We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed! Try the Park Plaza Wesminster Bridge instead”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Ranked #387 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Disappointed! Try the Park Plaza Wesminster Bridge instead”
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Hotel was undergoing refurbishment when we stayed, which we knew from the Hilton website/Tripadvisor. The public areas downstairs were all immaculate with modern stylish decor, the only time we had a slight problem was the builders outside our room being a bit noisy but it wasnt unexpected.
I was disappointed with our stay because we prepaid a weekend special on the website, printed our confirmation for a queen room for two and were assigned a twin room at check in (which we didnt find out until we traipsed up to the room with our cases). We then went back to reception to request a queen room and the manager explained that he wouldnt be able to honour our booking as there were no double rooms left AT ALL in the entire hotel, despite the fact that I had booked one 4 weeks previously. Really disappointed as I'd booked the weekend as a treat for me and my boyfriend and the romance factor isn't the same with twin beds! The manager did offer us complimentary drinks at the bar but was nowhere to be seen later on. We then went back up to our twin room passing a tray of leftover food from room service which was still there 3 hours later when we left for the night.
However, there were some good aspects to the hotel, the breakfast selection was good, despite having to queue for around 10 minutes to be seated. The dining staff were good, always busy, there just didnt seem to be enough of them. We also liked the complimentary cookie on check in. The rooms were modern enough with flatscreen TV although the channels were limited. Location is good, 10 minutes from Holborn tube, very near Leicester Square, Covent Garden etc, and the British Museum is less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Beds were also extremely comfortable. Probably wouldnt stay here again, much preferred the Park Plaza when we stayed there last year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachxx1xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanSpengler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Dear Guest, I am very sorry to read we were unable to allocate you with your reserved room type during your recent stay with us and I do understand this obviously was a disappointment and I like to apologise most sincerely for this incident. On the other hand I very much appreciate your other observations in regards to our facilities and some of our core DoubleTree brand standards, including our famous cookie, the breakfast and the comfortable bed. Despite the earlier disappointment I do hope however you will decide to stay with us again when returning to London in the future when you can be assured of our very best attention. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    1,154
    570
    235
    121
See reviews for
567
1,081
134
730
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Stayed here last weekend for 2 nights. Just been renovated. Room adeqaute, not massive, but not in london to sit in room! very comfy bed, nce moderen reception/restaurant. good breakfast and fresh. good location. Easily walk to centre or west end such as piccadilly, leicester square, covent garden), or get a travel card. Holborn underground station only 2-5mins walk away. Would highly recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyrilsneer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed at the Double Tree for an exhibition that we were attending at Earls Court. The rooms are very smart and the beds are extremely comfortable. We had breakfast every morning and the quality and choice of food was fantastic. All the staff extemely friendly and a great hotel to stay in if you want to explore central London.A+++

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdenbridgeGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We have just returned from a weekend in London and stayed at the DoubleTree by Hilton. This is an excellent hotel with friendly helpful staff. The rooms are beautifully presented, the beds the most comfortable we have slept in and the breakfasts were very tasty - served by very pleasant staff. The location of the hotel is excellent - easy access to many major attractions. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolannTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanSpengler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to post your very kind comments. We always aim to provide highest standards in guest care and comfort and I am delighted you experienced both. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Great location for nights out in the West End. Really comfortable bed and good size room.

Food is great and service better.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Target2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanSpengler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Dear Guest,
I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is our aim to please each and every one of our guests and it is great to know we did exactly do this. We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back at some future date! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Myself and my partner wanted to see London for the tourist sights, so we booked this hotel through Superbreaks for end of Feb for 2 nights. When we arrived was pleasently surprised, 5 mintues walk from Holborn Tube Station, nice revolving doors on hotel. We were greeted at the Reception by very friendly staff, and the complimentary cookie was a bonus as we were so hungry after our train journey from York. I was impressed by the Reception area, very nice!
We were staying on the 6th floor, when we got to our room I was a little disappointed by the size of the room, literally a double bed and table could fit in, the bathroom was abit small also, but we couldn't complain, we weren't going to be staying in the hotel room much other than sleeping! Which I must say the beds were amazingly comfortable! :)
The main fault of the room was the shower water pressure, it wasn't that good and it was abit of a squeeze to get in the shower past the glass door also. Loved the fact you could listen to the TV in the bathroom! :)
I honestly can't fault the hotel. Will definitely stay again, but maybe ask for a bigger room next time! x

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanSpengler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I very much appreciate your kind comments about the friendly welcome you received. We hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Stayed one night on a business trip to London. Impressive overhaul of the former Park Inn. Great location - close to the City, close to the West End, 5 minute walk from Holburn tube station, good buses nearby. Down side of the location - it's on a main road so it's impossible for taxis to line up.
Still undergoing renovation and the lobby & rooms are impressive. I had a king size bed, all new furniture, and a generously sized bathroom. Panel tv and plenty of in-room amenities.
Here's the downside: still under re-construction so for example, upon getting off the lift, no signage as to which direction my room might be in.
Bathroom fixtures were over-complicated. I'm a consistent traveler and a loyal Hilton patron - new plumbing shouldn't be this confusing - and it was not labeled at all, so no clue at all which handle did what for the shower/tub combo. Also, this may have been a factor of me being on floor 1, but the pressure in the toilet was so high, upon flushing, it also sprayed up and out a bit.
Overall very good and I'm likely to return. Don't be surprised if it's tripadvisor rating climbs into the lower 100's before long - but they do need to work out a few kinks.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mooshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JvanSpengler, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. I am delighted you like the changes we have made recently and enjoyed your stay with us.
I also like to acknowledge your constructive comments about the new bathroom fixtures and the water pressure behind the toilet flush. In regards to the internal signage I can inform you that we are in the middle of upgrading all the signage throughout the hotel and this will be implemented shortly. Thank you for staying with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#336 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,939 reviews
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#270 Luxury Hotel in London
#319 Family Hotel in London
#323 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London - West End England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing