We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tower
Ranked #255 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Return visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from my annual visit to the Tower Hotel and London. This is my favourite hotel, not that it gets everything right, but it has the splendid location by Tower Bridge, yacht basin and Waitrose and it is a comfortable hotel to stay in.
This time unfortunately, as my friend 's room next to mine continued to be "not ready" as the evening approached, she accepted a room 6 floors above me, which meant sharing things more difficult. The window needed brute force to be opened but I got someone to open it. The air conditioning was a bit noisy but otherwise the room was acceptable in the muggy weather we had. The lighting was not good enough to read at night, but the beds are always comfortable and who cares about decoration, though the price of the pics in the area downstairs was eye watering and a revelation. We also enjoyed the display of flowers.

Room Tip: get in the week before your visit and mention any particular needs you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MianCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,439
    2,364
    937
    339
    229
See reviews for
841
2,676
253
1,403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,825)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I am a frequent traveller to London and this is my hotel of choice. Rooms could be refurbished in decor and the wi-fi experience could be improved in some areas of the hotel but:
- The quality of the service is excellent
- The restaurant is very good and fairly priced for being central London
- Location, location, location.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supervacuum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent quick check in. Executive room on floor 5 was stunning. Fab view of bridge and decor immaculate and high quality fittings. Evening meal very satisfying with excellent service from a lovely russian waitress. Had breakfast in club lounge which was relaxing and peaceful able to help ourselves without queues. Worth the money booking the theatre package deal, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairi1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
290 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 654 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We ate here recently - it was a girlie weekend and we wanted a nice view and as the weather was sunny we chose this venue. The views are stunning - the hotel is well 70's in need of updating big time. The lunch was ok nothing stunning and we did not eat it all - quite big portions we wished we had just gone for a starter and pudding but you live and learn - 4 lunches e.g burger, pasta and,panninis with wine came to £142 with service charge included £35 per head is quite pricey even for good old London town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueandwhitehoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a one-night stay on a Saturday night, to attend a work function. We chose a standard double room with a Tower Bridge view. The room was rather cramped, but had all the facilities we needed for an overnight stay. We liked the way the windows are styled to give the feel of being on a ship, and the view of the bridge was great. With the window open for some overnight fresh air, there was a bit of traffic noise though, sirens etc.

Breakfast in the morning is served in 2 separate rooms and was very busy on the Sunday we were there, with both rooms pretty full. The buffet breakfast was OK, but nothing spectacular. The service and check-in was efficient. We would consider staying here again, if we ever need to be in this area of London again.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a bridge view, even with the extra traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGirlWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

After a 6 hour train journey the last thing we wanted to hear was that reception couldn't find our booking! appears that surname was transposed with christian name - does that really make a difference? it was correct on my paperwork - then to be told that check in wasn't till after 3pm - yet other customers in the queue appeared to be checking in OK?!?! we only had that day to see the sights so very disappointed to have to sit in reception until we could check in - wasted time or what?!? Room was comfortable and adequate for what we required, somewhere to rest our heads at the end of the day - we had a side room, so the only view was of the exit of St Catherine s dock into the Thames, not very exciting - the exterior of the hotel that we could see looked run down, paint peeling from exterior, definitely in need of a bit of care and repair!
Breakfast was, as in my previous review, the best part of our stay, so at least that has remained good quality (not sure about good value though (£21.50pp)) If we can get a good deal we would return as the location is ideal but there are other hotels in London that offer better for a similar price and an earlier check in

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grammarsow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level Contributor
649 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Even if you don't stay here, you really shouldn't miss the views of Tower Bridge from the Xi Bar on the first floor. My only suggestion would be to watch your bill - they automatically add a "discretionary" 12.5% service charge. No doubt it goes to the hotel and not the staff! If you're hard-faced enough, refuse it and then tip your server personally! Try and go at dusk and watch night fall. Incredible!

The exterior of the hotel is a bit of a concrete monstrosity but the position - right in the corner of St Katherine Dock is outstanding. Inside, the public areas are well cared for but I note that some clients found their room standards not up to par.

I wouldn't pay rack rate to stay here but if you can get a deal with one of the cut-price on-line consolidators you could really strike lucky. Go for a river view if you can.

And a short walk across the bridge brings you to Butler's Wharf with a number of classic restaurants including the Pont de la Tour and the Butler's Wharf Grill. There are pubs and a range of chain restaurants and bars both sides of the river and in the dock itself.

This is definitely the hotel for a proposal, special birthday or even a naughty weekend! Enjoy!

Room Tip: You must try and get a room facing the river but don't be conned into paying an over the top sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Arran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,920 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#214 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,506 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#389 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Property: The Tower
Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large contemporary hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London, England
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing