We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soddisfatti”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican
Ranked #599 of 1,064 Hotels in London
firenze
1 review
“Soddisfatti”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were very good. Clean rooms, excellent and plentiful breakfast. The staff at the reception is very helpful and kind, especially the very nice thank Silvia who welcomed us divinely.
Thank you again.
Stefano, Firenze

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano69Firenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Stefano
Thank you for writing a lovely review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will pass on your comments to Silvia
Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future
occasion

Kind regards

Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    901
    797
    443
    401
See reviews for
335
677
270
1,097
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Staff at this hotel are exceptional friendly and helpful. However, my heart fell when I walked up to this hotel and recognised it from a previous trip. Last time my single room was so small I could barely turn around. This time the room was a better size and clean, but swelteringly hot. There was no aircon and the window was sealed shut. I would guess the temperature was about 30 degrees. I hardly slept at all. In addition, one of the 2 lifts wasn't working. I noticed another review 2 weeks ago when the lift wasn't working. 2 weeks with a lift out of action is completely unacceptable. To get to the stairs and avoid a 5 minute wait for the lift you have to go through a door marked Private! The rooms are very overdue for refurbishment, there is almost no chrome left on the taps and there is a general tired feeling about the rooms. Definitely NOT 4 star. Breakfast was good, and I must repeat that the staff were very helpful and friendly. However. I would certainly not recommend this hotel until the rooms are upgraded.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main block above the reception. DO NOT stay in rooms on the west side in room numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Kevin S
Thank you for your review on the Barbican and your very positve comments in regards
to the team .The Thistle Barbican is a 3 star property .
Our single rooms are compact and are not air conditioned and are sold as such but I am sorry you found them hot.We are currently putting together a programme to continue the redecoration work we did last year on the front building to up date our standard rooms .
In regards to the lifts we have a replacement programme that is on going and we have completed 3 lifts and are now on the final one . as it is a complete replacement this work does take 16 weeks per lift , we do try as much as possible to minimise delays at key times.
Thank you for your feedback
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just back from a weekend break had to write a review about the hotel thistle city barbican it was a very nice hotel every thing you need to make your stay stress free. We found the best underground station exit 7 was old street on the northern line did the barbican station on the metropolitan line we found this a long way round. All the staff were very helpful full of information will use this hotel again thank you for a fab time Sandra and John

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandrasLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sandra

Thank you for your lovely review on the hotel , I was really pleased to read that you and John
had a great time .
Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirandola (MO)
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Been in the City Barbican for 5 days during my London trip, the hotel take place in a very quiet and nice zone despite the distance to the metro line (less than 10mins to the Old Street station, Northern Line). It is not in the very center of the city but you can reach almost every point of interest of the city with a max of 30 min travel (from your bed to the place desired).

The room (a TWIN for me) was not that big but very comfortable, same for the bathroom.
A plus goes to the services (from the daily room cleaning to the breakfast and the personnel) that are absolutely amazing.

Definetely worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denno2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Denno2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your week in the hotel .
Thank you for your lovely comments in regards to the team which I will share with them .
We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion

Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A bit worn in parts but on the whole, very clean and staff were excellent. I can't comment on the breakfast as didn't have there, there are two cafes across the road. Did have evening meal there which was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Joyce 2363
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican .
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us . Thank you for the great comments about the cleanliness of the hotel and the team which I will share with them.
We hope to welcome you back on a future occasion
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

lovely rooms,well equiped spacious and very comfortable beds,made use of the facilities,pool small but warm,spal and gym, food was excellent,breakfast was lovely so much choice.staff very friendly nothing was too much trouble for them.defo go back as was not far from the tube station,ideal location.

Room Tip: higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Smokey 49
Thank you for writing a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return .
Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

After reviews on Tripadvisor, we were worried about whether the hotel would be suitable for our holiday. Our fears were unfounded as the hotel was superb, the staff extremely courteous and friendly, the family room (actually a suite!) exceeded all expectations and the leisure facilities great. The hotel offers wonderful breakfasts and all in all is extremely good value for money. The surrounding area was quiet (which we thought was a plus), but there are restaurants and cafes (eg Pizza Express/ Pret a Manger) within easy walking distance (our 7 year old walked happily). It is a 3 star hotel, so don't go expecting 5 star accommodation, but we were delighted and will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kachinque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Kachinque
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the thistle City Barbican
I was thrilled to read your review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back on a
future occasion .
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#441 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#303 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#686 of 1,064 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Property: Thistle City Barbican
Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #599 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London, England
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing