We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Landmark London
Ranked #52 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for a special occasion and overall, very pleased with this hotel.

We got upgraded and had champagne/flowers in our room, which was just amazing.

The executive room we had was gorgeous - big sofa, lovely big and comfortable bed, massive flat screen TV and the bathroom was huge. Double sinks, a bath, shower and separate loo. Toiletries were lovely.

We didn't really see much of the rest of the hotel, but from what I did see it looked incredibly elegant. I would agree with other reviews; this does feel like an "old money" hotel with a real focus on classy service. The doorman particularly went out of his way to hail us a taxi, which really made us feel spoilt.

The only disappointment was room service. It was very expensive (to be expected, I guess), small portions, and the shepherd's pie was terrible. As in, inedible. I think we were just unlucky with that order, but it was a bit of a shame as it was part of our "treat" to have dinner in our room.

But other than that, we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank GracemcCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,917 - 1,923 of 2,954 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent a weekend here while visiting London. The staff at check in were friendly and efficient and the room was beautifully decorated if a little on the small side. The hotel definitely has a pervasive sense of style and comfort with luxurious fittings and plenty of well trained staff on hand. The bar has a fabulous atmosphere and is great for a cocktail or two.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupkateski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and it was very kind of you to highlight the staff during your stay. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

with kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

One of the best city hotels I have ever stayed at.Very spacious rooms,very professional staff and an amazing breakfast buffet.Location is also very good if you are used using the underground in London.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MT1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to submit your feedback and we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your very kind compliments reagrding breakfast are most welcome. We look forward to welocoming you back in the very near future

with kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Opulent and classy hotel.

My family and I stayed here for a short trip in London. This is an elegant old world hotel with a lot of class. The rooms are very large, and well fitted with all the amenities you need. The service from the staff was impressive, especially the doormen and concierge, nothing we asked for seemed to be a hassle here. One of the best things about the hotel is it's location.. great position for trekking around London and in a very safe and secure area.


THE PROS: Brilliant Location, literally out the door of London Maryleborne station. Big rooms with large marble bathrooms. Clean and Tidy and impeccable service. Water pressure in the bathroom!

THE CONS: Need to pay extra for WiFi and use of the pool facilities, F&B can also be pricey.



You must consider this hotel if you travel to London, it is that good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bulletpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your feedback with us following your recent stay. It was very kind of you to highlight our concierge and doormen teams and very pleased that our location was to your liking. In order to provide our most competitive rates we exclude wifi and spa entrance charges as this leaves our bedroom rates transparent, thereby allowing our guests to select their preferences througout their stay. In addition we provide complimentary wifi in our business centre for all our guests
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and will be only too pleased to make any future arrangements

with kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 3 days in this hotel during a business trip and here is my experience. 
Pro's
1. The hotel has a lot of history and a luxurious interior 
2. The rooms are clean and quite spacy comparing to most London hotels
3. The location is perfect, right accross the road from the Tube. Three stations direct and you are at Oxford Street shopping.
4. The staff seemed quite friendly and helpful. I was even proposed a complementary private tour of the hotel when I arrived. Quite unusual for such a big and busy hotel.

Con's
1. For the first time in my life I saw a line for breakfast. They told everyone 'Sorry, we are busy, so it will be 10-15 minutes waiting'. The area to eat is too small for such a big hotel. Once you are seated, it takes forever to wait for a waiter to order coffee.  And they keep forgetting what you have ordered, bringing you something else instead (pancakes instead of eggs, for instance). 'Would you like some fresh pepper on you eggs?' asked me the waiter. I said 'Yes, please!' ...and she disappeared forever:)  Nice and frindly, but just do not cope with the work load well. Allow for 45-60 min for breakfast as a minimum. But the breakfast itself is pretty nice, can't complain.

2.the internet was not working properly. It was frustrating the connection was on and off all the time for the 3 days of my stay, even in the public areas, e.g. breakfast or lobby.

3. The room service food was not good. I have ordered twice and both times could not finish my meals.

Overall it's a nice hotel, so I would rate it as 'Very Good' here, however not Excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sgurnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

I would like to apologise for the delay you encountered at breakfast; we encountered a much higher uptake from residents for breakfast during your stay and on this occasion we did not have an additional area available that would avoid such queues. Please accept my apologies for this together with your experience of room service; I would be very pleased to hear from you what particularly disappointed you with the room service food, as we would clearly wish to rectify the matter.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel and the friendly , helpful team you encountered during the stay. We will be very pleased to welcome you back in order that we can restore your faith in the Landmark and experience the standards which, quite rightly , you expect.

with kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Landmark is a storied hotel in the heart of London (Marylebone Street) and within walking distance to Paddington which makes it very convenient. Service is excellent with an abundance staff (literally) waiting to attend on guests. That said, here are some negatives:

They don't have key cards: they are actual metallic keys which are electronically coded. In my case (room 566) they didn't work after I went up to the floor and yet again when the front desk associate came up to give it a try. The key finally worked when security came in. Secondly, the fact that they are metallic makes it inconvenient to carry around during the day in meetings.

WiFI is very spotty and does not work in the bathroom. They also charge 14 pounds per 24 hour period - outrageous!

Room service: Ordered in-room breakfast as I was in a hurry to get to the airport on departure day and found food that there was no salt or pepper along with the omelet. Yoghurt was sent up in a pre-packaged bottle with no fresh fruits. The so-called English breakfast was a ridiculous 29 pounds!

All in all a decent luxury hotel but lacking finesse and class.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveleasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and I do apologise regarding the matters you raised which were unsatisfactory. The cruet set should have been provided on our room service trolley, there is no excuse for that lapse, I do apologise for that inconvenience together with the room key not operating.
I am pleased to inform you that we provide complimentary internet service within our business centre for all our guests and believe it more transparent to charge for internet seperatley rather than including it an increased room rate.
Your kind comments regarding the service and the staff are most welcome and thank you for sharing that with us . We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future

with kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel and what a disappointment. The bed was like sleeping on a slab of concrete. The service was awful, I asked for an iron and they bought me a child's version. Can you believe a 5 star hotel does not provide a steam iron or a trouser press in the room! After 4 phone calls and 3 different irons all non steam I demanded a Steam Iron which took 45 mins and a very embarassed porter! We also paid for B&B but on checking out were told that we had to pay extra because my husband had an English Breakfast which was extra, there was no details stating this anywhere but I could not wait to leave so we just paid the extra. Then it took them 30 minutes to find our luggage as they could not find it but kept telling me its on its way. It was thanks to some other VIP guests arriving with bodyguards that they then could not get rid of us quick enough and decided to bring our luggage. We stayed 2 night and paid £700 for B&B, which to be honest was a complete wasste of money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simbisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#14 of 1,077 in London
495 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#53 of 1,077 in London
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#21 of 1,077 in London
1,793 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#70 of 1,077 in London
3,649 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,077 in London
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark London

Address: 222 Marylebone Road, London NW1 6JQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in London
#35 Romantic Hotel in London
#48 Business Hotel in London
#50 Family Hotel in London
#50 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $343 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Landmark London 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landmark London, an oasis of luxury, at the heart of the world’s finest city. A magnificent historic and iconic hotel that blends contemporary flair with classic style. The spacious, elegant rooms and spectacular suites provide sumptuous comfort, peace and privacy along with all the amenities one could wish for. An array of charming spots to dine and unwind include the enchanting Winter Garden Restaurant, in the hotel’s breathtaking central atrium. The twotwentytwo is a favourite for it’s relaxed bar and stylish dining whilst the chic Mirror Bar is famous for fabulous cocktails. The sensuous Spa and well equipped health club are home to a gorgeous 15m pool. A host of beautiful banqueting suites and majestic ballroom have made the hotel a choice venue for impressive events, glamorous gatherings and spectacular weddings. Personable world class service with distinct London charm ensures that every guest experience in this haven of serenity is exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Landmark London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark London Hotel London
The Landmark Hotel London
Landmark Hotel London
Landmark London
The Landmark London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing