We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,850)
Filter reviews
1,850 results
Traveler rating
947
663
168
50
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
947
663
168
50
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national gallery great location west end quiet street junior suite covent garden huge bed charing cross central location within walking distance theatre land london eye free upgrade quiet at night excellent hotel standard room few minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
1,436 - 1,441 of 1,850 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The location is as good as it can get if you want to stay in the city center. Just few minutes walk to Leicester square, Soho, China Town, Piccadilly, Trafalgar square... and yet on a quiet part of a street.

Room was "executive room" which was not in anyway impressing. Just a standard room. Nice and clean room with working and adequate facilities. We had to pay extra for separate beds! Also the booking info through booking.com was all messed up (our booking had not been received by the Hotel - according to them) but luckily we had all our documents with us. They also tried to bill the VAT from us eventhough it was already included in our rate.

We also booked a taxi from the reception for early morning ride to Liverpool street train station but it would have cost 60% more if we would have wanted a receipt. The ride cost 20£ without receipt at 04:30 am.

All in all: nice and comfortable hotel at excellent location.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JpS-FI-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hotel is very well located - two minutes walk from either Piccadilly Circus or Leicester or Trafalgar Squares, stumbling distance from Soho. Rooms are quite small, but it's acceptable by London/Tokyo standards. Breakfast was surprisingly good, and staff was very attentive. Tip - take the tube from heathrow to this hotel - I took a Heathrow Express to Paddington and then a cab and it took longer and cost MUCH more.

Room tip: Stayed in 511 on which was a corner room with good light and excellent views over the rooftops.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasondarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Hi,just returned from a business trip in London. I stayed at the above hotel and what a pleasance experience it was. Most hotels in London fall into the "little tired" category but this one has had a top end refurb and everything is new and spotlessly clean throughout. The location is right in the centre and you can walk to all the attractions easily and great bars and restaurants around there too. It is located in a very quiet street which is a nice retreat to come to after a day on the madness of the city's many attractions. The staff are very friendly and nothing is a problem for them. Only one thing that could have been better would be free WiFi for the businessvtraveller and tourist alike.
Dean.

Room tip: Exec king rooms excellent with huge bed!!!
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dean S

Thank you for your review of the Royal Trafalgar.

I was delighted to read your comments on how much you enjoyed the visit. As you correctly pointed out we have fully refurbished all areas of the hotel in the last 12 months so it was fantastic to note the positive feedback. We do offer limited period of free WIFI to our customer loyalty membership, Signature, which you may wish to join on your next visit. Thank you again for the feedback.

Kindest regards

Richard O'Riordan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

If you want to stay very central and close to all the cultural attractions of London at a decent price Royal Trafalgar may be a deal to consider.
It is very central- Leicester square is around the corner- and at the same time it is located in a small quiet street that brings you to Trafalgar square within two minutes.
The rooms are recently renovated and not too small. And they do not try to overcharge you for breakfast- 12 pounds is a decent price by London standards.
The service is very basic, but the bar downstairs is good and quite.
Good deal in central location.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlegK925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Oleg K

Thank you for your positive comments on the Royal Trafalgar. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found it good value for money. Once again, thank you for the valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Richard O'Riordan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

our first night in London after trip from oz...picked because of location....a bit expensive but rooms were good....if a bit hot...difficult to get the AC working correctly. We arrived early and they gave us some tea ...checked in and then went back to room about 12-00.
Service from front counter great and helped us with info and tour/tickets
Room a bit small but typical of central london
Great location for theatre
Thanks for making us welcome as it is always good to see smiling helpful faces when you get to the hotel at 7-00 am after that long flight and the stress of UK immigration queues

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews