We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“V expensive”
Review of The Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tower
Ranked #259 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great location on dock and near to Tower of London
Exec room was over £200 for one night, I know it's London but, room small and dated
Staff were great
Exec room gave us access to lounge with snacks a drinks plus free parking, although they did try to charge u on checkout

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank davegirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,605 - 4,611 of 7,205 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was really looking forward to staying at this hotel with its posh location, but I was not impressed. When I asked for a room with a nice view I was offered an upgrade to a bridge view room for £15 extra, I accepted and was told that my room was on 1st floor .....okay, went to see but had to press against the window to see a fraction of the bridge but mainly saw a large wall just outside the room - which was the size of a shoe-box and with two very narrow single beds!!! Got transferred to another room at 10th floor with a nice view of St. Katharine's docks - still very small though, one queen size bed pressed against the wall so that one has to climb over the other to get ind and out ....did I mention that mould was growing on the wall and the wallpaper was coming off?? When I mentioned this at check out they were aware and said they were working on a refurbishment - however they still charged £230 per night for the mouldy-shoe-box ........

Room Tip: No idea - check with the people who rated high scores, I didn't speak to anyone who was satisfie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I am sorry to read how disappointed you were with your stay. The room you stayed in is scheduled for repair following a recent leak and should not have been available for sale; this was our error.
Please contact me to discuss this further Billy.hughes@guoman.co.uk
Kind regards
Billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Doubt if you'd find a better location even though we didn't have a view of the bridge we still had a wonderful view of the river. Staff very friendly and standard of cleanliness about right. Queuing to get in the restaurants for breakfast a bit of a pain but using the upper ground floor breakfast area was an alternative. Hotel restaurant prices are considerably higher than other restaurants in the area but the food is up to the standard expected. Will certainly stay again when visiting London but will probably choose to eat out. Air conditioning was extremely effective and not too noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of Tower bridge as you also get a view the Tower of London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel has to be in one of the best areas of London. Plenty of bars and restaurants around the marina and within walking distance but unfortunately the weather was so bad that we found a bar and just stayed put. Hotel is perhaps a little dated compared to some London hotels but the staff and location make up for this 100%. Our room was lovely; fantastic, comfortable king size bed. The bathroom could have done with a refurb (there was only a hand held shower) and we couldn't access the mini bar :-(. Prior to arrival I requested a room with a view of the bridge and that is exactly what we got. Had drinks and cocktails in the bar which were fab and reasonably priced for London. Breakfast was very good but on the day we left the hotel was extremely busy so we were moved to another room (might have been the Exec Lounge). We preferred the main breakfast area but the staff made sure everyone had the breakfast they wanted. The conceierge were absolutely brilliant; supplying us with opening times of places of interest and umbrellas. Would not hesitate to recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pargaluvva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
It’s great to read how well the team looked after you in particular the Concierge team.
Thanks also for recommending us; hopefully the sun will be shining on your next visit.
Kind regards
Billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

In the past twenty odd years we have stayed at this Hotel when visiting London for the weekend. It's our favourite London hotel. It's not just the location which is right next to Tower bridge. The hotel staff are always friendly and the service is top notch. Our hotel room was spotless, the bed was massive and the view from our room was of St Katherines dock with all the boats moored. Hotel drinks are no more expensive than The Living Room bar at St. Katherine's dock which is a great place to visit. You can even get on a boat right outside the Hotel to Greenwich or the other way to the Enbankment etc. Fabulous hotel, highly recommend.

Room Tip: I booked this hotel using Trivago to find a room here,which came up at half the price of a normal bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
It’s always a pleasure to hear from our regular guests and I’m thrilled that the Tower Hotel is your favourite hotel in London. The river taxi is such a fab way to see the City; a great recommendation for other travellers.
I hope you’ll visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Everything worked as you would want it to, excellent service, spotless throughout and great location. Plenty of bars and restaurants in the marina at the back of the hotel and walking up from the Thames to others is easy. View of Tower bridge is amazing as it is right outside the hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a bridge view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doc9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I like the interiors of the room, its quite nice compared to other 4* hotels like Hilton and Holiday Inn. Choose this hotel if you are looking for river cruise and the Tower Bridge is right in from of the hotel. I arrived early at the Hotel from the airport and I was just taking pictures of Tower Bridge till 3PM (Checkin Time). The nearest tube station is Tower Hill and there are very nice restaurants with outdoor seating with spectacular views of the harbor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baruch_Hashem613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#106 of 1,077 in London
3,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
The Westbridge Hotel
#98 of 1,077 in London
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Family Hotel in London
#190 Luxury Hotel in London
#200 Romantic Hotel in London
#291 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $105 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower Hotel is nestled between the River Thames, St Katharine Docks and alongside the World Heritage Site, the Tower of London, boasting unparalleled views of the iconic Tower Bridge. Our location and excellent choice of transport connections put you at the centre of this vibrant city, making it quick, convenient and most importantly, easy to experience the very best of what London has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London, England
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing