We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, historic hotel but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Landmark London
Ranked #53 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at the Landmark when attending a function at Lords - it's very conveniently located for many London attractions and immediately adjacent to Marylebone so really easy to get to.
Service from check in onwards was slick, professional and friendly. We had a very nice room on the second floor looking over the atrium so quiet for a London hotel, which was appreciated.
The room was huge with a big flatscreen TV, king size bed and nice bathroom, all very well appointed but I found the bed incredibly hard and didn't sleep well. The shower was also fiddly to operate.
The furnishings and ambiance of this hotel are lovely, but everything is expensive. Is it really necessary to charge £16 for a (delicious) G&T and £29 for breakfast?

Room Tip: Quiet rooms overlook the atrium rather than the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ironhorse_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Thank you very much for selecting The Landmark for your visit to Lord's. I was sorry to hear that you find our drinks pricey. At the hotel we offer a variety of beverage outlets which offer varying competitive prices and I hope we will be able to offer these to you at a future stay. Our breakfast buffet pricing we have found to be competitive within the Lomdon market and your comments are most grateful , as we aim to ensure we are continually offering a first class product that represents good value today.

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to share your feedback
With kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,094 - 2,100 of 2,983 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2012

Hotel is in a great location and has terrific restaurants including one for high tea.
Staff was lovely.
The Gym however does not open before 6:30am which is ridiculous. For a 5 star, I would expect it to open much earlier. With morning and evening meetings - the gym closes at 10p, it was impossible to get a work out in. This was surprising from a Leading Hotel. I stay in many worldwide and have necver been confined to such hours!
Makes training for a race beyond challenging and these hours should be revisited asap.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

I was sorry to read that you found our access times to the Spa were not as flexible as you would have liked. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back and that we may assist then with easier and more suitable access for you. Thank you for selecting The Landmark and for your kind comments regarding our food and beverage outlets. We do appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to share that with us.
With kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Have just returned from this fantastic hotel. We were invited to a rather large function and managed to grab a room for the night too! The catering for 400 people was amazing, the food was unbelievable! They certainly know how to look after their guests! The room we had was awsome. One of the most comfortable beds that I have ever slept in! Very spacious bathroom with lovely toiletries. We overlooked the very grand atrium. Breakfast was again fantastic, The best eggs benedict I have ever had. I didnt want to leave! Thanks so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to share your feedback. We were delighted that you enjoyed the event attended in our Ballroom. It is very pleasing to read these comments and we are equally delighted that our teams created memorable moments during your stay. I have passed on your kind comments to our kitchen regarding breakfast , together with our events team and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.
With kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Perfect service, location couldn't be better, very helpful staff, easy check in/out, loved every single thing in this building.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catalony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Thank you very much for selecting the Landmark and we were delighted to read your very kind comments. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the very near future.
With kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed here for one night a excellent hotel ,clean ,friendly caring, loved our stay we will be back xx

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanismith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you very much for your very kind comments which we were delighted to read. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and thank you for selecting The Landmark when in London and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

with kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed here last week celebrating friend's 40th birthday.

Couldn't fault room; very spacious and clean. Agree with previous comments re lack of tea/coffee making facilities.

Having severe food allergies, I spoke to hotel before (which is normal practise for me to do so). Unfortunately, my requirements had not been passed on to the appropriate staff even though this was again mentioned to the check-in staff. First day at breakfast, I had to go without. The second day, I had to wait over 60 minutes for some simple food preparation and our third, and final day, I was advised that the staff had also ordered some Gluten free bread in and it would be there by the end of the week! This I found extraordinary in today's world with so many people having dietary requirements.

Food issues were disappointing and, due to this, probably wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineAndShowers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

I am very sorry that you experienced such inconvenience in the restaurant during your stay with us. It is of particular concern that we failed to deliver requested items to you, particularly as you had taken the time, trouble and care to communicate these requests to us. As you quite rightly point out gluten free is an increasing dietary requirement which is becoming more common and to which we offer and provide for, at our afternoon tea for example . There is no excuse that items could not have been provided with greater speed and efficiency as we hold the stock items within the hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for this disappointing service and I would be very pleased if you could contact me personally in order that this lack of service can be experienced as it should be.

with kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at the Landmark on the 2nd night of our London Trip with our young son.

We booked a Marylebone Studio as at the time of booking I was told this was the only room that would accommodate a roll away bed for our son.
I also requested foam pillows and a room on a higher floor.

Unfortunately neither of these requests were met, at check-in they even asked if we need a bed for our son?! They then had to call housekeeping to set up a bed while we were in our room.
The room itself was nice. Clean, in good condition.

The only thing is though, the room was booked for 3 people and we paid for all 3 but there were only 2 robes, two cups for the tea and coffee and nowhere near enough toiletries for 3 people. Its as if they had just forgot about the extra person altogether.

We had a bottle of champagne with us and my husband went to the bar to ask for some glasses as there were none what so ever in the room, despite there being a mini bar?

He was told to go back to the room and call room service... despite being stood at the bar!!
So room service was called and then we were charged.... Oh, now I see why.
We ordered room service for our son, spaghetti bolognaise and for £12 it was poor to say the least. The pasta was dry... not al-dente, but really dry!

It was breakfast the next day which was a real disappointment.
My heart sank when we got to the winter garden as I could see a gathering of at least 15 people all waiting for tables. We approached a waiter and she took our room number and told us we would be called when a table becomes available... hardly 5 star.
We had to wait 45 minutes just be seated at a table! our 5 year old was so hungry and we were waiting nearly an hour... just for breakfast. there seemed to be plenty of staff walking around, with no sense of urgency, there was just simply not enough tables and the hotel wasn't even full!
Eventually when we were shown to a table, it had been re-laid, but there was still items left from the previous diners, a small used jam jar and a side plate full of crumbs.
The buffet breakfast was luke warm, there was no brown or tomato sauce so I asked for some and by the time it arrived my breakfast was cold.
The toast came after we had eaten too.
The tea and coffee were nice though.

But for £29 per adult it's really not at all worth it !!

I did mention this on check-out and the staff seemed apologetic and said that there were lots of new members of staff at the moment... not really a good enough reason in my opinion. As a gesture of good will she said she would remove the charges to our room, the phone, mini bar, room service and bar charges.
We hadnt used the phone, the mini bar or ordered anything from the bar! the only charge was our sons bad meal the night before. So actually we only got the spaghetti bolognaise removed!

It doesnt matter how big the rooms are or how nice the lobby area is, if the service isn't up to scratch that it really ruins your trip.

I came away feeling very let down by the Landmark. I doubt very much I will return and I doubt very much if I will recommend this hotel to friends.

Such a shame as it could of been so good with better service all round.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harmon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

We have clearly let you down and there is no excuse for the shortcomings that you experienced, particularly when you have taken the time and trouble to commincate to us your requirements. Please accept our sincere apologies. I have taken the opportunity to write to you personally directly in order that we can recover this situation for you and hopefully restore your faith in The Landmark.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback

with kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#15 of 1,077 in London
542 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#71 of 1,077 in London
3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#20 of 1,077 in London
1,809 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#12 of 1,077 in London
2,611 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,077 in London
4,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark London

Address: 222 Marylebone Road, London NW1 6JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in London
#35 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Family Hotel in London
#48 Business Hotel in London
#51 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $317 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Landmark London 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landmark London, an oasis of luxury, at the heart of the world’s finest city. A magnificent historic and iconic hotel that blends contemporary flair with classic style. The spacious, elegant rooms and spectacular suites provide sumptuous comfort, peace and privacy along with all the amenities one could wish for. An array of charming spots to dine and unwind include the enchanting Winter Garden Restaurant, in the hotel’s breathtaking central atrium. The twotwentytwo is a favourite for it’s relaxed bar and stylish dining whilst the chic Mirror Bar is famous for fabulous cocktails. The sensuous Spa and well equipped health club are home to a gorgeous 15m pool. A host of beautiful banqueting suites and majestic ballroom have made the hotel a choice venue for impressive events, glamorous gatherings and spectacular weddings. Personable world class service with distinct London charm ensures that every guest experience in this haven of serenity is exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Landmark London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark London Hotel London
The Landmark Hotel London
Landmark Hotel London
Landmark London
The Landmark London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing