We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience in London”
Review of Rosewood London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Rosewood London
Ranked #15 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Experience in London”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed at many of London's top hotels and this is my favorite. The guest rooms, restaurants, amenities, service, hospitality and setting can not be beat. Feels like you're staying in a private home of a very wealthy, thoughtful and generous friend. A half dozen newspapers and the latest magazines are freely available as is chilled bottled water, excellent tea and mini chocolate bars (huge hit with my grand daughter). Works equally well for business or leisure. Gym is open 24/7, great beds, quiet rooms, black out shades, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,396
    195
    35
    14
    3
See reviews for
316
620
71
375
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our first stay at the Rosewood London and I only wish we had never left. From the moment you arrive in the private courtyard, you're greeted by derby wearing bellman that seemed to have stepped out of a bygone era of luxury. Once you step into the lobby, you are immediately welcomed by the front desk staff who were some of the nicest and most accommodating I came across in Europe. The hotel is grand and proud of it's heritage while at the same time showing off her whimsical side. It's like if Queen Elizabeth married Mick Jagger. There are hidden "winks" to British culture and pop culture throughout the hotel, from the lobby to your room: A model of a silver Austin Martin in the lobby, a James Bond book in the restaurant, large bird cages with finches and budgies by the elevators, a statue of an alarmingly realistic bulldog, and a mounted head of cigar smoking zebra with ram horns and a mohawk. The leather walled elevators open to what feels like your own manor house floor. Each evening in your "floor lobby", English chocolates like Mars, Maltese, Cadburry, etc. are teasingly filled in the bowls that in the morning held healthy green apples. The rooms are modern and elegant, with every creature comfort including a large HDTV, Nespresso coffee machine, power converter (for the Yankees), a wonderful bed and gorgeous bathroom. Subtly etched in the glass top of the dresser is "That Memorable Day" excerpt from Great Expectations by Dickens. Ahhhh, this is our place!

Don't forget to check out the Scarfes Bar which in my opinion is one of the best bars in London. A wood-burning fireplace, long wooden bar, plush couches, and a sultry singer accompanied by a pianist. Worth mentioning are the amazing cocktails and bar munchies only to be outdone by the waitresses who were the friendliest and seem to instinctively know when you were ready for your next drink.

I will count the days (and dollars) until we can once again return to the Rosewood London...

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I were in London for 2 nights and stayed at the Beautiful Rosewood Hotel. The service was amazing and they upgraded our room to a beautiful sweet. The room has an Nespresso maker and all the amenities one would need. It was our 10 year anniversary and they sent up a lovely chocolate cake.
This hotel gets 5 stars from me because of the service, beauty, location and our room was Gorgeous and Extremely comfortable. We highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMekelburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here in April. Was a total surprise - unforgettable hotel, very attentive staff, gorgeous surroundings and room. Didn't eat here as my partner had other things planned, but I can imagine the food is top notch too.

Would I return? Yes, yes, yes!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BW0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Had an amazing three-night stay at the Rosewood! From great customer service, design, amenities, to cocktails at the Scarfes Bar. Not cheap, but highly recommend it if you are looking for a luxurious R&R.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed at the Rosewood, London on May 30th 2014. The Reception wasn't that great, they didn't explain the features of the hotel or any of the services on offer and she was a little tired I think!
However this apart it is a great place to stay. Slightly Art deco interior in places, this hotel is relatively new and it still has that feel about it. It's a high quality finish. My room was excellent, all mod cons and sharply decorated, it was a middle of the road room for circa £400 for the night. I spent a good few hours in Scarfes Bar, top service, extensive drinks menu and very enjoyable. Cocktails are innovative and pretty tasty!
I ate in the Holborn Dining Room, again attentive service, very efficient, food was very good, good portions and good value with a wide variety of options on the menu. For London it was reasonably priced and very good.
This is a fab hotel, go there you wont be disappointed.
Again it's five start in London so be willing to pay a little extra, however it's worthwhile.

One very small thing, it's advertised as Covent Garden, it's really Holborn...so you have to walk 5 minutes to get to Covent Garden shops.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and the bed was the most comfortable ever!
The hotel was recently renovated and the rooms were in immaculate shape.
Friendly staff, excellent bar with a wide range of alcohol.
Breakfast was terribly expensive at over £30!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClemZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,732 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,067 in London
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#16 of 1,067 in London
2,464 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,067 in London
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood London

Property: Rosewood London
Address: 252 High Holborn, London WC1V 7EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in London
#7 Romantic Hotel in London
#8 Business Hotel in London
#15 Luxury Hotel in London
#17 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood London 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood London combines English heritage with contemporary sophistication in the very heart of the capital. The Grade II-listed, building has been renovated to provide accommodation with the feel of a stylish London residence. The guestrooms and suites are inspired by a traditional British manor house. The restaurants and bars are destinations in their own right. Recreational facilities include the Sense(R) spa, Rosewood's signature spa brand, and a well-equipped fitness suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosewood London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancery Court Hotel, London Hotel London
Renaissance London
London Renaissance
Renaissance Chancery Court London
Rosewood London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing