We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #74 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed at St. Martins Lane for the first time in December. It was a great experience due in large part to the wonderful attention of Jesper Soerenseon who works at the hotel and was eager to make my stay the best it could be. His extra care in finding a quiet room for me made all the difference to my three night stay. The hotel has an amazing design, helpful staff, delicious restaurant and ideal location. I will definitely stay here next time I am in London. Thanks for making it a perfect visit, Jesper!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for such a great review, and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your first stay at St Martins Lane. We are all dedicated to looking after our guests’ special requests and creating a memorable experience and we can’t wait to welcome you back when you’re next in London, please let me know at that time so that we can again personally oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,660
    671
    182
    76
    33
See reviews for
325
1,169
170
565
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

From the point of check-in everything felt fantastic, the staff throughout the hotel were always happy, chatty and just so personable. This extends from the people on reception to the staff at breakfast the following morning, i don't think i've stayed at a hotel where everyone is so accomodating for the right reasons, i.e. because they actually want to be, rather than are paid to be. Prior to arriving at the hotel I had mentioned that it was a special occasion and upon entry to the room we were greeted by candles, rose pettels and a bottle of champagne, a wonderful arrangement which just helped to make our special day even better.

The room, like the whole hotel is quirky and perhaps not to everyone's taste, though we loved it, it was 100% clean as you would expect and the mood lighting gives a nice twist.

The only marginal negative is the design oddity which means that the blinds can't be closed completely, this wasn't a problem for us but may well be for those who require a blackout in order to drop off.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for the perfect central location alongside what really is a 5 star service.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stammered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We really do love to celebrate our guests’ special occasions and it’s wonderful to know that we created an amazing experience for you. We can’t wait to welcome you back again whatever the occasion, and please let us know at that time so that we can look after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a great experience overall. I had a little accident with the revolving door and the staff was amazing. They took such great care of us and were lovely and friendly. The location is also fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulasully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are really passionate about service and creating a friendly, fun ambience and thank you so much for your lovely comments on staff and location. We hope you’ll be back to stay in 2013 and please let us know at that time, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

.....great location, easy walks to theatres, galleries, museums, historical sites, fine restaurants and shopping.....pleasant, friendly staff......well decorated, bright and modern facility....room had very comfortable beds......overall it was a lively, vibrant environment......tea/coffee facilities in the rooms should be a priority.....

Room Tip: .......away from the front of the hotel and on the third or higher floor(s), there is a very popular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Bob, we are so pleased that you enjoyed our location, staff, design and ambience. We are planning some room upgrades later this year and reviewing tea/coffee facilities to fit in with the design. We look forward to welcoming you back and please advise when you next have a reservation in place so that we may oversee your room allocation on a high floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at the St Martins Lane hotel on New Years eve and was really a great hotel to stay at for the occasion. On arrival hotel reception v.helpful & dealt with me straight away. Very impressed by the reception area as well, very smart and modern.
Booked the Deluxe room which I was a little unsure about due to the lack of pictures/detail on the website, however once I was in the room I was really impressed with how nice, clean and modern the room was. Bed was a really good size & comfy, room also had desk which was handy and a unit in the corner consisiting of the T.V & mini bar which were also good. Bathroom v.impressive with separate cubicle for toliet and shower & a good size - would definitly stay in a deluxe room again.
Only bad point I would say is the pricing of all the extras in the room. £10 for wi-fi & was amazed when I checked out that I was charged £10 for having two small bottles of water from the mini-fridge. Apart from that though really enjoyed my stay.
Also to mention when I originally booked for New Years direct through St Martin's Lane webiste I booked the deluxe room for £500+, however a couple of weeks later the same room for the same date was available on booking.com for just over £300, so I obviously re-booked through booking.com & cancelled the other booking, so worth keeping your eye on the price/other sites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dav1d66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
It’s lovely to know that you chose St Martins Lane to welcome in the New Year and that you enjoyed the celebrations. We hope you have a chance to stay with us again before too long and if you let us know when you are next coming in, we will be delighted to oversee your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

St Martins lane is a great place to stay for any occasion. The design and cleanliness is most certainly 5*

6* s must go to the team that work there. Amazingly attentive and offer the warmest welcome whatever you look like. Now a no1 place of ours to stay in London

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for the five and six star reviews, we are passionate about authentic and original service and it’s wonderful to know that this has made us your #1 choice – please let us know when you are next staying with us so we can ensure another perfect experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at St Martins Lane on 12/31/12. Late getting in, the door man named Martin helped us navigate to a good restaurant in the area that would be open on NYE. Martin continued to make our stay the best possible the next day. He was fantastic! The front desk staff was also great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleandBob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Michele & Bob, it is really kind of you to highlight Martin’s assistance and we’re delighted that he made your stay at St Martins Lane so positive and memorable, particularly on such a special occasion as New Year’s Eve. We look forward to welcoming you back during 2013 and please let us know when your next reservation is confirmed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#90 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#39 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Property: St Martins Lane London Hotel
Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane
St Martins Lane London Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing