We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusually good personal service from a big chain hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch
Ranked #580 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was near the Barbican, where I had an early appointment the next day. So very convenient location. Although it is a big hotel in the Thistle chain, I was very pleased by the personal nature of the service - the kindness and friendliness of ALL the staff, particularly those on Reception. The room was warm, clean and comfortable and there was a small spa. Very good value for money too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona186386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Fiona 186386
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the thistle City Barbican .
I was very pleased to read your very positive comments about the team and the standard of service you received.
i do hope we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on a future occasion.
Thank you for your feedback and recommendation
Kind regards
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,793 - 1,799 of 3,210 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

A very comfortable and welcoming hotel we had a good dinner a good night sleep a great breakfast.
We booked a standard room we had everything we wanted and it was very comfortable good value for money would certainly stay in a Thistle hotel again.

Room Tip: We had room on the fourth floor no noise it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travalled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Travalled
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thsitle City Barbican.
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay . Our standard rooms are very nice and 100 in the front building were re-decorated last year.
Thank you for your feedback and recommendation
Kind regards
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

have stayed here a couple of times, excellent location for west end, and london generally, great
fish restaurant close-by, plus many different food places, good location for st.bartholowmews
hospital, and smithfields, old bailey.
used this hotel as a base for west end, and great bus service and of course the tube.
hotel is very clean, well staffed, excellent experience when i stayed treated like a king.
could not fault this hotel will return

Room Tip: told staff at check-in first time i had used this chain, they upgraded my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Simonarm
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistlle City Barbican
I was very pleased to see you very positive comments on the hotel and service you received .
It was good to see that you are such an advocat of the area and how close it is to the west end
Thank you for your recommendation
Kind regards
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I chose this hotel as it was close to my office. It is a little out dated. Be sure to ask for an interior map to find your room as it is like a maze inside. The rooms are fine (double room) if a little small but the hotel has all you need as a business traveller. It is a short walk from local tube stations and is handy for the Barbican area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Danwallace
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican
I was very pleased to see that you felt we are a suitable business hotel and that the hotel is
very accessible in regards to the Barbican area and the tube.
Thank you for your feedback and recommendation
Kind regards
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hotel is situated in a quite area off main busy route roads, but is still in a handy location; this means you get a good nights sleep with less noise than others I've stayed in the city and only a short 5-10 mins walk to the tube.
Staff were very friendly and helpful - attention to the customer care and service scores high for me, no complaints here; in fact very good. Check-in and reception very prompt and efficient.
Room standard was fairly average and a little dated, but the level of ammenities were good. All the business traveller needs catered for; comfy bed, TV, trouser press, tea & coffee making facilities etc.. Bathroom was let down by a weak shower. Level of cleanliness good.
Restaurant was good; quick service and simple menu, not a great deal of choice though.
I've stayed here on a few occassions now. sutable for overnight business trip, no frills but does what you need it to do..

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PC2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Peter C
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was very pleased to read that you used the hotel on a regular basis and
thank you for your positive comments on the hotel and the service .
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Kind regards
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent two nights over the weekend - the room was a bit small considering it was meant to be a Deluxe twin and the decor is rather dated but all the staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful. The hairdryer in the room was one of those awful, old-fashioned beige ones on the bathroom wall that wouldn't dry a feather but when I complained housekeeping brought me a very efficient one that did the job. The breakfast buffet was excellent - good selection of hot and cold (fruit, cereal, baked morning goods, cold meats and cheese, plus three styles of egg, two types of sausage, bacon, beans, hash-browns) everything was fresh and well presented. Location of the hotel is surprisingly central - not as close to the Barbican as the name suggests but about half way between Old Street and the Angel Islington with good public transport links. There was also an excellent fish restaurant just across the road where we had a superb meal on Saturday evening.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are probably the minimum standard I would enjoy, worth the bit extra. We also rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Jane 551
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the very positive comments about our location , breakfast and team.
I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion .
Thank you for your feedback and recommendation
Kind regards
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I fly to London quite a lot and choose to stay at this hotel whenever I am in town. It started because I have friends in the area so it was convenient, but this Hotel is continually one of the nicest and most affordable places to stay in London. I arrived there for a few nights in December I booked just a single room as I was solo. The room was very clean and neat as expected, but unfortunately the water in the shower was very hot, something was wrong with the thermostat I expect. I called reception to report it, they immediately transferred me to another larger room and called the maintenance man to take a look at the shower in my old room. I was really impressed with the level of customer service and the fast pace of arranging things. The concierge service is excellent, information about the city and taxi bookings were a breeze. This is always the number one choice!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hollance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Hollance
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican
I was very pleased to read that you always enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for your very positive comments in regards to the team and the service you have experienced .
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion .
Kind regards
jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#304 of 1,077 in London
617 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#387 of 1,077 in London
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#699 of 1,077 in London
1,488 reviews
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #580 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $91 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London
Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing