has perfect location, you can also walk to the Parliament and many other sights.
It is pricey, but location, staff, beds, breakfast... and LOCATION again.... I would stay there anytime. These was one of the best hotel choices ever made.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelX17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the Thistle Trafalgar Square for one night recently. We were seeing a show and wanted a hotel in close proximity to the Wyndham Theatre. It was very close to Trafalgar Square, and also to Leicester Square.

I did express check-in the night before we stayed there as I had received an email to remind me.

When we arrived at 11 a.m. we thought that we would be able to leave the bags and go back later to get into the room. The room was ready and waiting for us at 11 a.m.

The room was on the small side but was very clean and tidy. It had a writing desk, TV, hairdryer, tea and coffee, iron, ironing board and a safe.

The bathroom was compact, had no bath but had a brilliant shower in a good size cubicle.

The bar was a bit on the expensive side but nothing was too much trouble for the barman, even getting us a couple of bowls of chunky chips as we were a bit peckish.

The breakfast was buffet style with lots to choose from, a full English, cereals, yoghurts, fruits, pastries, cold meats and cheeses.

We were able to leave our bags at the hotel all day and pick them up before going to catch the train home.

I would definitely stay at The Thistle Trafalgar Square again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoolsGSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Pros: Location, comfy but small bed, every amenity needed is provided.
Cons: Small bed.
Location cannot be beat! Within walking distance of many major attractions, close to Soho and excellent restaurants, 1/2 a block from Hop on Hop off bus stop.
Updated and smart decor, helpful friendly staff, on-site restaurant worth a stop when in a hurry and hungry.
A real blow dryer!!
Quiet blissful, restful sleep each night in a very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Upgrade if possible for a larger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarynBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for one night 7th September its only 2 minutes from Trafalgar Square and within easy walking distance of theatres, London eye and Leicester square. The room was very clean and bed comfortable the only thing that wasn't was the pillows they were very hard. One criticism is that the bathrooms do not seem to be back to back in the rooms and we were woken by next door having a shower which was pretty noisy fortunately it was not early!! There was a good choice for breakfast and you could eat as much as you wanted. Ideal for short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PalmBayTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#94 of 1,077 in London
988 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#183 of 1,077 in London
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,077 in London
4,152 reviews
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#144 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $152 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a hidden gem that’s just around the corner from the hustle and bustle of Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus, Soho and Covent Garden. You can make yourself at home in one of our 108 en-suite rooms, dine al fresco on the terrace, or relax with a drink in our stylish, comfortable lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing