We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent London Hotel”
Review of The Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Tower
Ranked #264 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Herne Bay
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Excellent London Hotel”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Great modern hotel with lovely helpful reception staff. Wonderful room with fabulous views of Tower Bridge and the river. Great location with bustling St Katharines Dock close by. We went for a great curry in Brick Lane which is just a taxi ride away. Clean room with comfy bed, pillows and nice big fluffy towels. If there was just one thing to mention the hair dryer was not particularly powerful so if you have long hair and can fit it in your case take your own ! Great stay

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lisylouHerneBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,528
    2,435
    961
    347
    239
See reviews for
873
2,772
260
1,443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,871)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Superb location, next to Thames, good views of Tower Bridge. Booked. a deluxe double room, but so disappointed, there was just room for a small double bed with a pathway around, it was like a single room. After showing staff the room we thought we had booked as advertised on their website, we were eventually moved despite informing us that the hotel had full occupancy. However the website showed there were still vacancies. Our 2nd room was very comfortable with lovely views. All staff were extremely polite and very helpful. Good breakfast but felt rushed and had 10min wait for dishes and glasses. Feel that the management need to sort out classification of rooms and be more honest with customers We will not return to the hotel despite loving the location, shame!

Room Tip: We were informed that rooms on Floor 5 were all the same size which were very, very small yet classe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was my second visit with my sister and nephew. The hotel is in a wonderful location overlooking tower bridge. The room I was in was very cold and drafty and I slept with my coat over the bed for further warmth, whilst my sister's room was unbearably warm and stuffy. There is no temperature control in the rooms apart from air con.
I had booked a table in the restaurant via the on-line facility for the hotel as a surprise for my family, but when we arrived there was no record of this booking, even though I had the paperwork with me as proof. This was very embarrassing in front of other guests and diners.
We were offered a table, but we were not happy with the seating as I had originally requested a table by the window 6 weeks in advance. The food was delicious, although service was very slow. (We arrived at 7.00pm and departed at 9.45pm even though we only had 2 courses).
I brought the matter to the attention of the front desk the next morning who were most unhelpful and who didn't seem to have a clue what I was on about.
These visits to London are very special to us and we save up to have this weekend. Very sad that this visit didn't quite match up to the experience we had last time which was 2 years ago. I hope next time will be better...

Room Tip: Cooler rooms the lower you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I booked my sister in this hotel twice already who was visiting me in London with her whole family and we never regret choosing this 5 star Hotel in both ocassion. The location is perfect, at the heart of London, 2 mins walk to Tower bridge, 8 mins to nearest tube, but because it is located along the river thames, you can simply enjoy strolling along the river bank with restaurants along the way in case you get hungry.

Booked a family room and was surprised how roomy and nice the room was presented. I think you get what you pay for if you book with other 2-3 star hotels which maybe cheaper but not as relaxing or comfortable. Hotel staff are also polite and helpful. They can assist you with any tour activities you want in London.

If you have an extra budget for your accomodation, then I highly recommend this hotel. You will never want to stay on a lower star hotel once you have experienced staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to request the river facing rooms for a better window view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I am so pleased to read just how happy you and your family were with choosing the Tower. It’s also great to read how helpful the team were with arranging things to do in London.
We run promotions throughout the year so do keep in touch with us via our website and Facebook page.
Kind regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend. Had a wonderful time, the views from our room of the river and Tower Bridge were amazing. The bed was probably the best hotel bed I have ever slept in, sooo comfy. Breakfasts huge, set us up for the day. Easy access to wherever we wanted to go to, from Tower Hill underground subway station. x

Room Tip: I dont think there are any bad rooms. Choice is overlooking St Katherine's Marina or the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosies21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I am delighted you enjoyed such a wonderful stay at the Tower Hotel. We receive a lot of compliments about our mattresses so I’m glad to read you are also a fan.
It will be great to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Checking in very good, concierge brilliant however our "deluxe" standard room left a lot to be desired! The room was very tired looking, no valance on the bed, massive stain on the bottom of bed & chair. Room very cold due to draught through window. However we were promptly given an extra blanket & plug in heater. If this was "deluxe" standard I would hate to see just the standard! Staff very friendly & attentive sometimes a bit too eager to please as whisking away breakfast items before finished. Breakfast was average. Superb view of Tower Bridge/Shard & great location.

Room Tip: When checking in ask for room that has been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lola584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have stayed here several times now and am always happy with the hotel. The quality of the rooms though are quite mixed. Some of the floors haven't been renovated so the decor is quite tired. Floors 5 and 6 have definitely been upgraded so are worth asking for.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTower, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
It’s great that you have always been happy during your stays with us. We are updating our rooms floor by floor and have recently completed the refurbishment of our first floor bedrooms. I am glad you like the fifth floor rooms as these are our Executive rooms which also come with access to the executive lounge.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,067 in London
3,997 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#221 of 1,067 in London
3,581 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#409 of 1,067 in London
9,149 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Property: The Tower
Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large contemporary hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London, England
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing