We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #78 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed here in October for 3 nights due to some heavy work commitments which involved late nights in the west end. The hotel is in a good location, the wifi works well, and the rooms have a small desk to work from.
The funky look of the reception area is echoed in the guest rooms. I thought the mood lighting was a nice touch. Very Good overall.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexFamily55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We are very proud of our central location and pleased to know that we provided a good base for you, thank you for your kind words. We hope work or leisure brings you back to stay with us again before too long and please let us know at that time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,898 - 1,904 of 2,874 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is creative with design, functional, great location but the best feature are the staff.
Our family celebration weekend was a 21st birthday for our son. We took in a show within walking distance. From the time we arrived he was made to feel special his room had a cake and a bottle of wine arranged by steffi, the food was high quality and cooked to perfection and presented with humour by the cosmopolitan waiting staff. Mood lighting throughout the hotel from our room to the cocktail bar was effective and pleasing to the eye. The only thing it lacked was a chill out area for a coffee. Thanks to the staff of St Matins lane for a fantastic weekend from all of us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muddykav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We are alwayshonoured when guests choose St Martins Lane to celebrate special occasions and we’re delighted that your son had such a memorable 21st. We are passionate about creating a unique guest experience, whether in the Light Bar with our amazing mixology team, or enjoying our delicious menus in Asia De Cuba, or simply relaxing in the room. We can’t wait to welcome you back, special occasion or otherwise, and please let us know when you are next staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere nice to stay in central London - look no further. It's chic and cool but also very comfortable. A 2 minute walk to Leicester sq tube station and in the middle of everything London is about

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dipper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

It’s so nice to know that you particularly enjoyed the chic, convenient and central elements of St Martins Lane and we look forward to welcoming you back, please let us know at that time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very good 5 star hotel, great location, center of London, next to National Gallery and Leicester Square subway station.

Not a biggest room, but with a great view (floor to ceiling windows), very well designed, stylish illuminations, comfy bed, big bathroom, great complimentary cosmetics, cleaned 2 times a day – so it had everything I needed in this kind of a hotel.

Great, well-thought, stylish lobby. Staff could align more with to five star hotel (I was misinformed re: internet and what staff agreed with my boss). But generally service was good. Pity for the internet price - 10 GBPs for a day? Come. On.

Breakfast very good, variety is more than enough, really great. 2 restaurants (one more like a bar).

Pity I was extremely busy on every day of my 3 night stay there, so I couldn’t spend more time in the hotel and it’s bar and restaurant. Next time maybe.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olliemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive words on so many elements of the hotel and service. We hope these elements bring you back to stay with us soon and hopefully you will then have more time to enjoy a creative cocktail in Light Bar and delicious dinner in Asia De Cuba. Please let us know when your next reservation is in place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here for 1 week for business trip. Hotel is perfect, service is excellent. Special thanks to Cassandra for her warm reception in this hotel. Nice and clean rooms. Breakfast was really good in best English traditions. Modern hotel. I'll come back soon!
Dmitriy

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmitriy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Dimitri, we are very pleased to read your lovely comments and we are also happy to know that Cassandra particularly demonstrated our core values to ensure a memorable guest experience. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon and please let us know at that time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here as we had a birthday party to go to in covent garden, and the location was perfect, a short walk away from the club we were going to. The hotel is very modern and minimalistic, with very clever lighting. We chose to stay in a corner suite, which was very nice and again very modern, but a little clinical and despite assurances it was a "big room", I have to say we were a little disappointed with the size of the suite and bathroom. But on the whole a nice experience with comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 185Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for your very kind comments on the hotel and location in particular. We are sorry if we were not aware during your stay of any concern with the room itself as we should have been very pleased to show you some alternatives. Please advise when you have a future reservation in place so that we may oversee your return to St Martins Lane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for the weekend as part of my wife's birthday present, it is fabulous! Very designer, very chic and much trendier than me!! The ambience is lovely and friendly, the staff are very good without being unctuous. The light bar is fantastic, especially for people watching. Our room had fantastic views over London.
The hotel is only just off Trafalgar Square, so very easy access to central London on foot, right in theatreland, with restaurant all around serving early and late. Go...you'll love it!

Room Tip: We were on floor six with a south facing view and could see from westminster cathedral to the eye an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onyerbikeYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

How wonderful to know that you chose St Martins Lane to celebrate the birthday occasion and we’re really delighted that you had a fabulous time.It’s always our intention to create an original, friendly and fun experience for our guests, and thank you for the great comments. Come back soon – and let us know at that time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,077 in London
4,152 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#27 of 1,077 in London
201 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#73 of 1,077 in London
2,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#74 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $279 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane
St Martins Lane London Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing