We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #78 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Jessheim, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service, perfect location”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I had booked a room for 3 People through Hotels.com, (which was confirmed) and was fairly upset as we arrived at the hotel, only to find out that there were no extra beds available in this hotel. Luckily, the fantastic staff at the hotel, sorted this out brilliantly, by giving us a complimentary Upgrade to two interconnecting deluxe-studios!! Amazing!
For the rest of Our 4-night stay, the staff did everything in their Power to make us happy, and they succeded!! We got an excellent complimentary breakfast (which normally i quite expensive), and they were so friendly and helpful, that by the time we left the hotel, they almost felt like Family :-) Espcially Ahmet, the doorman, was amazing, being so helpful and friendly, also With my two teenage daughters.
The hotel has a very unique design, which may not agree With everybody, but the standard of the rooms, the cleanliness and facilities are all superb!
I will definately stay at this hotel the NeXT time I'm in London!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjersti359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Kjersti359,

Thank you for your lovely review! It is so wonderful to read that our team managed to turn things around regarding your reservation. I am delighted you were able to enjoy the luxury of our gorgeous studio rooms. Our Ahmet is a legend to those that know him and it’s fantastic to see that he made such a positive impression on you and your family. We really strive to forge emotional connections with all our guests and it’s fabulous to see we achieved this with you.

Please let me know when you plan to return so that I can personally manage booking from start to finish to ensure you have another fantastic visit with us at St Martins Lane.

You can reach me on Nicole.messham@mhgc.com

I look forward to hearing from you.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Messham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,681
    678
    184
    79
    33
See reviews for
329
1,183
170
575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

There is just something about the rooms here, of all the great hotels I have been to I LOVE the layout of the room! It wasn't huge but it was bright and well planned with lots of storage areas in the bathroom for toiletries. We enjoyed an amazing mixed seafood salad and my girlfriend ordered the Thai salad and loved it. The service was great! It was a pleasure staying here!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank funjoy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear funjoy77,

It was a pleasure having you here! Make sure you don't stay away to long.

Thank you for sharing with the Trip Advisor community about how much you love the rooms here at St Martins Lane.

I'm delighted you got to experience the luxury of our wonderful garden rooms. They are just perfect in this weather! Who doesn't love al-fresco dining.

Please let me know when you plan to return so that I can personally manage your booking.

You can reach me on nicole.messham@mhgc.com.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Messham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I will not repeat the other good reviews about the amazing location, rooms, design, etc. except to say that I agree with them.

But to me the thing that made, and nearly always does make, our stay stand out was the staff. I met three reception staff and they were all brilliant....they must have degree level qualifications in interpersonal skills!! Nicole was exceptional.

The bellmen were unstintingly willing to help and the concierge was very knowledgeable when asked.
Top job, management .....well done. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C, Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Dorset Blue

Thank you for your wonderful review.

There are a lot of factors involved with delivering great guest experience - excellent location, attentive Housekeeping, lots of choice with regard to facilities, wonderful design etc however I believe gracious team members who like meeting new people and connecting with them makes the biggest impact. We have some real stars at St Martins Lane and I am so pleased that you met some of them during your stay with us.

Warm regards
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Just spent one night in this quirky, lovely hotel but wished it was longer. We received a very warm welcome from all staff we came into contact with. Our room was ready early and although quite small it had everything that was required with a large, very clean and well equipped bathroom. The location is fabulous within easy walking distance of theatres, Coventry Garden, bars and restaurants. Considering we were right in the heart of London's night life on a busy summer Saturday night our room was peaceful and quiet and the amazingly comfortable bed made for a great nights sleep. I have stayed in many London hotels but this is definitely the best, I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pompeysue50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Pompeysue50,

We wished you had stayed longer! Come back soon and for longer this time.
I am very happy to see you enjoyed your experience with us. I would like to personally extend myself as your St Martins Lane ally, so whenever you are interested in returning you can reach out to me directly.

You can reach me on nicole.messham@mhgc.com.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Messham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the Sanderson, I had high expectations for the St Martins Lane and I wasn't disappointed.

We stayed in a room with a small private garden and the room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. If you enjoy a good shower then the one in our room at least could almost blow you off your feet!

Staff were friendly and helpful and sent my wife a birthday slice of chocolate cake which was a nice touch.

We didn't sample the bar or resturant as we had a busy day about town and my wife is pregnant.

The location was very convenient for theatre land and not too far from Oxford Street on foot if you want to head that way.

Overall an excellent experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dpjrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Dpjrichards,

Thank you for your great review, I am so pleased that you have now had two excellent experiences at both properties in London. I am so glad that our friendly staff, fantastic location and comfortable guestrooms make your time at St Martins Lane so enjoyable.

Who doesn't love cake!

If there is anything I can do to make sure the next time you stay even more pleasurable please let me know at nicole.messham@mhgc.com.

I look forward to welcomig you back.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Messham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I travel quite a bit and this is by far our favourite hotel! The room is faultless, quiet, warm and light filled by day - pitch black and very quiet by night. The room we stayed in was on the fifth floor and had a great view through the rooftops. The staff are extremely friendly and are made to feel at home.

Do yourself a favour and be sure to stay here.. will be our only hotel we'll stay in when we visit London.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BishySB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear BishySB,

Your favourite! What a compliment – thank you so much for your kind words.
I'm so glad we made you feel at home and all staff you encountered were lovely.
We strive to provide a comfortable and memorable experience for our guests and I’m delighted we achieved that with you.

Please let me know when you plan to return. You can reach on nicole.messham@mhgc.com.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Messham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We booked the Loft room for my partner's 50th birthday which was worth every penny, having views of the London Eye, the rooftops at night and the most enormous, comfortable bed! The staff were really friendly and helpful, and we were thrilled to have a bottle of champagne delivered to the room courtesy of St Martins Lane with their birthday wishes. A really special treat! The only niggle was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which would have been very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0anna112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Joanna112,

I am so pleased that you chose to celebrate your partners 50th birthday at St Martins Lane.

When our founder Ian Schrager and designer Philippe Starck were creating St Martins Lane one of the key design features was that guests were able to enjoy the West End through our floor to ceiling windows whilst lying on the bed. All these years later I am sure that Ian and Philippe would be pleased that their vision is still being appreciated.

Joanna112, thanks again for allowing us to share this milestone birthday with you and your partner.

Kind regards,

Nicole Messham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#96 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#39 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Property: St Martins Lane London Hotel
Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#73 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane
St Martins Lane London Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing