We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst beds ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge London Farringdon
Ranked #809 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst beds ever”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in this Travelodge for 2 nights in April. We arrived at 2pm and were told we couldn't check in till 2:30pm unless we paid an additional £10. We asked if we could leave our bags in storage as we wanted to go straight out and check in later. We were told that would also cost an additional £10 and we would have to take them to the Travelodge in King's Cross. We sat and waited for 30 minutes along with several other people until 2:30pm when we were then allowed to queue up and check in. The rooms are dirty and decoration tired and dated. The worst thing by far was the bed. The double bed was 2 single beds pushed together with a 6" gap between the mattresses. The mattresses were the worst I have ever tried to sleep on. The springs were sticking through and noisy if you tried to move. I would have willingly slept on the floor if there had been enough floor space. The room 322 was situated next to the lifts and the cleaners used the space outside the room to park there cleaning trolley. The noise of people talking loudly while waiting for the one lift that actually worked along with the cleaners meant not much sleep was had. I regularly stay in Travelodges around the UK on business, so know what standard to expect. This is without doubt the worst one I have stayed in. We paid £19 per night in a sale, so not sure if we were given a sub standard room, but it wasn't even worth that.

Room Tip: Avoid room 322
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    468
    653
    425
    535
See reviews for
315
853
195
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We were booked into this hotel for 2 nights, one the night before our holiday and the second on our return. The hotel was dirty, infact it was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. After a horrendouse night we went for breakfast to find there was no cups and the staff were very unhelpful. For our second night I cancelled the booking and booked a room in the holiday inn across the road!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in this Travelodge for two nights over Easter. I've stayed in plenty of Travelodges and had some great experiences (Tower Bridge is a good one!) but this was a let down. The building is old and grubby. Our walls were Aertexed, the bathroom was grubby: toilet was dirty, taps filthy, shower curtain needed changing. The Travelodge is on a noisy road and the windows are not great at keeping the traffic noise at bay.

Furniture was clunky and lots of electrical outlets etc had been disconnected but just left in place. We found random hairs down the side of the bed. On our second night we were woken up by a group of rowdy guests at about 5am, coming home from a night out and initially unable to remember their room number. Once they'd found the room they continued partying for some time. Although this can happen in any hotel I think the building construction contributed to the noise travelling to our room. There was a strong smell of weed at times.

Wouldn't stay here again, it's worth paying a little more money to stay at a different and better Travelodge in London.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

It is what you expect of a travelodge. decent bed and bathroom. But dated interior.
Although it has a good location being cloae to kings cross and russell square. also there is a barcleys hire cycle point nearby so you can use that to cycle to some of the site.
I would not pay more than £70 to stay there as it is basic

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_J_london_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Worth the money... Basic but good facilities, clean bed, clean toilet. We were out mostly for sight seeing, so it suited us. Walkable distance to Kings Cross Tube station. Bus stop is right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank psmanii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Relative Value for money. Clean rooms, basic but good facilities. Everything that I expected.

What didn't I expect?
- Friendly staff. Have stayed in the Kings Cross TL recently and there was a noticeable difference here. Great to see.
- Communal areas furnishings are tired;
- The 'restaurant' has a summer camp canteen feel about it.
- Beds were a bit rubbish - soft, broken mattresses that provide no support.
- I appreciate that times are hard for TL, however some investment is required in the profit-making properties to keep them modern.

Not much else to add, apart from: Do not stay at the Kings Cross TL!! Spend the extra £10-20 and the extra 5 minutes walk and stay here at the Farringdon TL. You'll thank me for the full night's sleep that this one offers (see reviews for KK TL).

Final note. I've seen this place advertised upwards of £150-175 when busy. I would be deeply upset if I had to spend more than the £100 I paid for this place (even taking into account London prices).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenriJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Staff lovely and welcoming! Room small but grand size for two people we were out site seeing everyday so it suited us! Was very clean some parts cud b replaced or just updated but it was a great stay! Location was grand was a lil further than estimated but still in walking distance to king cross underground!! Reading other reviews I was dreading my stay but it was nothing like others described it they must like staying in 5 star hotels this was basic n clean what more could you ask for!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACOB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#533 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Farringdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Farringdon

Property: Travelodge London Farringdon
Address: 10-42 King's Cross Road | between King's Cross and Farringdon stations, London WC1X 9QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #809 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Farringdon 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated close to King's Cross Station & a short drive from West End, British Museum & other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge London Farringdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Farringdon Hotel London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge London
Travelodge London Farringdon England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing