We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy & Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #78 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trendy & Great Location”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I would definitely recommend St Martins Lane - it is in a great location. I must mention Nicole, who I emailed on several occasions for various questions who was extremely prompt and efficient with her responses and even got us an upgrade. We loved the bar, however, I do not think tables should be reserved. We were sat down then told that our seats had been reserved so we had to move. This was not a problem as we managed to get another seat but as the bar appears to always be busy another time this would not have been possible. We had breakfast and what we particularly liked was that the fried breakfast was cooked to order, unlike some hotels where it is a buffet. Although pricey it was very nice.
All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAREN1964186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We are so glad you had a great experience at St Martins Lane, Nicole will be delighted she helped to make your stay extra special, please make sure you get in touch with her when you would like to make another reservation as she will ensure your next visit is even more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to St Martins Lane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,681
    678
    184
    79
    33
See reviews for
329
1,183
170
575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Trendy lively Hotel in the heart of Old London ,as recorded in history ,nursery rhymes and Dickens' classic tales I was treated to a short stay at the St Martins by my son to mark a signifcant Birthday ,sister in law also came--- to keep order! The Hotel was stunning ,lighting ,decoration , food ,immaculate bedroom .We had never seen such crisp white linen .But it was the service which set this hotel apart .we were greeted as welcome and expected guests and made to feel comfortable from the start .Ed the senior "bell Boy "was a star nothing was too much trouble for him or his collegues ,Equally the bar staff in the evening were very kind to a couple of old biddies in the presence of the other wise young and lively young ,who were having the time of thier lives My one slight negative thought ,Where are the more senior management at the week end? They also need to be seen 24/7/365 to support staff and guests alike

Room Tip: get an upgrade!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you Pauline for your great review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time with your family celebrating your special birthday at St Martins Lane, it is so rewarding to hear that you loved so many elements about the hotel and especially enjoyed the great service from our fantastic team here. We do hope you have the opportunity to return to St Martins Lane again soon, when you wish to return please get in touch with Nicole.messham@mhgc.com and she will make sure your next visit is even more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights a few months ago (I forgot to post the review at the time).
The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful from the start. We were greeted as we got out of our taxi and helped with our cases.
I am disabled and we were allocated an accessible room. This room was one of the best I’ve seen in any hotel in that it had all the necessary aids – walk in shower with seat, grab rails, etc but still looked like a luxurious hotel room.
The lighting in the room was particularly good, extremely adjustable from dim (but colourful) mood lighting to full brightness.
There were plenty of plug sockets and an extension plug board was provided in the wardrobe. The bed was extremely comfortable.
The bathroom was very well designed and the Malin + Goetz toiletries provided were excellent. So good that they were used rather than the products I had with me and I have since purchased full sizes of them all.
We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant on two of the three mornings. Quality and choice were excellent, and the service very good.
We had dinner in Asia de Cuba on one of the nights. The food was excellent both in terms of quality and quantity. The staff were knowledgeable and helpful. The only criticism I could make of the restaurant was the lack of signage on the loo doors – some of it appeared to have fallen off. Luckily there was no one in the room with the urinals when I walked in. I did mention the lack of signs to the concierge, so hopefully this has been fixed.
I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ise63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at St Martins Lane and found the layout and design of our guestroom luxurious and comfortable and thank you for saying you recommend St Martins Lane, it is such a great compliment for us. We would love to make your next visit even more special so please contact Nicole.messham@mhgc.com when you wish to return so that she can personally oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to St Martins Lane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and me were both working in London and booked this as a wee treat. The hotel looks pretty good and the rooms are really well designed, cool, if a little small.

What makes this hotel is the staff, who were relaxed and made our stay simple and fun.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeegrindMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is lovely to hear that you and your wife treated yourselves to a stay at St Martins Lane whilst you were working in London and are thrilled that our wonderful staff helped to make your visit relaxing and fun. We hope that you return to us when you are next in London, Nicole.messham@mhgc.com would love to help you with your booking so please let her know when you would like to make a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Booked a "loft king suite". To me a loft means it is on the upper floors, however when we arrived we were booked into a 1st floor suite ..... In all fairness, I complained to front desk and the very helpful receptionist moved us to a 3rd floor room and gave us cocktail vouchers to make up for error. She did however say that there are loft king suites on every floor.......
Great hotel room, good cocktail bar downstairs, we ate in Asia de Cuba - buzzing atmosphere as expected on a sat night, very good service but very average food. Its a shame as the portion of Tuna was generous for London standards but tasted very plain and the other dishes just felt mixed up Asian cuisine. The beef starter had too much salad which was drowned in dressing.
I will say that the staff in the restaurant and hotel were 1st class, we asked to move tables in the restaurant and they did so with very little fuss and all staff very helpful and genuine. I would stay again as fantastic location for theatre district / Covent garden but I would eat somewhere else.

Room Tip: Loft king suite`s are great but they are not necessarily on upper floors so check when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMason1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to St Martins Lane, particularly making the most of our great central location and it is great to hear that you would like to return. Please get in touch with Nicole.messham@mhgc.com when you would like to make a reservation as she will make sure your next visit exceeds your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to St Martins Lane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel on 2nd November. It was our anniversary so I had booked a weekend away at the St Martins Lane hotel along with a west end musical and shopping. A work colleague had stayed at their sister hotel, The Sanderson, just of Oxford street, and from her stories of that hotel I knew St Martins would be excellent.

On arrival the desk staff were hugely welcoming, chatty and very warm. As it was our anniversary I had asked prior if we could have a large bath tub in the room and on arrival at our room we were not disappointed. We had a standard queen room but the room was extremely spacious and immaculate. The staff had also placed tea-light candles all throughout the bathroom and bedroom along with petals on the bed and bathroom floor to which we were blown away and hugely grateful. We were also provided with a free drink each at the hotel bar, which is very popular in its own right as a cocktail bar, filled to the brim with people not staying at the hotel. However I mentioned to the 'bouncer' we were guests and he was very helpful at making us a priority to find a table. The cocktails were pretty special.

The hotel is a fantastic location, right in the centre of the west end and only a minutes walk from leicester square. I cannot recommend the hotel enough. I will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank card1ff_chr1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
What a fabulous review, we are thrilled we lived up to your high expectations and were able to give you and your partner a really special experience whilst you celebrated your anniversary at St Martins Lane. We always try and go the extra mile in making special occasions truly memorable so it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit so much. Please come back to see us again, Nicole.messham@mhgc.com would love to help make your next stay even more pleasurable so get in touch with her when you would like to make another reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2013

It was the first time that I was staying in London. And this Hotel just answered all my expectation.
Very nice and profesional staff. I wanted to have a drink at the bar and the guy found a seat four me in the crowded bar (thank you!).
The rooms are so comfy. Great Wifi (worth the 10pounds for 24hours).
The mood lights is the room is actually very nice and spacious.
The view is amazing (trafalgare square from room 406). Close to main touristics attractions.
Great bed! YOu can find all you need in the bathroom.
Very stylish and design decoration.
The only bad thing I'd experienced is finding my room. Could not find my room number (It is on floor written in yellow on the orange carpet) Not very easy.
Did not try the fitness but I am sure it would have been very nice too.
ANYWAY I WOULD DEFINITLY STAY IN THIS HOTEL FOR MY NEXT TRIP TO LONDON.
Jerome P.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeromeP1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We are delighted that you chose St Martins Lane to stay at during your first visit to London Jermone and are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic time whilst you were with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed our central location, and loved the design and style of our guestrooms. We hope that you return to us when you are next in London, please contact Nicole.messham@mhgc.com when you would like to make a reservation so that she can personally oversee your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to St Martins Lane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#96 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#39 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Property: St Martins Lane London Hotel
Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#73 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane
St Martins Lane London Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing