We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel,shame about the reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #182 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel,shame about the reservation”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable, the staff are very friendly. But we have a problem at the moment as when we arrived at the hotel on New Year's Eve the hotel had only one room booked for us, eventually this was sorted out, but it was very embarrassing at the time as the other room was booked as a Xmas present from us to our friends who accompanied us. We are waiting to see where the fault lays at the moment either the hotels or Thomas cook who we booked with.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 911mel1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    508
    115
    35
    11
See reviews for
258
669
51
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Royal Trafalgar one night, check in was easy and the reception staff helpful. I was offered a choice of upgrade, free bottle of wine or free breakfast for two. My colleague took the wine so I opted for the free breakfast and we shared the wine before dinner. The room, somewhat small, but clean and the bed was very comfortable. One minor flaw in the bathroom, there is not much legroom between the loo and shower screen, very tight for those of us over 6ft. Didn't have dinner in the hotel as its only a stones throw to the restaurants in the west end.

Breakfast was buffet style which was fine, you can order from the menu at extra cost. Overall a good stay.

Note, don't get mixed up between The Royal Trafalgar and The Trafalgar hotel on opposite side of the square.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank EODUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved it. Book, don't hesitate, service exceeded my expectations, room was lovely, massive omit bed, brilliant location. I will be coming back. Found the hotel through Late Rooms ... I travel to London with irk a lot, I ill always try and book in here.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a great hotel! We booked it using the mystery hotels on late rooms.. Chosen for its location it didn't disappoint.

We went to London for the night for a friends birthday, before arriving, someone in our party rang to see if there was anything they could do to help us celebrate, he spoke to Renata - when we arrived we had been upgraded and the birthday boy even had a bottle of wine in the room!

On check in we were greeted by Renata who was even better in person than over the
Phone. Great conversation and we felt extremely welcomed. Credit to the hotel!

The room was clean and tidy, huge, modern and nicely decorated! The bed was enormous and I got a great nights sleep.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was of very good quality! Cannot comment on breakfast as decided to go elsewhere!!

There were 4 people in the party and we all work in hotels- birthday boy is a General Manager if a hotel in Hertfordshire. Extremely impressed!

Overall a fantastic hotel and I cannot wait to go back! Thank you Renata!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were excited about being upgraded to an executive suite - the friendly receptionist asked how far we had travelled, and we told her about our long and much delayed communute from Australia. She then deceided to upgrade us. A nice sursprise.

All staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and new, beds were delightful.

The position is PERFECT. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed three nights from December 24th until December 27th in hotel Thistle The Royal Trafalgar in London. We chose this hotel because of its central location close to Piccadilly Circus, Leicester square and Trafalgar square.

How did we travel by public transport from King's Cross St. Pancras station to the hotel?
We travelled with the hispeed train Eurostar from Brussel South to St. Pancras station in London. From there we bought a so called Oyster Card for travelling by underground. We took the Piccadilly Line (blue line) towards Heathrow airport and got off at Piccadilly Circus. From the Eros monument we walked towards Trocadero and the large M&M store. On our right hand (McDonald's Whitecomb street) we saw hotel Thistle hotel Piccadilly. From here we walked downhill to our hotel The Royal Trafalgar.

Check in The receptionist called Magadalena was very friendly. We asked for a twin bedded room and we were given an executive room on the fifth floor. But, the beds weren't separated yet, so the receptionist called the housekeeping to turn the bed in seperate beds. See the pictures attached.

Room 526
The room and bathroom were very clean, but in our opinion it was a standard room in stead of an executive room. The room was refurbished. Under one of the Box-spring beds we could see the plastic. Facilities: We had a coffee/tea maker and a hair-dryer, but unfortunately no mini fridge.


Breakfast on the ground floor:
The breakfast buffet is until 10.30 am and was very basic. On Christmas day and Boxing day we missed the typical English food like Christmas pudding or Christmas bread and Christmas decorations on the tables.

Internet: We could use the computer in the lounge, after registration (email adress, age, mobile phone number).

After all, we had a pleasant stay in hotel Thistle The Royal Trafalgar in London!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelique132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at hotel on new year's eve. What a location!!. The reception team were so friendly and full of fun. Very efficient check in. The bathroom is compact but fantastic shower!. Very comfortable, giant bed and slept like a baby. The price was surprisingly good for a central London hotel on December 31st in the middle of all the action. Will stay here again most definately.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#188 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#96 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Property: Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#108 Family Hotel in London
#143 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing