We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of The Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Tower
Ranked #264 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stopped here for a weekend break away in London. The hotel staff were pleasant, professional and check in/out was fast. The first room we checked into had a fault with the fire alarm which was resolved quickly by concierge moving us to a different room.

The hotel's bedroom was clean, with a lovely view of the tower bridge and shard, the bed was comfy and the room was spacious.

The location of the hotel is excellent, as tesco express and Starbucks are just around the corner from the hotel. There are close by restaurants and pubs with a large selection of food and drink.

Overall, a lovely stay at the Tower Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly-marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,528
    2,435
    961
    347
    239
See reviews for
873
2,772
260
1,443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,871)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Really disappointed with this hotel - have stayed in the past but this recent visit was a let down. Booked the 'breakfast in bed and champagne package' for a birthday trip and although the room was fine the service and food was terrible. 11pm room service was nothing like a 4* hotel - the pre-packaged cold food (can't order hot food late in the evening...) was poor quality and expensive. Missing items on the 'menu' even though the evening service had only been running for 30 mins. It arrived in a paper bag and was wrong - I pointed this out to the member of staff who said he'd take it all away again instead of letting us keep the rest of the food. I asked for it to be taken off the bill which he begrudgingly agreed to and didn't do.

The breakfast room service menu in the room guest info book looked lovely but when I asked the evening before about putting our choice out on the standard card, he said the menu had changed and to just call for breakfast instead. The menu for breakfast was a cold continental breakfast which took 40 minutes to arrive, was wrong (four attempts to get through on the phone and two more to correct the order) and they didn't bring the rest of the food when they said they would. Dry bread rolls, no butter or jam - pretty basic things missing. We left feeling really disappointed as I had paid extra for the package so was expecting at least a good cooked breakfast - not the extra tray charge for £5 (which they did remove when I reminded them at check out) for poor quality food which was half forgotten and late. We should have just gone out for breakfast.

Tip - there is a Tesco Express underneath the hotel - just use that and don't waste your time or money eating at the hotel. Feedback survey was received soon after our stay and I asked for a contact to discuss the feedback and so far, over a month later, nothing.

Good location, rooms adequate if rather dated, food not so - hence the 'poor' review rather than 'average' as the price just wasn't worth it. Had to battle to get the tray charge etc taken off the bill which was just embarrassing when I'd booked this for a birthday gift. Service not up to a 4* standard either. 4* pricing and 'extra packages' but in reality, you'd get more from a low-cost hotel.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river is preferable but don't pay extra - St Katherine's Dock views are equa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
I'm sorry to read of your disappointing stay with us, I regret that we have let you down and that your birthday treat was spoilt as a result. I would really like to discuss your stay with you so I hope you will contact me on billy.hughes@guoman.co.uk
Kind regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Had a great weekend 6-8 June 14. Was a birthday treat and was lovely. Did e- mail to ask for a room with a view and did book a few months ago, however got a room looking at a wall so a little disappointed. It didn't take away the location or the service. Will stay again and hope for the view.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post; it’s fantastic to read you enjoyed a lovely birthday treat with us. I’m really sorry that you didn't get the bridge view you were hoping for but I am glad you were still happy with your stay overall. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingswinford, west midlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is in a great location if you want to do sightseeing in London. We stayed in room 645 on the plus side a great view from the window of tower bridge and surrounding area. On the negative side room was quite small and the wardrobe doors did not shut properly. I agree with a lot of the reviews that the interior (the furniture) and exterior of the hotel is quite dated and needs some refurbishment. Saying that the staff at the hotel are great nothing was too much trouble and they were very helpful. Check-in and check-out were done very quickly and the reception staff were excellent. Breakfast at the hotel is £12 each take my advice and go to the Wetherspoons just up the road where you can have a full English breakfast for £4.29 each. The room was clean and you did have everything that you needed including a safe, fridge, hairdryer and there was air con great because the weather was hot. There are 2 bottles of complimentary water left in your room each day and tea and coffee making facilities are provided (look in the drawer as this is not visible). On check-out you could leave your cases in the reception area for as long as you wanted to which is a big plus if you still have some sightseeing to do before you leave London. On the whole this is a great hotel in a great location I would stay here again and would definitely recommend to anyone who was looking for a short stay in London to do sightseeing with the Tower of London a 5 minute walk away and Tower Hill underground approximately a 10 minute walk away.

Room Tip: At check-in ask for a tower bridge/river view on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorraine_123836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
It’s great to read just how friendly and helpful the team were in particular the reception team. I appreciate your comments on the interior of the room; starting next year the hotel will undergo a full refurbishment please keep in touch with us via our website so we can keep you updated on our progress. I hope you will visit us again soon
Kind regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel because we were going to a army get together in the Tower of London and it was the closest hotel ....I have to say superb would go back again no problem everything about the hotel we could not fault it's got to b good I don't write many reviews .... But felt I had to for the standed that this hotel is at ......

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chapp6230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Booked in very late Friday night, we received a room upgrade which was wonderful, thank you so much Constantino on reception, it was much appreciated.

The view of the docks and London was great, peaceful at night as all establishments around seem to close at 11pm. Don't worry for those who want to have a drink after this, the hotel has a lovely bar on the first floor with great views of Tower Bridge, again staff here were attentive and friendly.

The hotel is in a good position, the tube station is a 2 minute walk, around the docks are a number of restaurants both chain and independent. Very easy to reach and London is easily accessible from here.

We will definitely be visiting again in the very near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
It’s great to read how attentive and friendly you found the team and I've shared your kind thanks with Constantino. As well as the bars and restaurants in St Katherine’s Docks we've also just launched ‘The Lawn’ our own summer pop up bar overlooking the River Thames and Tower Bride so you should try it for yourself the next time you are in town!
Kind regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed many times over many years! Great location to see the sights, use the water service to get around during the day always good fun! Excellent breakfast good views from the room! Always seem to have an offer on, if not ask for one!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RPW1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,067 in London
3,997 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#221 of 1,067 in London
3,581 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#409 of 1,067 in London
9,149 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Property: The Tower
Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large contemporary hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London, England
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing