We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but perfectly formed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Ranked #378 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for a training course and had a small double. Glad I was on my own as the bed was small and pushed into the corner of the room. Not much room to move around, but had everything you needed including kettle, safe, good TV, air con. No view but made it quieter.
Breakfast was excellent and I had to stop myself eating everything - hot and cold buffet and the croissants were as good as anything you get in France.
Great location between 2 subway stops and on various bus routes as well. I walked to Oxford Street from here, but that was quite far....
Would recommend if work is paying.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldroamer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin K, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for the great feedback and I will be certain to share this with the team. I hope that we can upgrade you to one of our larger rooms when you next stay. We are delighted that you feel comfortable staying here and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Peadar McFadden
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    1,116
    553
    224
    117
See reviews for
538
1,046
132
704
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Location is handy for Holborn tube station, British Museum, London School of Economics, Bloomsbury and Soho. The staff were pleasant and helpful, though they did seem rushed off their feet, so it was quicker to go to the bar and fetch myself drink.

Speaking of bars, there were quite a few people in this one. Why it is so popular completely escapes me. Quite sterile atmosphere and lighting. People behind the bar were not particularly well trained. Not the place for a cocktail.

But the worst I save for the last. We had booked and paid for a double room. But our double bed had one side up against the wall, meaning that you could not walk round to the other side of the bed. So we got in one at a time. It felt a bit like the 7 dwarfs (except there were only two of us). In addition the ventilation was noisy.

Since when did Hilton Hotels double rooms become single rooms?

Next time i stay in Bloomsbury I will get the same size of room for 60 - 90 pounds less at the Arosfa or Mentone.

Room Tip: Avoid room 235. We felt like stowaways or victims of human trafficking: 2 packed into what was in al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barfly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandro G, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton London – West End. While are glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and that the team was friendly, and sorry to hear you did not receive great service at our Bar. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our Food and Beverage manager to ensure all of our guests are served quickly and efficiently. We are also sorry you were not happy with the double room you were allocated. Due to the historic nature of the building, some of our double rooms vary in size and arrangement. If you do wish to stay with us again and are unhappy with your room allocation, please feel free to call the CAREline button in all guest rooms and our reception will do their utmost to find you a more suitable room.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management Team at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here last weekend (Thursday and Friday night) in an executive room on the third floor. Very good sized room and bathroom, very confortable bed (it is HUGE!) and very quite location which allowed me to get lots of work done. Breakfast was in the executive lounge which was more than adequate and there was an option to update for a full breakfast if required. The location is brilliant, only 3/4 minutes walk to Holborn tube station and lots of shops and restuatants in the immediate vicinity. The best thing about this hotel are the staff, all very friendly without being 'false'. I didn't have time to use the gym due to work but hoping to make use when I return at the end of this week.

Room Tip: Executive rooms if you want piece and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandro G, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are very glad to hear that the team provided you with such friendly and genuine service. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team to encourage them to keep up the good work.
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management Team at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Everything here was first rate from the welcome we received from the concierge, Victor, to the rest of the staff starting at the front desk and including the restaurants and the maid. While located on a busy street there was no street noise and the beds were very comfortable. This is an elegant older building and the charm shows. The English breakfast buffet was plentiful and good, all the lovely British touches. The hotel is close to the Holborn tube and many bus routes. There is a pharmacy next door and a Sainsbury's a block away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebec1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandro G, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that Victor and the rest of the team provided you with great service. We will be sure to pass on your kind words. We are also very glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our quiet guest rooms.
We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.


Yours Sincerely,
The Management Team at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for theatres and the British Museum. It is also near to tube stations for traveling and sightseeing around London and the surrounding areas of Russell Square and Bloomsbury are delightful. Breakfast was very good, buffet style with hot and cold options. The rooms are good if a little small. If you can afford it ask for a suite. They are at the back of the hotel, they are on two floors with their own kitchen area and the most comfortable pillow I have ever had in a hotel! They would sleep four comfotably so are ideal for families. They also have their own balcony which is lovely.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can afford it they are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liverbird56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandro G, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton London – West End and that you enjoyed our comfy pillows and the kitchen and balcony offered in our apartment suites.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you at the hotel again next time you are in London.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management Team at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We recently stayed for one night for a theatre break and we're glad we did. We arrived 3.5 hours before check in time to drop off our overnight case and were told that our room was available and we could check in. The room was quite small, usual for cities, but it was very tastefully decorated and clean. A free cookie was given to us and we ate it with coffee in our room, very nice touch. Bathroom was clean and tidy, wardrobe had plenty of coat hangers, room safe, iron and board.
Breakfast was lovely in the freshly refurbished restaurant with the service pleasant and attentive.
Located just a short walk from Holburn tube and was just a 15 min walk to the theatre.
Overall a very good hotel, only downside is the charge for Internet access, for goodness sake move into the 21st century.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ptymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandro G, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and signature DoubleTree chocolate cookie, which we offer to all guests on arrival. We are also glad to see that you enjoyed your room and our buffet breakfast. We recently began providing complimentary Internet access to guests in all public areas, and will be sure to note your request for complimentary wifi in rooms.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you at the hotel again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
The Management Team at DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is the first time booked into a Hilton DoubleTree, having been a hardcore Marriott fan for years. As I approached the Doubletree at westend which is on Southhampton Row, the outstreched arch was far from impresive and put in immediate doubt about my choice of hotel. But as I entered through the revolving doors, I breathed a sign of relief as it did have some of the looks of a Hilton. The rest of the stay was very comforting, especially with a very warm and courteous staff and I have to mention a guy called Rashid, who was extremly courteous, professional but helpful with everything I asked for. As I walked in, on the second night, he came upto me seeing me waiting for the lift and asked if everything was comfortable with my stay and asked me if I would come back again. Made me feel a bit valued as a customer. Since then I have stayed over there over a couple of weeks. The rooms are all of various sizes as it is with all hotels, so at times you get good ones and at other times slightly smaller ones, but nothing to complain about. The nights were quite (I have stayed at some hotels, where the sound from the streets are ovepowering) and I had a comfortable sleep. The TV has a full fleged menu and the in-room service is also quite good. I complain about the breakfast spread is that you have to pay extra if you want cranberry juice (First time I saw a hotel charge for cranberry jiuce at breakfast). One the first day at breakfast, I was a bit unimpressed with the fruits, which looks liked the previous days left overs and tasted sour. The other days some of the fruits were freasher.
All in all a good hotel right in the centre of London.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin K, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you so much for the great feedback regarding your recent stay. We are all extremely pleased that you enjoyed your experience. I will certainly share your comments with Rashid and thank him for looking after you. I have shared your feedback regarding breakfast with the Food and Beverage team so that we can learn from this.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards

Peadar McFadden
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#350 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,774 reviews
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#176 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,875 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#265 Luxury Hotel in London
#319 Family Hotel in London
#323 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London - West End England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing