We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pam&val”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch
Ranked #568 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Thistle Barbican whilst i was undergoing treatment at St; Barts Hospital
the staff were all friendly & obliging,nothing was too much trouble.The room that we stayed in was perfect for our needs. Breakfast was excellent [set me up for the day ] I asked for a late check -out as i was flying back to Jersey on the Friday evening from London City ,this was arranged at no extra cost.I needed to rest each day after my treatment and was not disturbed at all. Thank You to all the staff for their help during which was a stressful time for me .The only thing that could improve the rooms would be a small fridge in which to keep drinks & medication.But all in all i would recommend the Hotel and their staff. Pamela Read [Jersey]

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Pam & Val
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican .
We appreciate your very positive comments and recommendation.
I do hope that you are recovering after your treatment at St Barts .
Kind regards
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,929 - 1,935 of 3,278 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have stayed here before and would recommend this to anyone looking for a relatively good hotel in the centre of London. The main issue is that there is not a good connection to the underground or railway network – even the closest bus service is a 5 minute walk away. However, the hotel does have its own taxi tank.

Barbican tube is a 5-10 minute bus ride away. Similarly Angel is about the same.

I have had no issues with the hotel. Bar prices are expensive but no more than other central London hotels. Room is clean and spacious. Prices for the hotel are good if booked in advance and the staff are helpful. Again, I still had issues checking in and out which seems to take forever.

I have no issues with this hotel and would recommend if staying in London although it is not great for public transport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngusAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear AngusAsh
Thank you for writing a review of the Thistle City Barbican .
We appreciate your positve comments and your recommendation .
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occassion
Kind regards
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for work, at arrival the keycard did not work had to go up and down 3 times, needed every time to show id etc....the third card worked... even maintenance could not open the hotel door with the first keycard...
For the rest the hotel is so old that the chrome is completely disappeared from the taps ... due to cleaning. Everything is there but in a deplorable state. There is the horrible shower curtain which sticks to you. No mix tap on the wash basin, and a horrible fixed shower head. Very difficult to adjust the temperature...All in a deplorable state..I had one working socket in my room to charge my electronics, there was a waterkettle which could only be operated when put on the floor next to the socket.
I complained about the very cold room [top floor] , they would deal with it and bring a heater.. It never arrived.
The next day when i complained again they offered an upgrade to the front part of the hotel for my next visit, of course i refused this because there wil not be a next visit. They told me the heating in the whole hotel was not working.
Breakfast was perfect [apart from the coffee..] fresh fruit and a complete english breakfast buffet!!
It is a very noisy hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohanXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was the first time we got to enjoy a double bed at a London hotel. The bed was soft and comfortable, the bathroom was antiquated but adequate. The breakfast was huge and varied. We stayed an entire week. The only negative side was the trip from the hotel to the tube station. It was quite a long trek. I won't stay here again just because of its location, but otherwise a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Champagne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Champagne F
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican.
I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel.
Thank you for your positive feedback and your recommendation .
Kind regards
Jane and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

not at all impressed with this hotel.
The first night of my stay i was not in the main building.When i got in the room the heating was on full blast.i turned the radiator of and opened the windows.The room was not what you would expect at a thistle hotel in need of up dating it was next to the lift and stairs so there was a lot of noise from the door banging and the lift no air conditioning in the room and you have to pay for Wifi apart from you can have 30 minutes free if they remember to give you log on details which they forgot to do with me.
I had a disturbed sleep with the noise and the heat in the room even with the heating turned off.
I went to reception in the morning and told them i was checking out because of the noise and no A C they them offered me a room change into the main building a room with air conditioning which i accepted and left my luggage for them to move.
When i returned in the evening i got my pass for my room and asked if my luggage was there and they told me the conceerge would bring it up i told them i needed it in a hurry as i was going out i had to ring reception after 10 minutes as there was no sign of my luggage after another 5 minutes it turned up.
The room was much better than the first one and bigger very comfertable and up to date decor and carpet.
When i returned after my night out and went to the room the swipe card would not work so i had to trail down to reception to sort it out when i told them that this does'nt happen at the premier inn where i will be staying in future.
The two buildings are like 1st class and 2nd class.
an overall bad experiance.
OH and premier inn have a good night sleep policy where they refund you if you have a disturbed sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weegram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Weegram

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican .
I was very disappointed to read your comments in regards to your stay and I am very sorry to read that you will not be returning to us .Our rooms are a little dated in places and our standard accommodation does not have air conditioning , but you should still be able to have a comfortable nights stay , we should ensure the temperature of the room is ambient before the next guest arrives .I was pleased to read that your second room was more comfortable .
Thank you for your constructive feed back .
Kind regards
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Ok, where to start.

When you walk in it looks nice and clean. However very quickly the issues appear. Reception was manic, people everywhere.

I sat down and ordered a ham sandwich costing me nearly £10. When it arrived the bread was dry like toast and the ham, well one slice of wafer thin ham was all i got. The person i was with ordered a fish finger sandwich. What it should be named was 'honey i shrunk the sandwich' it was tiny. When my sandwich did arrive for a second time i now had a smaller sandwich, with the contents of my old sandwich in it. This bread was also stale! The chips also awful and served in a pretentious mini chip fryer. I wasn't the only table sending food back as well.

Once the chaos of the reception settled i collected my key which didn't work when i got to the room. When i went back to reception i was told sternly that it was active. Whilst i was explaining it may be active but it won't work many more arrived with the same complaint, they were also told that they were active cards!

The rooms are small, hot and horrible. The service was poor and they don't even have a toothbrush if you forget one!

Avoid at all costs for the money you could get something far nicer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pajp1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel the worst hotel i have been so far during my business trip. it is a very old hotel with small and shabby rooms. There is alwys a very long queue in front of the reception. It is not worth the money!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Sandra S
Thank you for completing a review of the Thistle City Barbican and for your comments .
I am really sorry to read that that you were unhappy with the hotel . our room are a little dated in décor , which we are currently addressing and have just completed the redecoration of 100 rooms .At peak check in and check out times our reception desk is very busy , but we always ensure that our reception desk is fully manned and do our upmost to address any queues as quickly as possible .Our pricing is done in line with our 3star competitors and also in line with booking demand ,it is disappointing that you did not feel it was value for money.
Thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
jane and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#308 of 1,077 in London
638 reviews
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#638 of 1,077 in London
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#390 of 1,077 in London
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #568 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $87 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London
Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing