We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swanky and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #78 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
1 review
“Swanky and great service”
Reviewed March 19, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my 1 week stay here. The location is very central - next to many popular theatres and shopping areas. Service is friendly and efficient. The minimalist comtemporary decor is striking and makes clever use of space in the room. Love the little touches like the mood lighting, ipod dock and complimentary gym laundry service.
The hotel's restaurant, Asia de Cuba, has a delicious, eclectic menu with stacks of books in the column library to choose from while you eat.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilMcMillan, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2010
We’re really thrilled we ticked so many boxes, and that you particularly enjoyed our complimentary gym kit laundry service to enhance our guests’ complimentary experience in GymBox. Please come back soon to discover more books to go with your meals in Asia de Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,681
    678
    184
    79
    33
See reviews for
329
1,183
170
575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed there for four nights and we were so disappointed with what someone can expect from a five star hotel.
Starting with the public spaces there isn't actually a lobby because there is no place to sit at the lobby!
We asked to use the internet and for 10 minutes use they charged us 10 GBP!
The room was so tiny there wasn't space for our bags or anything. The curtains weren't actually blackout and we were waking up early because of the light coming in the room.
The worst of all was that despite the fact the room was prepaid they used our credit card debiting it with the amount of 630GBP!!! When we asked them to cancel it they said they will keep only 150GBP fot insurance reasons and return the rest of the amount but they never did until after we left. And you know what they were SOO RUDE with us making us feel that we are not wanted in their hotel.
Stay away. I bet there are hundreds of other good hotels in London that at least they will make you feel wellcome.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zittaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilMcMillan, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2010
We’re very sorry that we fell below your expectations on this visit. The Lobby does offer areas for our guests to sit and enjoy, especially around the giant chess set and by the gold teeth, however we appreciate that it is not a more traditional style. Sincere apologies also if the pre-authorisation payment process was not explained more fully on arrival, and it certainly does not excuse any less than gracious service. Such feedback is shared and discussed with the team to ensure we learn from, and proactively address, any service issue. We hope you won’t stay away but allow us an opportunity to demonstrate our core values in a positive manner and please contact me when you have made a future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

My cousin and I went to London to see Chelsea vs. Manchester City. We wanted a hotel near attractions and with a close by tube stop to help get us to the match. After some searching I discovered St. Martins Lane Hotel. What most drew us to this hotel was that it offered a room with two queen size beds. And if any of you have traveled in Europe, you know that two queen sized beds in a room means there would be no other room to move around in. Not so this. We had a very large corner room with two walls being nothing but windows (granted we didn't have much of a view, but the natural light was welcomed). A very large bathroom with separate shower and tub. Korres bath products. There is, however, no door (though there is a door to the commode). The room was all white with two desks, tv, dvd/cd player and dock for mp3 player. Two of the window walls crack open so you can get some air if needed. Beds were comfortable. Very satisfied with the room. The St. Martins' is more of a hip, modern hotel with funky designs in the lobby, a hip lounge filled with beautiful people on Friday and Saturday night and a very good restaurant. Excellent for singles, couples. Probably not the best for young children, but wouldn't rule it out. The hotel is steps from Trafalgar Square, National Gallery, Portrait Gallery, and all the theatres. Very short walk to British Museum, Piccadilly Circus, and Bond Street. Two tube stops nearby, so rest of the city is minutes away. Also plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby. We stayed three nights and had a great experience at this hotel. Only flaw we found was the concierge wasn't of much help and he didn't seem to care. Front desk staff were excellent and we got good pub tips from the bell hop. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilMcMillan, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2010
Thank you so much for such a detailed review, we really do appreciate your great comments which perfectly capture the style and design of the hotel and surrounding areas. We’d love to welcome you back for a return match at Chelsea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armagh northern ireland
Level Contributor
345 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and another couple and have very mixed feelings about this hotel.the plus side was location which was excellent.the hotel was clean and the reception staff and breakfast staff were friendly.sadly we had more downsides . the room was very small.......and yes i have stayed in london many times and the prices they charge in the bar was ridiculous.. that is after they allow you to enter !! .everything about this hotel for me was very prentious and if i am honest i felt uncomfortable staying here .overall i would not stay here again .

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armagh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilMcMillan, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2010
We’re really sorry to note that the pluses did not quite outweigh the minuses and it’s particularly disappointing that you did not feel at ease with us, despite the location and friendliness. Residents always have priority for the bar, however as there is a guest list for non-residents when availability allows, we recommend presenting the privilege card for priority access. We do hope you will consider giving us a second chance and please contact me at that time to oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed for one night. We were greeted at Reception with friendly staff who gave us a substantial upgrade to a corner suite. The room was fantastic. Very spacious and comfortable. We went for a drink in the Hotel Cocktail Bar before venturing out to a restaurant nearby. The Bar decor is very minimalist bordering on Spartan but with trendy lighting....and I have to say I have been in much better bars. However, the cocktails were fine and the service efficient and friendly. The breakfast was fine. They have a decent buffet and a full selection of cooked breakfast options.

The Hotel style is minimalist chic, if you like that kind of look (we do) then I think you would enjoy the Hotel. I If you want to explore London then the location of the Hotel is great; right in the middle of things, very near to Leicester Square and Covent Garden. s it the best Hotel I have stayed in....NO but there is nothing wrong with it at all and i would happily recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilMcMillan, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
It’s wonderful to know that you will recommend us, really appreciate the positive feedback and hope you have a chance to stay again, we’d love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2010

this hotel was so beautiful.. Kinda expensive but it was a wonderful experience well worth the money. My friends and i had such a amazing time

Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilMcMillan, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
Thank you so much, we hope to welcome you back for another amazing experience – please check out our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pimlico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2010

youve got to like modern hotels for this one, rooms are well equiped nice robes and smellys in the bathrooms all very sleek and cool.serviceis warm while being very cool.recomended if you want to feel a bit uber for the night.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PimlicoPogopogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelleFowkes, Guest Experience Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2016
Thank you for your feedback from your stay St Martins Lane.

I am excited to let you know that since your stay with us we have had a stunning renovation and we now have a brand new bar, Blind Spot with bespoke cocktails and a hidden entrance. Asia de Cuba our iconic restaurant has had a make-over including a mouth-watering new menu and we also have a brand new cosy lounge area just off the lobby where you can enjoy a lovely coffee and game of chess.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#96 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#39 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Property: St Martins Lane London Hotel
Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#73 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane
St Martins Lane London Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing