We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #193 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Elyria, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our first trip to London. The front staff was welcoming and warm, going overboard to make us comfortable and keep us informed of where to go and what to do. Special thank you's to the young gentlemen from Nepal and Slovakia - you were over the top! The hotel is located perfectly for walking around London or catching the buses. Transportation in London is easy to understand and not intimidating at all. I'm in love with London and can't wait to come back. Our room was immaculate and perfectly sized, quiet and private. We were overlooking roofs with chimneys that reminded me of Mary Poppins and Bert! It was a great place to stay and we'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    486
    113
    35
    11
See reviews for
247
644
50
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

we stayed here for another 4 days, since it is closer to theatres. we watched the phantom of the opera. it is very near the hotel 2 mins walk at most. it is an ideal place for shopping as well, regent street is right there. the only thing i would complain is the size of the room. the standard room is too small for two people. the double bed looked like a single. we then upgraded to a bigger one with extra 20 pounds per night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xchen29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have always loved staying in Hampshire, Leicester Square central London, Well at half the cost the refurbed Thistle just round the corner excelled in all areas.
The location is perfect for sight seeing or a theatre trip. The staff are so friendly, the food and service is 5 star.
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

P K

Room Tip: Maybe consider upgrade if you like more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJK751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located, very central just a stroll from Picadilly Circus. Be aware that there are two Thistle hotels on the same street, this one is further down Whitcomb street towards Trafalgar Square.

Check in was very friendly, with the receptionist checking we knew where we were heading for our evening's entertainment.

I was a little peeved when our friends whom we'd also booked a room for received a complimentary upgrade and we didn't, but that's the luck of the draw!

Whilst small, it wasn't the smallest city room I've seen and our room had a great view of the London skyline taking in the London eye, st martins in the fields church, the coliseum, and the shard. The double glazing opened, but when shut you couldnt hear any noise at All from outside. The only noise I heard during the night was a heavy fire door closing, which I think was just our neighbours retuning from their evening.

The room was very clean, with tea and coffee facilities, nice rain shower and TV. We were never really going to spend much time in there so the size was absolutely fine.

Breakfast was fine, standard buffet fare. The fried bread took some cajoling to ensure it didn't 'ping' off your plate as it was very crisp, I should have requested some toast, which was on offer.

All in all a great stay and I would go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasco421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good, friendly and efficient service. Nicely decorated and clean hotel in an excellent location. Within a few mins walk from picadilly circus Leicester square and covent garden.

Rooms were very nice too.only downside was that our 'king size' bed was made up of 2single beds joined together.

but overall we were cery happy with this hotel and we would return here in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just returned after 3 nights,. The hotel was excellent. Location was brilliant. SO close to everything. The breakfast in the hotel was amazing, The staff were very helpful and extremely friendyly.. I would definatley stay here again and would also definaely recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and we didnt hear any noise at all from our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muzzy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location. Pretty much in the centre of London, but being slightly off Trafalgar Square means it's still quite. Looking out of your window over the London skyline is pretty nice. Within easy reach of the tube or train, and within easy reach of attractions such as Houses of Parliament, National Gallery, Trafalgar Square, West End, etc etc. But good location for just having a wander around the area. Room was very well decorated, staff friendly. Easy check in and check out. Highly recommended. However, if you have pre-paid, don't let them take your card details as they will temporarily hold the funds, meaning you can't use your own money because they've held extra money that they shouldn't have, leaving you without money!

Room Tip: Try and ask for a suite if you can, facing the front, on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seanmascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#186 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#84 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Property: Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#108 Family Hotel in London
#147 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing