We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #193 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night to celebrate our ten year anniversary. We booked it in January as there was a sale on and got a very good deal which included breakfast. The reception staff were lovely and very friendly. We were upgraded from a standard to executive room free of charge because of the our special occasion which was so nice of them. Easy check in. Once in our room, room service brought us up a free bottle of red wine to celebrate. Made us feel VIP during our stay which you don't find a lot.
Room wasn't huge but the bed was and very comfortable. No mini bar but there was tea making facilities and a flat screen TV. Bathroom was very modern with double shower. We could see the London eye from our room too.
Location is 2 seconds from Leicester Square, perfect location for us as we love that area!
Breakfast is hot buffet but they do bring you toast and hot drinks. Food was good.
All in all a brilliant stay and we would definately recommend. Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GILL02091984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,558)
There are newer reviews for Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked a double room for 2 nights for a theatre break and at check-in were offered a free upgrade to a junior suite! The room was beautifully and tastefully presented with a massive extra-king sized bed! The bathroom had a bath with shower attachment as well as a walk-in shower and every facility we could have wished for. The staff are all friendly and attentive and although this may not be the cheapest hotel in Central London it is one of the best at the price and perfectly located just 100 yards from Leicester Square, backing onto the National Gallery. Can't wait to come back again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_and_Karen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Can't praise enough. Rooms are lovely and comfy and all the staff friendly and helpful. Location is brilliant easy to access all the shops and places of interest. Overal cleanness of the hotel is excelent. Food is great and the room service fairly fast. I was a little bit anxious about the beauty treatmens as I am used to my regular beautician but I was very happy and satisfied with the tratment I received. I would most definitely stay at this place next time I'm around.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alenamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel is lovely very clean and beautiful rooms. We got a free upgrade thankyou so much. I have no complaints very satisfied for everything the staff done for us. The hotel is so close to china town and all the attractions.Well done!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jencodown_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I had afternoon tea with awowcher code today. My friend and I were directed by the reception staff to a waiter who was very polite and welcoming and he led us to the restauarant where we met by a lovely African lady with a lovely smile who then directed the waiter to take us to our seats.
We received wonderful care and were constantly attended to including offers of photos taken of us together on our phones thanks to Patricia, more food.....bubbly, sandwiches,cakes, cream tea and tea was magnificant. Thank you so much Thistle hotel staff...most importantly Thank you for making us feel very valued and specilal regardless of the wowcher deal......it made my birthday treat for my friend very special.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mejoolie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a very good stay at this hotel. It is located on a quiet street but yet very close to the very lively Trafalgar Square. There are many shops and things to do in the area plus a variety of restaurants all easily gotten to on foot. The hotel was very quiet and our room was well appointed and nicely decorated. It was spotless. I am a quiet sleeper and no issues at all with sleeping well, plus they have blackout curtains that help as well. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We would definately stay here again. To get here take the Heathrow express train (15 minutes) to Paddington station and then take the Bakerloo line to Charring Cross station (15-20 minutes) then its a short walk to the NW to Whitcomb Street.

Room Tip: We selected the executive room offer with the king size bed which was very nice.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I booked this using KGB vouchers before reading the reviews given by others who had booked Afternoon Tea. I can only say that we were most pleasantly surprised by both the quality of the service and the food. My mother doesn't like fish and I asked them to change the sandwich selection which was done very quickly, and with a smile. We were offered more tea but we couldn't eat or drink another thing. My 80 year old mother enjoyed it very much, so I'm extremely delighted. Would definitely recommend,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank middleagedgapyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#175 of 1,072 in London
1,185 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,072 in London
897 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,072 in London
3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#108 Family Hotel in London
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $207 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing