We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican
Ranked #599 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Peterlee, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One Night Stay”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Lovely hotel, very pleasant helpful staff. Clean room, comfortable bed. 20 in walk to Kings Cross, though would probably have got a taxi had the weather not been as nice. Used an offer for a discounted room price. Would have disappointed had I paid full price. Though highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Claire M
thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay .
Thank you for your positive feedback and i do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    901
    797
    443
    401
See reviews for
335
677
270
1,097
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent, united kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel through Hotels Direct as a Hidden Jem and could not praise this hotel more, the staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful. The rooms were spacious, clean and fresh. Breakfast was very good value, if you could not find something you liked then you must be fussy. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, only a 10 minute walk from Old Street Tube Station. Do not be put off by bad reviews.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sarah S
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us .
Thank you for your feedback and recommendation
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

my friend and I stayed here on 13 april for a theatre break. When we got to our room it was very hot in there even though there was no heating on. Coffee making facilities hadnt been replenished, only 1 tea bag 1 coffee and no milk. The desks front trim was missing, the bath was a little hard to get in/out of and no slip mat. As for the swimming pool, it was disgusting, a lot of rude words had been written in the grime on the tiles at the water level, and the ladies changing room had a very bad drain smell!
On the plus side, the breakfast was wonderful and the lovely man at conceigere was brilliant
There had been a vacum cleaner left in the corridor when we arrived and it was still there when we left on the sunday!.

Room Tip: ours was 2232 could hear everything from next room, but the single beds were comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Gillian F
Thank you for taking the time to write a re view of the Thistle City Barbican .
We appreciate your feedback which we take extremely seriously and will act upon
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Had business here recently in the city so this hotel was a convenient location.

The hotel is ok, nothing amazing but good enough and the rooms are spacious and clean. Staff friendly too..

Old St tube is a 5/10 min walk away and many pubs, restaurants etc so as I said, the location of the hotel is great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuddyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Juddy
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican
I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for your positive feedback and I hope we will have the opportunity of
welcoming you back to the hotel on a future occasion
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boerendorp
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Overall good experience, nice atmosphere, good but quiet location, breakfast very elaborate, allways enough, good food and good drinks at decent prices.
Maybe one minus: public gents room on groundfloor needs to be refurbished and need to be cleaned more frequently.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boerendorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Boerendorp

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your feedback and recommendation
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Well, we were booked in by a travel company for a package weekend. From the details of the hotel supplied it all looked good and IT WAS !
We arrived before check in time but were able to leave our luggage with the Concierge. He smiled and whisked our bags away.
Later we returned to check in and again were made to feel welcome by a young receptionist. She did her marketing routine about an upgrade of our room. We were there for only one night and so declined the offer even though the additional charge was minimal. Nevertheless we received an upgrade- or so she told us. It was the only room that we saw so have to believe. Anyway, the room was excellent, the bed provided a good nights rest and the whole room and bathroom were spotless.
The breakfast at £12 - we did not pay because it was included in our package - was as good as on a P&O cruise ship; 5 star as a minimum. Coffee or tea offered before we had even sat down. The choice was excellent +++ no one could ask for more!
The bar was open late and the prices were reasonable for London!
The only problem as far as we were concerned was not with the hotel in any way shape or form but it was a fair walk from the nearest underground station of "Old Street" - about 10 minutes walk for us oldies. If you are younger or not using the tube then all is great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican
I was very pleased to read thta you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your recommendation and I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Kind regards
Jane snd team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was visiting London with my teenage son to see a football match. £90 got us a standard twin room (without breakfast, which would have been an extra £12 each) which is not bad value by London standards. It's not terribly convenient for connections to other parts of London but as long as you're happy with a ten minute walk to the tube/bus it's fine.

It's a bit dated but on the plus side the beds are very comfortable and the leisure centre has a decent sized pool with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Use of the centre is free for residents.

If you don't want to pay £12 for breakfast the cafe across the road is just fine, provided you're not in a hurry. £6 spent there gets you a full fry and a glass of orange juice.

Room Tip: I made the mistake of not asking for a quite room and we ended up in the (large) annex overlooking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarringtonWealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and was able to use the leisure club.
A good night sleep is important so it is great to read that you felt the beds were comfortable.
Our new breakfast at £12 is great value with a wonderful selection and has received fabulous reviews I would recommend any one to try it
Thank you for your feedback
Kind regards
jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#441 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#303 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#686 of 1,064 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Property: Thistle City Barbican
Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #599 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London, England
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing