We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not be staying again.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican
Ranked #578 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Will not be staying again.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here for one night on business in December 2012. Checkin was slow (15 minutes). My room was tiny, with two small single beds, and very cold. The insulation against the winter weather is non-existant. The shower was awful.
Then, when closing my room door behind me, the handle came off in my hand. Summed up the hotel for me. Will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmooneynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear P Mooneynet
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was disappointed to read that you would not be staying with us again . I am sorry that you were unhappy with the size of the room booked and that you were cold ,All our rooms are equipped with raidators and our deluxe rooms have the additional feature of air conditioning units which can heat and cool, I am sorry if they were not working to your satisfaction
Thank you for your feedback
Have a Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year .
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    876
    776
    430
    388
See reviews for
318
653
265
1,067
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel was terrible. We were put in a room which can only be described as a cupboard it was so small you had to scuttle around the bed as there was not even 30cm between the bed and the wall. The bathroom was dirty the toilet had not been cleaned from the previous people. Also again because of the size the door stop was located in the middle of the room and was the same colour as the carpet in the morning I stubbbed my toe on it and it was black with bruising, I complained to the receptionist but she didn't seem to care! It is also a terrible location and I wouldn't recommend walking around there late at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieTS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Charlie TS13
Thank you for writing a review of the Thistle City barbican
i was very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay in the hotel . There is no excuse for the room not to have been serviced properly and for this I do apologise.
The location of the hotel is in an area of social and expensive private housing and safe but as any where in London it is always better to be careful and when returning to the hotel late at night , I would suggest a taxi is a good option.
Thank you for your feedback
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

When we read the reviews we were a bit Apprehensive but we were delighted to find a lovely twin room very clean staff very pleasant & helpful breakfast was every you could wish to eat
It took my friend & I about 7 mins to walk to old street underground &we are in our sixties
Mal

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Malb59

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us .
Thank you for your positve feedback and recommendation
Merry Christmas
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Thistle for one night on Sat 15th December after taking our two boys to see the sights... They are 6 and 3, so one of the reasons I booked this hotel is because they have rooms with connecting doors, so we booked a deluxe double and a deluxe twin, and phoned to explain our requirements.. We were fortunate as they upgraded the double to a Junior Suite,which was great.

The staff are fantastic - very helpful and even though this is primarily a business hotel (no childrens menu), the staff in the restaurant made a real effort to accomodate the children and came up with some other options for them which werent even on the menu.

A 12 noon check out makes things really easy because you dont have to rush about to pack and get gone... My only slight niggle about this place was the swimming pool - it's really grubby and in need of a good clean. That said, I would definitely stay again - if you time it right and manage to pick up a deal on late rooms this is a very reasonable hotel with clean rooms, comfy beds and great staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Matt F
Thank you fro taking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican
I was very pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay and my team did their utmost to accommodate your needs .
Thank you for your feedback and recommendation.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occassion
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a family room for three, found it very plain and basic this combined with it's poor location means it has little to offer for a London City break. Staff all very pleasant, polite and helpful. Breakfast good value.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laticstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Laticstraveller
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was sorry to read that you did not feel that the location had much to offer for a weekend break.
We are a 10 minute walk from two major underground stations which will take you any where in the city. At the end of the road the number 55 or 243 bus will take you to Holborn for Covent Garden or Oxfors street . In walking distance is St Pauls and the trndy area of Hoxton where you can visit the shops and bars in Spittlesfield market .
I was pleased to see that you enjoyed the breakfast selection we offered.
Thank you for your feedback
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I booked a standard twin room for my daughter and myself. When I checked in, I was asked whether I wanted to upgrade to a deluxe room for an additional £15. I declined as knew we would only be back to the hotel late at night and to sleep, however did think that this would mean the standard room would be very Basic given the very low price I paid. Wow was I surprised. The room was an excellent size with very comfortable beds. Bathroom was large with a bath and shower. Towels were of a quality you would expect to find in a much more expensive hotel. I ordered a drink from room service which arrived within 5 mins. Staff were courteous, polite and knowledgable. Some of the comments on here suggest the hotel is a bit away from things, but in reality it is only a 5 minute walk from either Old Street or Barbican tube stations, which allows you access to all of London. A real gem for a weekend when the City is quiet and there are bargains to be had.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Rosemary S
Tha nk you for taking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican .
I was very pleased to read that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your very positve comments and recommendation .
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occassion .
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed at the Thistle City Barbican for 4 nights in a single room whilst on business. The room was in an adjacent block opposite the hotel and was a little small (and yes, I hear you say, it was only a single room), but still relatively small and a bit dated. The shower is still operated from the bath taps and the quilt cover was rather grey in colour rather than white. My towels were changed daily (against my will, but ok), but on one occassion were not of the best quality.
On a positive note, the meals served in the restaurant were excellent

Room Tip: Don't get a single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Malc B
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican.
Our single rooms are compact and a little dated which we are curerently looking to change but our linen and toweling should always be of good quality and I am sorry that certain days we failed.
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your dinners in the restaurant and I will pass on your feedback to the chef.
Thank you for your very positve comments
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#455 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#299 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#650 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Shoreditch
Holiday Inn Express London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Property: Thistle City Barbican
Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #578 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London, England
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing