We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated hotel. Not great location. Stay away if you don't get a bargain rate.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tower
Ranked #255 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dated hotel. Not great location. Stay away if you don't get a bargain rate.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Overall hotel feels like 1980. Marble and dark carpets. Very dated from every perspective (rooms and common areas). Room on 4th floor was very noisy. Could hear every door opening and closing near and above my room. Shower felt dirty (who still uses a curtin ??), and water temp kept changing. There is no a/c in room. Bfast was ok. Nothing special at all. With very expected and basic variety. Location is poor. What's so interesting beeing near tower bridge? You see it once and then you are stuck far away from everything. I won't be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of updating our rooms and public areas so I appreciate your comments on this. Whilst our location is a key factor for many of our guests I am sorry it was not convenient for you.
Thanks again for your feedback.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,439
    2,364
    937
    339
    229
See reviews for
841
2,676
253
1,403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,825)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in The Tower hotel and found the staff very efficient and the hotel facilities and amenities were of a high standard. Our room, on the second floor was of very good spec except the bathroom which had mould on the ceiling and all around the bath in the sealant.
After our stay I emailed the manager and sent some photographs of the mould, without hesitation we were invited to stay again for free in one of the upgraded rooms on the higher levels. When we were shown into our room a waiter soon arrived and served us with wine in our room and we were given a note personally written by the manager apologising for our first experience. We had no complaints with the second occasion and it demonstrated that the hotel has excellent management who go out of their way to provide a service to customers and to make the best experience possible for guests. I would certainly stay at the hotel again due to the customer service we were given

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babylon_108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post
I am so pleased to read that despite a disappointing first stay with us, you gave us the opportunity to restore your faith. Your kind comments are testament to the hard work the team delivers every day and I am thrilled that now you would not hesitate to stay with us again. I hope you will visit us soon.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Positives:
Hard to beat the location and view. Property is adjacent to the Tower Bridge and Tower of London is literally next door and can be accessed without walking on the street along the Thames walking path. The location for my business purposes was very convenient, I walked to two different meetings.

Close to Tower Underground station (maybe 250 meters). No issues with taking the Underground to/from the hotel, which means easy access to/from the airports.

There is direct access to the Thames walking trail, it practically runs through the lobby. And the 3 mile run from Tower Bridge to Westminster Bridge is spectacular.

Breakfast was satisfactory. The Brasserie restaurant's seemed a little limited.

Negative:
Property is in definite need of an update. Everything in the room worked, but the room definitely showed a lot of age. Wood furniture is banged up, carpeting needs to be replace, light shade was ripped. Room size was adequate, bathroom a little small.

Workout room is entirely too small, 2 running machines, 1 rower, 1 elliptical... expect lines after work. Or, just go outside for a run along the Thames.

Room Tip: Get a view of the Tower Bride (south facing room) from an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I am glad to read you found our location suited your business needs. I appreciate your comments on the décor in your room; we are in the process of refurbishing our rooms with the majority already completed.
Thanks again for your comments.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Well located hotel 4 minutes from Tower Hill tube Station. Good room, awesome quality of bed. Excellent value for money.
No hot water in one of the mornings. Poor staff when it comes to providing information on facilities and what is available in the area.
In the end a nice hotel, with exceptional view on both the Tower Bridge and Saint Katharina's port.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I am glad you were pleased with the quality of the mattress; this is an area we receive consistently positive feedback on. I am sorry to read however that you did not find the team to be knowledgeable on the local area. Our head concierge are both members of the prestigious Golden Keys Society and the team are always on hand to offer advice and suggestions to guests enquiring about the local area and the City as a whole.
I hope you can visit us again.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Well appointed - because it was built that way thirty five years ago.

It did what it said on the tin. It did it well, and it did it at an affordable price just this once. I looked to come back a week later and it was twice the price for single occupancy! No!

The hotel is in dire need of a makeover as years of scuffing by furniture and guests have left more than their mark.

London seems hell bent on not welcoming hotel guests at an affordable price - so I went home the following week. It was cheaper!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBirdFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
I appreciate your comments and whilst we do run promotions through out the year, these rates are subject to availability. I hope you will keep in touch with us via social media and our website so we can inform you of our special offers in the future.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I suppose you could say that the cost of the room night is factored by the view available. Great!! Apart from that, this hotel has nothing really going for it. Long queue at Check-in, couldn't find my booking, eventually did only to be advised that the double room booked wasn't available and they could give me a single room for the night then move me the next day. That of course never happened as the hotel was fully booked the next night. Breakfast is pricey and you have to queue up to enter Breakfasting room...What is all that about? Staff vary from incompetent to rude..Language barriers I would suspect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Thames. Great view at night. Check-in early as the Hotel has a tenden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post,
It’s clear to read that we let you down during your stay. Whilst the team work very hard to limit queuing times at breakfast, at peak times there can be a slight delay and I apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused you. I regret that we were unable to offer you a double room as booked and that the offer to move to an alternative room the next day was unfulfilled.
Thanks again for your comments.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for weekend break and Hotel was excellent. Location was ideal, near to tube for travel to all key parts of London yet in a stunning position on the side of the Thames. Stunning views of Tower, River and the Shard. Staff very friendly, especially the bar staff. Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Skiathosrunningclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Tower, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post and for recommending us.
It’s great to read your feedback on how much you enjoyed your stay in particular the views and service from the team. I hope you can visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,920 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#214 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,506 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#389 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower

Property: The Tower
Address: St Katharine's Way, London E1W 1LD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#292 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 801
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large contemporary hotel located at St. Katharine's Dock on banks of the Thames, overlooking Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the Shard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower Hotel London
The Tower London, England
Hotel Thistle
London The Tower

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing