We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Modern - Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #79 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very Modern - Loved it”
Reviewed June 22, 2008

I stayed at this hotel as a 2-night personal add-on to a business trip to London. Unfortunately my flight was very delayed and I missed the first night.

The outside of the building is not that impressive, but inside feels/looks more like some MOMA than a hotel. Check-in was quick, the concierge and desk staff were all very helpful answering my many questions. There was free gym pass to the full service "gym box" for the stay, but I was too tired to go.

The halls and elevators are barely lit with indirect, colored lighting. The elevators have small TVs playing stylized loops (old movie extracts). Rooms are not large, but all white, with modern accoutrements and indirect colored lighting if you want. My room had no real view. Bathroom is a glass and limestone (I think!) combination with modern fixtures (Great water pressure!). Flushing the toilet was interesting, you need to tap a metal fixture on the wall (not wave, press, touch, it only worked with a hard tap).

I also ate dinner at the restaurant, which was packed at 11PM. The portions were large and clearly tailored to non-single guests so they could share. Still it was good. The music was quite loud.

While I really enjoyed this place for a visit, (and I think I would return) I am certain I would not want to work in the room on my laptop due to the small desk provided.

  • Liked — Modern decor
  • Disliked — Little work space in room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank le_nomade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelleFowkes, Guest Experience Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2016
Thank you for your feedback from your stay St Martins Lane.

I am excited to let you know that since your stay with us we have had a stunning renovation and we now have a brand new bar, Blind Spot with bespoke cocktails and a hidden entrance. Asia de Cuba our iconic restaurant has had a make-over including a mouth-watering new menu and we also have a brand new cosy lounge area just off the lobby where you can enjoy a lovely coffee and game of chess.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,693
    685
    185
    79
    33
See reviews for
330
1,191
170
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

The website for this hotel made it look chic and amazing, and the rooms looked like something else. We were very disappointed. The rooms were tiny and absolutely average. We stayed one night, had breakfast the next morning and a couple of drinks in the bar and the bill came to close to GBP500.00, which is way too much. We normally stay at the Hilton Park Lane and we will definitely being going back there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The overall price and pretentiousness
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelleFowkes, Guest Experience Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2016
Thank you for your feedback from your stay St Martins Lane.

I am excited to let you know that since your stay with us we have had a stunning renovation and we now have a brand new bar, Blind Spot with bespoke cocktails and a hidden entrance. Asia de Cuba our iconic restaurant has had a make-over including a mouth-watering new menu and we also have a brand new cosy lounge area just off the lobby where you can enjoy a lovely coffee and game of chess.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

I booked this hotel for my boyfriend's birthday weekend and we both absolutely loved it. It's a very 'cool' hotel inside, decor etc but the staff were great. Reception was buzzing, the staff were very friendly, not snooty at all and very helpful about local places to eat. The food in Asia de Cuba was stunning although shockingly expensive and the bar next door did great cocktails. My only complaint would be with the size of the room we had. We booked the cheapest/standard double room which consisted of a double bed and about a metre of space around it to walk, besides the bathroom and the entrance. However, we loved it so much that we would definitely recommend it but if you like your space go for one of the larger more expensive rooms.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelleFowkes, Guest Experience Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2016
Thank you for your feedback from your stay St Martins Lane.

I am excited to let you know that since your stay with us we have had a stunning renovation and we now have a brand new bar, Blind Spot with bespoke cocktails and a hidden entrance. Asia de Cuba our iconic restaurant has had a make-over including a mouth-watering new menu and we also have a brand new cosy lounge area just off the lobby where you can enjoy a lovely coffee and game of chess.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

The location and building are fine the staff are simply so self important and pretentious they are a joke.

Someone really needs to take them all down a peg or two. Its not as if the hotel is really top of the range, there are better ones in London.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The terrible service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1362388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelleFowkes, Guest Experience Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2016
Thank you for your feedback from your stay St Martins Lane.

I am excited to let you know that since your stay with us we have had a stunning renovation and we now have a brand new bar, Blind Spot with bespoke cocktails and a hidden entrance. Asia de Cuba our iconic restaurant has had a make-over including a mouth-watering new menu and we also have a brand new cosy lounge area just off the lobby where you can enjoy a lovely coffee and game of chess.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Ok, the hall is really cool, the cocktail bar and the restaurant are really stylish but the point is that my room was not worth the price. Everything was fine and the bathroom was huge but I wanted something more for that high price.

An example: the TV was really tiny and there wasn't a mirror in front of our desk (you know, make up things for women).

This hotel is all about style and design, but there is an unexplainable lack of things and comforts that are standard even in lower class hotels.

  • Liked — Design
  • Disliked — Comfort
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pazcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelleFowkes, Guest Experience Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2016
Thank you for your feedback from your stay St Martins Lane.

I am excited to let you know that since your stay with us we have had a stunning renovation and we now have a brand new bar, Blind Spot with bespoke cocktails and a hidden entrance. Asia de Cuba our iconic restaurant has had a make-over including a mouth-watering new menu and we also have a brand new cosy lounge area just off the lobby where you can enjoy a lovely coffee and game of chess.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

Quite nice design hotel close to Trafalgar Square.
Service, rooms, food and so on were great.
The only problem was to actually find the hotel. For some reason there is no sign outside of the hotel so I had to call them to actually find the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mobile_Eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelleFowkes, Guest Experience Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2016
Thank you for your feedback from your stay St Martins Lane.

I am excited to let you know that since your stay with us we have had a stunning renovation and we now have a brand new bar, Blind Spot with bespoke cocktails and a hidden entrance. Asia de Cuba our iconic restaurant has had a make-over including a mouth-watering new menu and we also have a brand new cosy lounge area just off the lobby where you can enjoy a lovely coffee and game of chess.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2008

This was the first time I stayed at the hotel, though I had dined at their Asia de Cuba restaurant about 8 years ago.

I remember at the time I was very impressed with the design of the lobby and the restaurant, showing the Philip Starck touch. Entering the hotel now I could see that very little had changed since. It is still very similar if not exactly the same as it was 8 years ago.

Staff at the reception were EXTREMELY polite and very helpful all around. Going up to the room I must say that though artistic I found the lifts a bit on the claustrophobic side...

The room was bright as it basically has glass external walls and the views of the area were magnificent. I must say that it was a bit on the small side but as I was there for business I didn't really mind. I checked the whole colour changing light thing behind the bed and all the gimmicks in the room which momentarily amused me...I must also stress that the room was spotlessly clean, probably the most important factor for me.

On the down side I found the mini-bar VERY expensive (4-5 pounds for a chocolate bar) and the TV extremely small for a supposedly high tech hotel.

Breakfast was satisfactory but I wasn't impressed. In addition seeing the Asia di Cuba restaurant in day light, somehow destroyed the image I had in my mind of the place...

All in all my general feeling was that the hotel, though it had no major problems, felt a bit neglected. It used to be an avant garde hotel and the stress now goes to "used to be". It does feel a bit dated and not so fresh anymore... Saying that I cannot stress enough the politeness and helpfulness of the staff.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Prices
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pioann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsabelleFowkes, Guest Experience Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2016
Thank you for your feedback from your stay St Martins Lane.

I am excited to let you know that since your stay with us we have had a stunning renovation and we now have a brand new bar, Blind Spot with bespoke cocktails and a hidden entrance. Asia de Cuba our iconic restaurant has had a make-over including a mouth-watering new menu and we also have a brand new cosy lounge area just off the lobby where you can enjoy a lovely coffee and game of chess.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#101 of 1,067 in London
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#42 of 1,067 in London
2,061 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,662 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Property: St Martins Lane London Hotel
Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#74 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane
St Martins Lane London Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing