We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all the way around”
Review of Rosewood London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rosewood London
Ranked #17 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent all the way around”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely stunning and beautiful both inside and out. The service is also impeccable. Public transportation is just steps away and there are a large variety of restaurants, bars and shops in easy walking distance. I did not comparison shop on price so I can't comment on the value.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank GABJMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,375
    190
    35
    14
    3
See reviews for
312
610
68
366
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Rosewood for 4 nights on a business trip. It's pretty much brand new inside. Clean and a nice mix of old and modern. Love the country squire outfits the guys are all wearing.

Rooms are small but nice and clean. Beds are awesome.

Best part is the bar. It's hopping. Make a reservation.

I'm general, I'd say don't go unless you arrive in style and dress up at all times. And u better be ready to shell out 400 pounds a night

Great location in a great city - but a tad pretentious.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank canadianamigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthiasRoeke, Managing Director at Rosewood London, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear canadianamigos,

Many thanks for staying with us on your recent business trip to London. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your candid review !

I was sorry to hear that you found the hotel to be pretentious, something that we try very hard to elude. Hospitality based on relationships is of huge importance to us and therefore, I have discussed your comment with the team. Nevertheless, I was so pleased to read that you liked the associate’s wardrobe designs and that you enjoyed your time in the bar.

I do hope that we might have the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future.

All my best.

Sincerely,
Matthias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

4 night stay in late March. Room outstanding BUT..problems adjusting thermostat and fans..so turned off that system the entire stay.... Very attentive staff, great location. Atmosphere a little sterile for us...too "modern" but very well done.

Room Tip: not really a view property so most are probably OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank william w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthiasRoeke, Managing Director at Rosewood London, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear William w,

Thank you very much indeed for candid review.

We certainly appreciate your feedback and I’m sorry that the thermostat control in your bedroom was an annoyance. Something that I wish we could have had rectified during your time with us. Although, I’m glad to hear that you felt the associates were attentive and that the location was great.

Many thanks for your comments and I hope we might have the opportunity to welcome you back. Please do let me know if I might be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Matthias Roeke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night shortly after the reopening. Great building, tasteful interior. Very friendly and attentive staff. They have a nice hotel bar with library character. The breakfast choice is impressive and of good quality. Room was comfortable. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmopolitoswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthiasRoeke, Managing Director at Rosewood London, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Cosmopolitoswiss,

Thank you very much indeed for the kind review of your recent stay.
I’m thrilled to read that you were entirely happy with everything and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

All my best.

Sincerely,
Matthias Roeke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs uk
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying at this hotel and can honestly say we found no fault whatsoever. Although we arrived fairly late we were welcomed and checked in smoothly to allow us enough time to enjoy a drink in the bar before last orders. Our room was lovely and well equipped although the public areas are dark. The breakfast was great and all freshly prepared. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoshisMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthiasRoeke, Managing Director at Rosewood London, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear YoshisMum,

I am so pleased to hear that you wouldn't hesitate to return to Rosewood London; we would be delighted to have you stay with us again in the future !
I appreciate you taking the time to provide a review of your stay and I thank you for your kind comments.

Sincerely,
Matthias Roeke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Spent a couple of nights at the Rosewood. Was in London on work and this is a highly recommended hotel in Holborn.
- the staff was very nice and attentive, landed in London after a 14 hour flight and Lisa at the check in was efficient with minimum fuss. They even let me into the room at 9am.
- the rooms were large and the bathrooms very nice. Great shower and toileteries
- The hotel has an excellent bar, the Scarfes bar and restaurant for good business meals
- The concierge was helpful in giving directions and a general feel of the city and its happenings
What could be better
- for a business hotel, there is a dearth of financial newspapers, bar the FT. The IHT / WSJ should be a staple as not everyone has a desire to read the Times or the FT
That apart, the hotel is great

Room Tip: Request for a room facing the inner quadrangle, you get a nice feeling of the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MVy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthiasRoeke, Managing Director at Rosewood London, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear MVy_13,

Many thanks for choosing Rosewood London on your recent business trip !

I greatly appreciate your compliments, noting Lisa in particular. I am pleased to hear that we assisted you in an effectual and pleasing manner, especially after such a long journey.
Thank you for your note regarding the newspapers- something that we have taken on board. I'm pleased to say that we do have both the IHT and the WSJ available for delivery to the room.

Once again MVy_13, I really do value you taking the time to share your comments and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to London.

All my best.

Sincerely,
Matthias Roeke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The staff are thoughtful by offering if we need help to take some photos whenever there's a chance.

A staff accidentally drop a a few glasses on the floor & the other staff who was just next to him gently hold his shoulder by making sure he's fine. Another staff gently walk to us make sure we are ok but we actually sitting quite far away.

A staff who works at the bar also very helpful to advice best place to go.

Overall, I like their gentle & professional service.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiaomeik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthiasRoeke, Managing Director at Rosewood London, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Xiaomeik,

Many thanks indeed for your kind comments regarding our associates.
I'm pleased to hear that you found everybody to be helpful and compassionate.

Your review is very much appreciated and we hope to see you again at some point in the near future.

Sincerely,
Matthias Roeke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,714 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood London

Property: Rosewood London
Address: 252 High Holborn, London WC1V 7EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in London
#8 Business Hotel in London
#9 Spa Hotel in London
#17 Family Hotel in London
#17 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood London 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood London combines English heritage with contemporary sophistication in the very heart of the capital. The Grade II-listed, building has been renovated to provide accommodation with the feel of a stylish London residence. The guestrooms and suites are inspired by a traditional British manor house. The restaurants and bars are destinations in their own right. Recreational facilities include the Sense(R) spa, Rosewood's signature spa brand, and a well-equipped fitness suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosewood London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancery Court Hotel, London Hotel London
Renaissance London
London Renaissance
Renaissance Chancery Court London
Rosewood London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing