We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location - Clean and Tidy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #203 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb Location - Clean and Tidy”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Right in the heart of London, the best location you could ask for without being too expensive. Clean, tidy, modern and highly recommended. A short walk to Piccadilly, Leicester Square, China Town and right next to Travalgar Square and the National Gallary. Also despite road works, no noise :).
Breakfast was recommended for an extra £20 also....more than i could manage to eat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee2219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    542
    122
    38
    12
See reviews for
284
701
55
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

As a treat for my husbands 50th I contact the duty manager Renata to request a possible room upgrade. Renata responded immediately and confirmed an upgrade to an executive room. On arrival we were also offered a free bottle of wine which was a lovely touch!! We were greeted by Magadelena and Francois on reception who were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The entrance to the hotel smelt fresh and clean and you could tell it had been recently refurbished. The room was lovely and the shower was a very 'state of the art' rainshower... absolutely spotless!My husband and I have been lucky to travel all over the world we can quite honestly say that the friendliness of every single staff member we met was just wonderful. Graham one of the maintenance chaps got into the lift, he asked whether we had had a nice stay and offered to help with my luggage to reception. Absolutely superb customer service.. and this was from each and every staff member you bumped into. Everyone was very obviously very happy to be working for the Thistle group.. well done Renata on an exceptional team.. your an all an absolute credit to your group, each and every one of you! Don't hesitate to book this hotel if you are checking Tripadvisor..we will certainly be back!!

Room Tip: We had room 608 which had great views of Nelsons Column and the London Eye
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyJaneTop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for business, perfect location and amazing prices and my room was really comfy and clean. Front of house staff really pilote and helpful. Only reason not to give 5 stars was the bar experience. Took about 20 mins to get a coffee, when it was nearly empty, then it had burnt milk and tasted awful so ordered a beer which took another 15 mins, this was a shandy so sent it back too, and finally a beer turned up about 60 mins after my first order!! Staff were apoplectic but expect better.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hooper24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

On a recent overnight trip to London for a night out in Mayfair we chose to stay in the Royal Trafalgar Hotel and were not disappointed! The location is perfect, tucked down a quiet street within a short stroll of Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Sq. The hotel staff were friendly, polite and always happy to help. The room was a good size with all the usual fixtures and fittings (large flatscreen tv, ironing facilities, hairdryer) and the ensuite was stunning. It was definitely good value for money especially as we found a good deal when booking online.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Spent 8 days there with family in 3 upgraded rooms. Staff is great and very helpful-kudos to concierge Laszlo. Breakfast fine, and restaurant service pretty good, but a little slow. Be sure to get the room upgrade. King bed that was very comfortable. Rooms still a little small but that is to be expected in a horizontal space challenged major city. Best feature was a quiet street near Trafalgar Square. Only problem was a cleaning staff that was extremely noisy with continual door slamming. Talked with them several times and not much improvement seen.

Room Tip: If staying more than a day or two, avoid rooms 426-428. They are nicely located, but close to a ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank_mary_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard O, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Frank_Mary_11


Thank you for your positive feedback on the Royal Trafalgar Hotel.

It was very pleasing to read that you and the family enjoyed the visit. It was very kind of you to mention the quality of the staff and especially Lazlo who I know is delighted with the compliment.

I do apologise for the noise from the housekeeping team and assure you that we have shared your experience with the them to reaffirm our expectations in performing their duties with the least disruption to our guests' comfort.

Once again, thank you for the constructive comments a we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Richard O'Riordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here for one night having booked via LateRooms. The room was probably the smallest I have ever seen, but, it was almost brand new and was very comfortable. We had room 504 which was a corner room so had huge windows (usual London roofline view). Check-in was smooth, lobby, lounge and bar were clean and we had no issues whatsoever. We went to the Madonna concert in Hyde Park so this was a great base for lunch, shopping and the concert itself. If I see another deal for this hotel I would not hesistate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for 6 nights and had a great time. The room was clean and the service was great. It is a perfect location for Trafalgar Square, Picadilly Circus, National Gallery, Buckingham Palace. All that was easy walking distance from the hotel. Easy access to the Tube which made getting around London a breeze. We will stay there again next time in London.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COOPERfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,069 in London
870 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#184 of 1,069 in London
1,165 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#20 of 1,069 in London
3,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Property: Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#108 Family Hotel in London
#154 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing