We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb view - Good Hotel”
Review of The Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tower
Ranked #275 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Recently stayed here on a business trip.The location of the hotel is excellent with an amazing view of Tower Bridge - shame about the view from the bridge back to this hotel. How did they get planning permission for this? Check-in was busy and there was a wait to get keys but staff worked as quickly as possible so it was OK but not ideal.
The rooms are well furnished and comfortable but was a little hot and I did not seem to be able to adjust this, the bathroom was well presented but the shower could be a little more powerful. Also worth noting there are some very good restaurant options directly opposite on the other side of the river.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 876uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I appreciate your feedback on check in and am grateful for your patience whilst the team assisted as quickly as possible. I regret that your room was a little hot and that on this occasion we were not able to rectify this for you.
I hope you’ll consider us again the next time you’re on a business trip.
Kind regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,813)
There are newer reviews for The Tower
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,660 - 4,666 of 6,813 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

My fiancee and I returned to this hotel for a short break and were impressed just as we were before. The view is incredible the hotel is situated next to Tower Bridge and within a stones throw of the Tower of London. The sight is incredible and makes the hotel stay even more impressive. The hotel itself is great, the marble lobby is fantastic and the rooms are of a high quality. I would highly recommend staying in this hotel, its fantastic, easy access via the underground to the sights of London and has one of the best views from a Hotel i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
We are really lucky to have such incredible views from the majority of our rooms and it’s always great to read how much of an impression these have on our guests.
I hope that the next time you’re planning a short break away, you’ll choose the Tower.
Kind regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is in a great spot for getting around London. It is located right by Tower Bridge and The Tower of London. Public transport is available nearby: Tower Hill tube station (a Circle and District Line) and Tower Gateway DLR station are just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Some nice restaurants in St Katharine Docks.

The room was slightly dated but quite comfortable, clean and spacious enough. A view of Tower Bridge was amazing! Free WiFi worked well.

The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalvinHobbes111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
We recently upgraded our Wi-Fi to a business grade service so it’s great to read that it was working well during your stay.
I hope you’ll stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

An excellent base for visiting London. Friendly staff and despite a few minor issues, which have been addressed, I would recommend staying here. Our room had a view of Tower bridge that was amazing. Close to Tower Hill underground for exploring, and some nice cafe's and bars close by in St Catherine's dock.

Staff all very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the river for a great view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoG127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
It’s really important to me that if issues do arise during a guest’s stay that they are resolved so I’m pleased to read that these were addressed during your stay and that you would recommend us.
I hope you can visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

stayed there for a long weekend no major complaints and i would stay there again.

Staff were good, nice and polite.

Facilities were good,didn't eat here so couldn't coment on the food.

Room was nice and clean, it was a little too small and the pillows weren't the best.

the hotel was idealy located for what we was planning, the main thing to me was i would stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_62697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I am glad that overall you were satisfied with your visit and would stay with us again. I appreciate your feedback on the pillows and I hope that when you return you’ll let us know if there’s anything we can do to improve this for you.
Kind regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Recently stayed here as part of a work conference, food was great, view and location are amazing, especially for function dinners and meetings, the view of the tower bridge has the wow factor.
A few delegates including myself accidently left behind personal belongings, and the staff have found and successfully posted back all of our items from lost & found - helpful honest staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toulousey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
Our housekeeping team really are incredibly diligent when it comes to lost property and will be so pleased to hear your kind comments regarding your experience.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Travelled on a two night stay with Wilfreda Beehive coach company.Had a nice room on the second floor overlooking the Thames and tower bridge.The room was spotless and spacious,but we did have a slight problem with the heating which was not working .we contacted the reception and they provided us with a mobile electric heater,which was quite adequate.With our deal we could upgrade to full English breakfast for £5 and it was well worth it, an excellent meal .The hotel is in a great situation for getting into London on foot, just by walking along the Thames embankment you can be in central London among the sights & sounds at a steady pace within 45 to 60 minutes.We did not eat in the hotel other than breakfast,nor did we drink there.Within ten minutes walk there are 3 Wetherspoons pubs, all nice and very friendly and inexpensive.At the rear of the hotel is the old docks,now a marina and full of luxury boats.Also around the marina are restaurants ,wine bars etc, of all types and tastes.Last but not least, the hotel staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. I would recommend this hotel to anyone,and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms are allocated on arrival.when we complained about the heating in the room, they did offer to c...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay so much and will definitely stay with us again.
It’s also great to read that the team were able to assist with a portable heater which resolved the heating issue in your room.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#169 of 1,072 in London
4,124 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#84 of 1,072 in London
3,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#223 of 1,072 in London
3,688 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,072 in London
3,225 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#203 Luxury Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $141 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large contemporary hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London, England
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing