We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location!!”
Review of The Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tower
Ranked #275 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just a short tube ride from London Liverpool Street and close to so many nearby tourist attraction. Location could not be any better. We had a lovely river view (not of the Tower), but it was quiet. Our room was spacious, very modern and the bed was huge. White company toiletries provided in the bathroom were brilliant. The kids loved the fact that you could hear the TV through the speakers in the bathroom! Only minor complaint would be for the hotel to invest in a more robust sofa bed for the children - could really feel the springs. However, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Floor 5 - lovely decor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davisk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I am glad to read you were so pleased with our location. I appreciate your feedback about the sofa bed and will certainly address this with our Executive Housekeeper.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Kind regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,813)
There are newer reviews for The Tower
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,646 - 4,652 of 6,813 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

this is our second year staying here excellent hotel great views very helpful staff great location for getting round shops and shows only downside we had a fire alarm in the morning we had one the year before at midnight the staff not very well organised and had not improved much.from the year before luckily both were false alarms .but still a great weekend

Room Tip: better views on the higher floors
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
I am so pleased you had a great weekend and found the team so helpful. I appreciate your feedback following the fire evacuation this weekend, guest safety is of the highest priority to us and I can assure you that our procedure is approved by the London Fire Brigade.
I hope you can visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is our 6th visit to the tower all 70 of us from Heywood in Lancs....we have no complaints it was as usual...spectacular views, the staff are ist grade and the hotel is great....we will be back next years for our weekend break....congrats to all the staff.....best wishes....rita cushenxxxx

Room Tip: having stayed so many times in different rooms the view over st. catherines dock is lovely too.....j...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
It’s such a pleasure to receive feedback from regular visitors and I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us so much. I’ve shared your praise with the whole team and it will be great to welcome you all back again next year.
Kind regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent location outstanding views a lovely setting for a break.The staff are very helpful god location near to the tube station very god value for money would definitely recommend a stay here the beds are really comfortable and the rooms are really quiet plenty of reasonable parking nearby

Room Tip: River view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheekosgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I’m thrilled to read you would recommend us and found the team so helpful. As well as parking nearby the hotel we also have a car park on site at a charge of £20 per 24 hours.
Kind regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

On arrival at hotel, the first question asked by the receptionist was, do you wish to upgrade your room.When I enquired if the room booked in my package was not a good one, she advised higher floor rooms have a better view of Tower Bridge.I advised were visiting for my wife's birthday, so she upgraded us free of charge.I assume this was also done as the hotel was not too busy during our stay.Overall this is a very nice hotel, needing just a few tired areas refurbished.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms to the front of the hotel allow you to open the curtains and Tower Bridge and riv...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derek190563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
It’s great to read you chose to celebrate your wife’s birthday with us and that the reception team member was able to upgrade you to a room with a view of Tower Bridge. We’re continuing with our improvement works this year so I look forward to showing you the changes we have made on your next visit.
Kind regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Right outside the door and steps from the hop on/hop off bus and many easy walks to restaurants, etc. The Tower of London is just across the street as is great shopping and board walk types shoppes and restaurants behind. Great breakfast too. Service was terrific. Thanks!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room facing the bridge it is breathtaking both day and night.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovinLifesJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I am glad you enjoyed exploring all our local area has to offer. Thanks also for your comments on breakfast and service.
I hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we have again been fortunate to stay at this hotel and found it to be just as good. the reception gave us a warm welcome and service was first class throughout our 3 day stay. from checking in to out it was a great stay. the rooms are spacious, clean, warm and have comfy beds. hospitality tray, kettle and hair dryer. bathroom very good with large fluffy towels, changed daily. good quality toiletries and if you require extra milk or anything just ask and it is delivered to your room. room views are either overlooking tower of london, or the bridge or st catherines dock area, all superb. we have stayed previous on 9th floor, 7th floor and this stay was on 1st floor, all good rooms. the breakfast are everything you could possible eat and more with great selection from continental to full english on a help yourself buffet. there are two dinning rooms breakfasts on 1st floor start at 6.30am and on the ground in the brassiere at 7am both superb. the xi bar is very good and afternoon tea in the reception area always popular. friendly service throughout and great location for lost of attractions and walking along the embankment. sunday mornings take a walk to spitalfields market for unusal arts, crafts etc. 5 mins walk from petticoat lane. convent garden always great for street entertainers as well as the cultural and history side all within walking distance. really good base to explore London from

Room Tip: st catherines dock little quieter at night looks lovely trees lite up tower bridge amazing when lig...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artdeco61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review. Your recommendations will undoubtedly be a great help to future guests and I am so glad that we were able to provide such a useful base for your stay.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#169 of 1,072 in London
4,124 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#84 of 1,072 in London
3,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#223 of 1,072 in London
3,688 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,072 in London
3,225 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#203 Luxury Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $141 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large contemporary hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London, England
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing