We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience. Excellent service. Every time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #74 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience. Excellent service. Every time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have been staying at the St. Martin's Lane Hotel for several years. It is consistently a great experience. The location is perfect for work and pleasure, with easy access to business districts, restaurants, and theater. The restaurant Asia de Cuba is in the hotel, and the bar is cool. Rooms are modern and comfortable, services are spot on, but the most amazing aspect is the professional and friendly service, from the doormen to the front desk to the concierge. It is more fun and memorable than a lot of the luxury hotels in London.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rshpma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
It is always particularly uplifting to read such positive comments from our regular guests and we are so pleased that you continue to enjoy the hotel and service. We have a very passionate team who are committed to extending an authentic, friendly and original service and creating a memorable guest experience. We look forward to continuing to welcome you to St Martins Lane and please let us know when you are next staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,657
    671
    182
    76
    33
See reviews for
324
1,169
169
565
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Modern stylish hotel, still has what it takes to be a good central london hotel.

* Great location - in the heart of Covent Garden, close to shops, tourist sites and nightlife
* Whitewashed modern rooms, nice furniture, novelty desk
* Nice bathrooms with Philippe Starck fittings (but no natural light)
* Great 'vibe' - less family, more single or couples

* Can be noisy at night or in the morning (most rooms overlook a busy street)
* Can feel 'too cool' with doormen slow to help
* Expensive bar and restaurant

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor (less noise and better views).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Jessica, we are delighted that you enjoyed so many elements of the hotel, particularly ambience and location. We are sorry for any disturbance and if we are aware of any such concern, we will investigate and review for room move. It is also disappointing if we were not more attentive in some areas and this will be discussed with the individuals. We hope you will be back to stay with us and please let us know at that time so that we can oversee your reservation to include high floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Right in the heart of London with easy access to all the cool places in Soho. The hotel is very modern and has a nice lounge/bar. Can get very busy and impersonal, but very slick and definitely memorable.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ricci1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
It’s great to know that you had a memorable experience, we love to create an engaging and original guest service and we hope you will be back soon to enjoy another slick stay, please let us know when your next reservation is in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was the 4th time I have stayed at this hotel over the past 5 years and for London it is well priced, offers a simple and edgy style and the staff, without exception, are really helpful and very friendly. The location is well suited for the tourist, close to the theatres, Convent Garden, SOHO and Trafalgar Square for example. It is not the type of top end hotel with uber luxury features that I would choose if I wanted a truly self indulgent holiday with top restaurants and spa but I was in London to spend time with my daughter who was about to have surgery, so not much "me time" planned.

A couple of constructive suggestions I would offer to the hotel is that I preferred the minibar contents of goodies from previous stays (not just the nut and crisp options) and I also preferred the organic, British toiletries from previous stays too. However, the room I chose had it's own private outside courtyard with lots of natural light pouring into the room and it was quiet, I slept well and it was perfect for the 3 nights we had in London.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2000Debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments and trust that your daughter has fully recovered from her surgery. We are pleased to note that you particularly enjoyed the friendly and attentive service, it is good to know that everyone you encountered demonstrated our core values so fully. We regularly review our minibar and bathroom amenities and take your feedback on board. We hope you and your daughter will both have an opportunity to stay with us again and please let us know at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were very surprised by our stay here. First, we arrived early, around 11 AM, and they had a room ready for us. They also gave us a welcome card with a small gift, a bright yellow luggage tag. The doorman was great, and Cassandra at the desk was fantastic. The doorman showed us to our room, and the lift was plenty big enough for 3 adults and our luggage. We were shown how to change the color of the lighting in the room (which was so cool) and after we had time to settle in, Cassandra called to make sure it was satisfactory. The bed was comfortable and the room had plenty of space for us and our luggage. There was even a separate Wii room, that had a TV and a Wii, and you could borrow free of charge Wii games (and movies as well). the bathroom was large and had a nice shower and plenty of vanity space. Great location, easy walk to the tube and Covent Garden. Lots of bars and restaurants, as well as theatre's, as it is in the Theatre district. Absolutely recommend this hotel!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Patricia, it is lovely to know that you were surprised and delighted by the hotel and the service, thank you very much for the great comments. We are so pleased that you had a memorable experience and we very much appreciate your recommendation. Now that you have found us, we look forward to welcoming you back again and please let us know when you are next visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is the third time I have stayed here, and this time, I was disappointed. the hotel looks shabby! for a hotel that prides itself on its funkiness....well now it's just shabby once you get above the lobby. walking along the corridors to your room used to be darkened lights which added to the groove, now it seems to highlight the carpet that needs desperately to be replaced and the paint that's shabby.
these guys are resting on their laurels.
the staff used to be super helpful, now they seem too cool to do their jobs.
room service...chips were basically raw.
the cleaning staff were always in the room, but the cleanliness has gone downhill.
the power points are located in bad positions, u have to clim

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Peta, we are so sorry to note that you were disappointed on this occasion, particularly when you have previously written such a positive review. We would never presume to rest on our laurels, attentive service standards and an exemplary look are always a priority. We replaced corridor carpets last year and unfortunately these have not worn as well as we had anticipated so we will be replacing again in early 2013, when we are also planning a number of room refreshments. We very much hope you will consider a fourth stay with us when you are next in London. At that time, please contact jesper.soerensen@mhgc.com to personally oversee your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a lovely hotel with an amazing position, a few minutes from Leicester square and covent gar garden. It is a very modern property, the reception area being very minimilistic, probably a little too minimilistic for my preference. Checking in was a pleasant experience, we did have to wait till 3 as the hotel was busy, but they took our bags no problem.

The room was spacious for central London, the best part was a nice sized bathroom, not having a bath wasn't a problem. The toiletries were great. The room also has sky sports, a bonus for me but not the mrs! the bed was very comfortable and the AC did its job.

We ate at Asia De Cuba and had the taster menu. It was quite expensive at £60 pp plus service but it was amazing, as was the service. Most people sat near us shared a starter and main.

We also had breakfast and that too was outstanding. I the minute steak which was lush.

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C---cumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your great comments on service, location, room and Asia De Cuba. We have just introduced a new entertainment system for the rooms including more choice of channels such as Sky Sports. We will also always look to have rooms available for early arrivals and if this is not possible due to occupancy levels, we will securely store luggage for our guests. We hope you’ll be back to enjoy another stay with us, we also recommend the Light Bar for a delicious cocktail or two. Please let us know when you are back in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#89 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#39 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Property: St Martins Lane London Hotel
Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#69 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane
St Martins Lane London Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing